We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, gardens down to Lake Tana”
Review of Tana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tana Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you've stayed at the Roha Hotel in Lalibela, the rooms in this hotel will look very familiar - exactly the same layout and style, all rooms seem to have a lake view. There are gardens that go down to the edge of Lake Tana, sunsets are amazing. Good base for trips on the lake and to the Blue Nile Falls. Staff mostly very helpful, and the food was good.

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank womaninseat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Some people in our group had to change rooms due to various problems but they were accomodated. Our room was comfortable and quiet. We didn't try the TV and didn't spend much time in the room. The plumbing wasn't great but better than other hotels in Ethiopia. The grounds are very nice and the restrurant was fine. They advertised internet for one birr per minute, a reasonable rate, but it only worked one time and was pretty slow. Overall we enjoyed the hotel and Debre Zeit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an ex government hotel from the Ghion chain. The rooms are OK and clean, and the hotel has a nice terrace overlooking the lake (especially nice for birdwatchers/ sunset). It is quiet far away from the town, but you can walk in about 30min on a path along the lake to Bahir Dar. The markets are then another 10min walk away. A Baja back to the hotel from the markets should cost you around 20-35 Birr (bargain!). There is a small souvenir desk in the hotel (fairly priced) and they have computers/ internet for 1Birr/ min. No WiFi yet. Some of our group had dinner there, and they praised the food, breakfast buffet is available (great selection) if the hotel is fully booked. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

In the generally dismal standards of Ethiopian hotels, the Tana stands out as rather less dreadful than most. The rooms are the usual shabby and poorly maintained standard, with plugs which don't fit the plug holes, dubious cleanliness, intermittent hot water, and so on. But the location is unbeatable, with a lovely garden right on the lake shore, plenty of tables for guests to find a nice place to sit, and abundant bird life to admire with your beer, served by pleasant and accommodating staff. The food was good at lunch time and re-heated and tired rubbish for dinner. Breakfast was not too bad - it was one of the few hotels in the country which served fresh fruit juices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff at this hotel were generally pleasant and helpful. The rooms were not particularly clean and are in need of some overall improvement. A little paint would go a long way. The bathrooms are also in need of a good cleaning and the toilets need some attention. Could not get TV to work and just gave up on that. The Internet provider, a separate company, had a basic connection but it only worked one of two days while we were there. The restaurant staff were somewhat unpredictable in their approach to us, most caring and friendly but one or two somewhat disdainful (my take).

One positive: Great laundry service at a reasonable price. Get it in by 9:30 and it will be back by mid-afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Simple room, carpet shows stains - old - hasn't seen cleaning for quite some time
Bathroom is more than run down but hot water with good pressure
Bed: mattress too soft to my liking,
No bugs, cockroaches or any of the sort
TV: tiny :), few channels, but BBC, EURONEWS so one can stay informed
Creative curtain
No Internet, no bugs
All in all totally ok for Ethiopia

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Starlet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is on lovely grounds bordering the lake. The bathrooms were in terrible shape - water on the floor, dripping water from the tub tap, running toilet. Lots of mold and rusting. Not clean. Just horrid. Beds were comfortable though!

Room Tip: Saw some friends' rooms because I was going to try to switch rooms, but they were just as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueTrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
1.0 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kuriftu Resort & Spa Bahir Dar
1.5 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Pension
Royal Pension
#9 of 16 in Bahar Dar
2 reviews
2.1 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana Hotel

Address: Kebele 3 | Lake Tana, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jovago.com so you can book your Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana Hotel Bahar Dar
Tana Hotel Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing