We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice, clean Ethiopian hotel”

Ranked #17 of 18 Restaurants in Lalibela
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very nice, clean Ethiopian hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff is very friendly, helpful and fun.The food is average. The problems of Ethiopia, electricity, hot water come and go. This I have found everywhere. The wifi is very good and works in most of the rooms. The views are very nice. A miriad of colorful birds, monkeys, chickens and dogs...reasonably prices and very nice...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinharlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
china
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

the people in the hotel are very nice they make me feel like home..the hotel room very clean and you can have hot water shower.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilycn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A nice but somewhat pricy place to stay in Lalibela”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is part of te Ghion group of hotels that used to be run by the government, but has since been privatized. Unfortunately, privatization has not changed the mentality of the staff and the service is still like a government-run hotel. Apart from this minor issue,with regard to quality of personal service, the rooms were clean and spacious. I was using a suite room and it was quite nice. Bed was comfortable and shower had hot water all the time. There are new hotels coming around that may have better service, but the location and quietness of the Roha hotel is still unbeatable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Farzad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excelent for a wedding party!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really, the hotel has a set of really cool and cozy bar sitting areas, all displayed around the main meal hall. The rooms were spacious, well decorated and very clean. The outside garden with the, at the time empty, pool, was very appealing as well, but we didn't have time to explore. It just felt weird to share such a big hotel with only another couple (low season they said...).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariaCNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in Lalibela”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

The location is fine. The rooms were clean and the shower was warm. We did not eat there as our guide was not welcome to join us and we were told that the food was not so good. The breakfast was bad though. The man at the reception was very friendly. The staff at breakfast not really.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arctickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roha Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lalibela, Amhara Region
 

Been to Roha Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing