We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best!”
Review of Tukul Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tukul Village
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of the best!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Excellent rooms with beautiful wood crafts and furniture. Very tasteful food is served in the restaurant. We stayed there during the Meskal Festival in September. The staff and the manager, Mr. Messay, were very friendly and did there best to help us in everything, including giving us a free ride very early in the morning to the festival area. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: ask for second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitbitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    183
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
73
133
56
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Tukal Village was an oasis of luxury. the room was spacious, well appointed, great shower, huge bathroom, comfortable beds, western standards of cleanliness. the staff was particularly helpful - especially Alex, who is remarkably well informed about every aspect of tourist travel. wifi available only in the common areas. breakfast excellent. one of the nicest places of our stay. highly recommend.

Room Tip: try to get an upper level room in the tukal for a great view. we were in a lower room which was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nini822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I visited Lalibela, Ethiopia in November 2012 and had the priviledge of staying at Tukul Village. It was a beautiful, clean accommodation with three rooms in our unit including a room before we entered the bedroom, a very large, attractively-furnished bedroom with king bed, two comfortable chairs and a small table, and a curved wall of floor to high ceiling glass spanning about 100 degrees overlooking a landscaped terrace and the mountains across the valley. There was a small deck outside but we were not there long enough to enjoy it. The bathroom was very large, of white tile with a glass shower and it had steady, warm water under good pressure which we had not experienced since we got to Ethiopia 12 days earlier. We were happy that this was about our last night of the trip because the bar was definitely set high and other places we stayed would have been very disappointing had we been here first. Ours was a lower level room and I thought we had a good view, but reading the reviews of others who had upper level rooms, we may have had an even better one. Because we were on a group tour, we did not learn what the rates were so can't rate value. We had breakfast there in the morning and it was good. Service was a bit slow because there were so many people eating at the same time, but the food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in November and enjoyed our time here. The rooms were specious and the food good, but a little over-priced. The Internet worked well too. Overall a great place to stay! It is a good base to explore the many sites of Lalibela.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svansoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We picked this hotel only because of it's very unique traditional ethiopian house style. Each building is 2 stores with 2 rooms in each house. Our 2nd floor room with 2 beds was very clean, with a nice bathroom and an amazing view! I would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The room was big and lovely, the bathroom was huge and quite modern, and our room had a balcony with a nice view (this was on the top floor, the bottom floor rooms have no view). The wifi worked well in our room (room 17). The shower was tremendous. The price we got (about 65 or 70$ for a double) was incredible for a hotel of this quality Because of the tripadvisor reviews, we didn't eat here, but went to Lasta hotel (about a 5 minutes walk) for dinner; Lasta had excellent food (Ethiopian + a great Minestrone soup). Three relatively minor negatives about Tukul Village: (1) The top floor rooms (the ones with the view) are all rooms with 2 single beds, while the rooms with the king size beds are all on the bottom floor and have no view.(2) When checking in, the young guy at the front desk was not so great to deal with; he couldn't figure out which kind of room, tour service etc we had booked, and also kept on switching to new hotel guests as they came in without fully dealing with us. Luckily the manager (Messe?) came after about half an hour of this, and he was wonderful; very pleasant and competent, and got everything figured out in 5 minutes. (3) This was the only place in our entire stay in Ethiopia where we had had lousy coffee.

But the rooms were so nice that despite these negatives, I would still strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a nice view, but you can get these only with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at Tukul Village on a recent trip to Lalibela. The hotel offers a shuttle from the airport (for a minimal fee-70birr pp) which makes finding your way hassle free. The staff at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. I traveled to 3 other cities in Ethiopia during my visit and the accommodations in Lalibela were by far the best (especially in terms of value)! The hotel has "real" hot water, great water pressure, spacious, clean rooms that were beautifully designed, and awesome views from the rooms. Unfortunately, the WiFi did not work in my particular room, but it did work in the lobby area. Breakfast is provided in the morning and it was delicious!! I was a lone, female traveler in my 20's and I never once felt unsafe/uncomfortable. I was able to arrange a guide through the hotel with Derebe (+251 911 99 68 11), who I highly recommend. His English is great and he is very knowledgable and friendly. He has been a guide for a few years and his experience shows. He is also a photographer, which makes getting great photos out of your trip easy :) Derebe even showed me a cool place to go for "night life" while I was there - Old Abyssenia, which i also HIGHLY recommend to those interested in learning more about cultural dance. I definitely plan to travel back to Lalibela, and I will definitely be staying at Tukul Village when I do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnybunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lalibela hotels
1.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lalibela
265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lalibela
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lal Hotel Lalibela
Lal Hotel Lalibela
#5 of 9 in Lalibela
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roha Hotel
Roha Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lalibela
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sora Lodge Lalibela
Sora Lodge Lalibela
#1 of 10 in Lalibela
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliff Edge Hotel - Lalibela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tukul Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tukul Village

Property: Tukul Village
Address: Main Road, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 253
Also Known As:
Tukul Village Lalibela
Tukul Village Hotel Lalibela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing