We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at an affordable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tukul Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tukul Village
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Tukul village is a piece of Heaven after a long trip. Beautiful and big new rooms, lovely hot showers and very friendly staff. All in a very convenient location. Highly recommended although there is a big mark up on bottled water and it is better to buy it in the shop opposite.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank DamianaIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    179
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
133
54
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
176 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were told this is the best hotel in Lalibela, and I believe it. The rooms were very nice and clean, and also very bright and spacious. And the bed was easily one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in! The view of the surrounding valleys is spectacular.

The food in the restaurant is only ok, but the atmoshphere in the restaurant and the outdoor patio is quite nice. This place is a bit of an oasis from the dusty roads outside.

Wifi is nice, but slow. And despite what they say, the wifi is only strong enough on the outdoors patio.

If you have small kids, be very careful of the room balconies! The railing bars are spaced very far apart, and an adults could easily fit under of through the rails. The railings will do nothing to stop your child from crawling or walking off the edge. This seems standard for Ethiopia, where safety regulations aren't well estabished.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room. The views of the valley are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegTraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legetafo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Tukul is a pretty and comfortable small traditional hotel. A welcome addition. Its serene and clean environment gives the visitor a nice rest after an elaborate historic mountainous area tour.
Lalibella is definitely one of the wonders of the world. The rock Hewn churches and various monasteries are simply awesome may be difficult to travel thru all sights for the physically challenged. I'd do anything to go back for I had not enough time to see it all. English speaking tour guides are essential if one wants to discover more than just pictures.

Room Tip: the rooms upstairs have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are seeking a mid-to-up market stay in Lalibela, the Tukul Village is excellent. Property is walkable to the UNESCO rock-hewn churches. The rooms are gorgeous and very well-appointed. Try to choose upper-level room.

Room Tip: Choose upper-level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeaningfulTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We really liked our 2nd story Tukul room with its stunning balcony view of the mountains and valleys of Lalibela. The room was a comfortably-sized relaxing retreat at the end of a long day of touring the stone churches. It was outfitted with a good-sized bathroom with an excellent shower, and the round shape of the building makes it seem even more spacious.

The hotel staff was helpful in arranging taxis into town, but as others have mentioned, beware the checkout process. Despite the VISA stickers plastered over the front desk, I did not see one guest able to check out using a credit card. We wound up using cash, but next time I would prepay using Expedia or one of its peer sites and avoid what seems to be a carefully rehearsed failure of the credit card machine every time a guest tries to pay their bill.

The food in the restaurant is fair – we only had breakfast (a decent omelette), opting instead for restaurants in town – and it seems to be a gathering place for folks to watch football, as it contains a tv with satellite access. The restaurant also has the strongest wifi connection.

Overall our stay there was quite pleasant, and I would book there again, just making sure to avoid the drama by paying in advance.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room for the premium view of Lalibela
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The design of the rooms, the view, blasting hot showers, staff that go out of their way to accommodate, the food, the breakfast, the location - all excellent. Highly recommend! Messai and his great team can find a way to sort out any issue with no fuss whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Don't let the bare and unfinished entryway fool you. the hotel is quite good, and its unique African decor is a great match to the uniqueness of the town. the restaurant is simple but good, internet speed varies but at least its free. The upper level rooms are much preferable for their view.

Room Tip: upper level wins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danpoenaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
1.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 11 in Lalibela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 9 in Lalibela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
0.0 mi away
Old Abyssinia Lodge
Old Abyssinia Lodge
#6 of 9 in Lalibela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
Red Rock Lalibela Hotel
#4 of 18 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tukul Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tukul Village

Property: Tukul Village
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tukul Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tukul Village Lalibela
Tukul Village Hotel Lalibela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing