We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of room for improvement!”
Review of Tana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tana Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
436 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Lots of room for improvement!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff at this hotel were generally pleasant and helpful. The rooms were not particularly clean and are in need of some overall improvement. A little paint would go a long way. The bathrooms are also in need of a good cleaning and the toilets need some attention. Could not get TV to work and just gave up on that. The Internet provider, a separate company, had a basic connection but it only worked one of two days while we were there. The restaurant staff were somewhat unpredictable in their approach to us, most caring and friendly but one or two somewhat disdainful (my take).

One positive: Great laundry service at a reasonable price. Get it in by 9:30 and it will be back by mid-afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    36
    53
    26
    12
See reviews for
13
39
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Many changes since the arrival of the new director.
The hotel is clean, friendly and the view is always the same ... amazing ...
Breakfast on the terrace is superb.
I went back after 3 years and I am very pleased with these changes.
The best value Bahar Dar ...

Room Tip: The rooms on the lake are great ... what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Simple room, carpet shows stains - old - hasn't seen cleaning for quite some time
Bathroom is more than run down but hot water with good pressure
Bed: mattress too soft to my liking,
No bugs, cockroaches or any of the sort
TV: tiny :), few channels, but BBC, EURONEWS so one can stay informed
Creative curtain
No Internet, no bugs
All in all totally ok for Ethiopia

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Starlet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bahar Dar hotels

New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is on lovely grounds bordering the lake. The bathrooms were in terrible shape - water on the floor, dripping water from the tub tap, running toilet. Lots of mold and rusting. Not clean. Just horrid. Beds were comfortable though!

Room Tip: Saw some friends' rooms because I was going to try to switch rooms, but they were just as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueTrue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Tana hotel is situated next to the lake; a beautiful spot. The room itself was quite clean apart from the carpet which seemed a bit old. The mosquito nets were provisionally repaired. Breakfast was ok. Nice dining room with a great view of the garden and lake. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Powerbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so can’t comment on price/value. The room we had was basic but comfortable. The beds were good. It’s away from town in a quiet location. No hot water in the afternoon but plenty in the evening; but no hot water again the following morning. The room had the wash basin separate from the bathroom, which was nice. No Internet service or air conditioning. Not much storage space. The shower was tricky to get adjusted—had to play with it for a while to get the right temperature. We ate at the restaurant and the food was pretty good. There is a nice terrace out from the restaurant with a lake view. Service in the restaurant was good. Despite its faults, we found this to be a good place to stay and I would have rated it higher except for the hot water situation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Tana hotel is a few steps out of town, and the extra five minutes walk is well worth the peace it engenders. Bahir Dar is bustling, but is full of aggressive hustlers who dog pedestrians at every turn. Although Lake Tana is beautiful, Bahir Dahr was our least favorite stop on a long tour of Ethiopia. However, the Tana Hotel is comfortable,gracious and clean. Rumor has it that the Sheraton Group has just bought the property, with plans for developing it. If this is true, someone has a great eye for location. The staff worked hard to welcome and accommodate all, and we enjoyed an especially nice breakfast each morning on the sunny terrace overlooking the lake. They were able to do all our laundry for us with a day's turnaround, which was a true luxury. We had a lovely stay and would choose it with pleasure again. A special recommendation for Mr. G Sellasie who ably mans the tours desk in the lobby. A licensed tour guide, (and this is SO important!!) he was a star! His information was accurate, he made great efforts on our groups' behalf, and he is especially erudite, practical and well informed. ****STAY AWAY**** from the Dragon Lady at the tour desk of the Ghion Hotel in town. A friend had several interactions with her- each one ended in an altercation. She has a way of tacking on a few hundred extra birr or several more people the moment each expedition is about to set out. Not once did she deliver what had been agreed upon. She very much embodies an ugly local attitude towards the imagined wealth of tourists and tried to skin each one she dealt with. Consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: This is an older Ethiopian Hotel. Don't bring your Red Roof Inn expectations here. The rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EHFWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
1.0 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bahar Dar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.1 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abay Minch Lodge
Abay Minch Lodge
#2 of 10 in Bahar Dar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana Hotel

Property: Tana Hotel
Address: Kebele 3 | Lake Tana, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana Hotel Bahar Dar
Tana Hotel Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing