We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant near the old churches of Lalibela” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant

Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Lalibela
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Addis Abeba, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant near the old churches of Lalibela”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The outside atmosphere is nice and friendly. Food is good, when you have a rest from your church tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    196
    63
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine view, good and reasonably priced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had two lunches and a breakfast at Seven Olives while in Lalibela. The restaurant has a fine location in a grove on a slope that overlooks the town and is uncommonly tidy well kept. The food (mainly traditional) is above average quality- a marked improvement from last year! (I visited the restaurant also June 2012; at that time I did not find it worth the trouble to review..). Good & friendly service, pleasant atmosphere. A good place to relax from church-sighting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had dinner at the Seven Olives while we stayed in Lalibela. They offer a nice choice of traditional dishes and everything we had was very good and tasty.The atmosphere was very nice and the staff attentive. So overall a good experience and I can recommend to eat there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SenatorMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Very delicious and fair priced food!! The staff is friendly and the outdoor patio seating is most enjoyable. A great place to have a beer, eat lunch, and relax. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, indifferent staff, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My guidebook said the chef there had been trained by an Italian and was a cut above other restaurants in town. The location is gorgeous, with both a terrace and indoor restaurant. The indoor section is a tukul (typical local round building) with a high circular pointed colorful padded ceiling resembling the braided rugs my grandmother used to make from rags. On the walls are attractive frescoes. However, the charms stop there. The white crewel-work tablecloth at my table was filthy with the evidence of many previous meals. The chairs and tables were anti-functional and I kept bruising my shins on a metal bar blocking the space any diner would need under the table.
As for the food, all of my choices were unavailable and I finally settled for pasta that was tasty but was so unattractively presented that, as my brothers used to say as kids, it looked like someone else had eaten it first. Despite the fact that I was the only patron, the staff members all sat in an alcove behind the cash register talking and laughing uproariously and totally ignoring me. To the extent that every time I tried to get their attention they just stared at me as if I were an intruder. To cap it all off, when I wanted to pay, they told me the cashier was off duty (!!!!!!).
I had walked more than 20 minutes to get away from the inedible food at my own hotel and frankly wondered why I had bothered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lalibela, Amhara Region
Lalibela, Amhara Region
 

Been to Seven Olives Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing