We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bahar Dar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacaranda Hotel Bahir Dar
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Certificate of Excellence
Lux
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice, clean hotel with spacious and comfortable rooms. The location is great, in the nicest main street of Bahir Dar, within a stone's throw from the lake.
Breakfast is good and service friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a balcony and a wonderful view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
27
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of our stay. It was clean and had all the facilities you might expect / need. The internet / wifi connection was super fast and reliable. Breakfast was good and the service friendly.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you don't like stairs choose a low floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
301 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the Jacaranda Hotel for two nights while visiting Lake Tana. It is a new, very modern-looking, western style hotel with the usual amenities, including TV (the only hotel we stayed in in Ethiopia that had a TV). The lobby is bright with a tiled floor (slippery when wet!) and the restaurant is off to the left. Our room was spacious, with a table and chairs and good internet service. The small balcony overlooked a yard where they were cooking--and a rooster was letting us know all about it continuously. Our first night was very noisy with people in the bar.

Sadly, while the rest of the hotel was quite nice, the breakfast was mediocre at best. The toast was dry and no coffee or tea was offered when you entered--you had to go ask for it (and for refills as well). We had dinner one night across the street (down a path--a little hard to find) at the Desst Lodge--appears to be a popular restaurant for watching the sun set on Lake Tana. Very pretty location with lots of tables, both inside and out. Bring bug repellant, however, and a flash light.

Most of the action in Bahir Dar seems to be if you take a right out of the hotel. You will pass several hotels on your left (the Ghion and a resort lodge). There is a local market where you can absorb local culture if you continue walking and bear right at the rotary. The market is about 1/4 mile down on the right.

Lake Tana is quite pleasant and while we enjoyed the 3-hour boat ride to the farthest monastery, we later discovered that closer ones had the same beautiful, vibrant colors inside, so I recommend sticking to the ones on the Zege Peninsula. Seeing the source of the Nile was great fun, as there were hippos there too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We couldn't get in to our first choice and ended up here, it was soooooooo CLEAN, such a nice feeling. Even the trash baskets were washed.Very comfortable stay for 2 nights, although beware of the top levels, no mosquito nets, and lots of little bugs, and they took care of it when I asked. I would highly recommend this place for a mid-level choice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Jacaranda for two nights in mid January while on our way by bus from Gonder to Addis. It was an excellent experience. The hotel is new and well run. The bedrooms are spacious and pleasant. We asked for [and received] a room on the top floor with a view of the lake. The price was reasonable, particularly in relation to the high quality stay. Staff were friendly and helped us arrange transport to Addis.

The hotel e-mail doesn't seem to be working at present. As a previous reviewer has noted, we were only provided with one bath towel between the two of us! The wifi worked well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. It means walking up four flights of stairs [no lift] but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent one night at this hotel and the stay was good and relaxing. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed and the food at the restaurant was nice. The wifi connection was fast. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Jacaranda is a simple, relatively new hotel in the middle of Bahir Dar. It doesn’t sit right on Lake Tana, but many of the rooms have a view of the lake.

The hotel is clean and the beds nice and hard (which I like). The shower is small and the one towel barely adequate, and each room amusingly had a winter scene depicted on the bathroom tiles.

There is no elevator, but you want to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor as they're quieter (I used a room on the first floor briefly that overlooked someone's house and garden).

The restaurant was adequate—fresh made omelets and good coffee (of course!) for breakfast, with a lunch and dinner buffet also available (we only ordered chips/French fries while watching the ill-fated Ethiopia-Nigeria World Cup qualifying game).

Walking through town is also pleasant (or jogging in the morning, as one of our group did every day, heading down a path by the big cathedral to the lake); there are shops just outside the hotel and along the side of the road.

The Jacaranda is nothing fancy, but if you’re just looking for a comfortable, inexpensive night, the hotel will meet your needs.

Room Tip: Get a room on a relatively high floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.9 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bahar Dar
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#12 of 16 in Bahar Dar
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakemark Hotel
Lakemark Hotel
#6 of 16 in Bahar Dar
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Hotel Bahir Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel Bahir Dar

Property: Jacaranda Hotel Bahir Dar
Address: Opposite Bahir Dar Old Stadium, Bahar Dar 1597, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacaranda hotel is a three star property that offers hospitality with a touch of warmth and service of an international standard to meet and exceeds customer`s expectations. The hotel is strategically located within a stone`s through from Lake Tana, the biggest lake in Ethiopia, and with the perfect access to historical and religious sites of Lake Tana, its century old churches and monasteries, Blue Nile fall and is along only 5 kilo meter from Bahir Dar international airport. The hotel is working 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Bahir Dar Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing