We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful dining experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bahar Dar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kuriftu Resort and Spa Bahirdar
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful dining experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stopped for lunch here and had a wonderful relaxing meal. The lunch menu was varied, the wine great and the atmosphere cool and comfortable. We did not stay at the hotel but would love to return to do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    120
    41
    10
    13
See reviews for
42
115
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed 2 days with my family, couldn't have been better! the staff is very very nice and would bend backwords to help you. the place is fantastic with gorgeous views of the lake, the rooms spacious and so tastefully decorated. We stayed in the presidential room (present of my cousin lives there and was hosting us), but I read that all the rooms are very big and well furnished. And yes the wi-fi only works in the lobby and yes sometimes you've got to wait a little bit for the hot water, but it's Africa, you don't go there and then get disappointed because it's not the west. It's a beautiful piece of the world, I wish everybody could see it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpetral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
232 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Kuriftu is one of the best in ethiopia.. Actually it is very hard to find a luxurious place in Africa.. But kuriftu is very luxurious in nature.. This is the most important thing.. I did not stay at the hotel, i only went there to have lunch.. The food was delicious and from their open kitchen you can see the very well cleaned kitchen.. Also above the lake, there is cave-like sitting place where you can enjoy the lake view and smoke shisha.. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

After spending 2 weeks in rural Ethiopia, an overnight at Kuriftu was just what the doctor ordered. (Truly - my friend is a doctor, and she insisted we stay here. And I have no regrets!)

The staff was warm and helpful. Meals were delicious. The property is centrally located in Bahir Dar, so it's easy to get around town. Our room was on the second floor, and we had a spacious deck with a lovely sitting area AND a fireplace - all overlooking the pool, and with a view of Lake Tana. Bright beautiful flowers growing all around. The rooms were spacious and uniquely decorated. The half-board price includes a 3 course dinner, breakfast buffet, 45 minute Swedish massage, and 30 minute foot massage.

Great coffee at Wube Coffee across the street. Fun music and cultural dancing (in the evenings - except Mondays), also across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedwagon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
297 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautifully designed and presented. The rooms and lodge buildings all made of stone and covered with creepers. Our room on the second level with large balcony overlooking a big pool and out to lake Tana. The balcony had fire places and an outdoor sleeping area. Inside was generous appointments - all very stylish. Our tariff included one massage per room but it seemed there were not enough masseurs to go around! It also included a fixed menu dinner - the service was excellent but we did not enjoy the slightly western-type food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Kuriftu Resort has a perfect situation on the banks of Lake Tana. It offers boats out to the island monasteries. The surroundings are well kept, and there are many plants and flowering bushes, as well as a nice pool area.
It was hard to fault our room as it seemed at first sight to be nicely furnished. But on closer inspection, there were imperfections: the bed linen had a dank smell, the toilet door could not close at all, tiles in the shower area were broken or missing, the mosquito net was torn in many places. The fact of the matter is that the owners need to be willing to invest in refurbishment and better upkeep.
Food is simple but fairly good. I would not recommend the lamb tibs, as the meat was tough when I had it for dinner.
The staff at the resort , especially in the reception area, are very service- minded and helpful. Those at the spa were an exception. The spa is supposed to be complementary, but when we went for a massage, they only had time for one person, despite the fact that there did not seem to be much going on.
This resort has many possibilities of becoming the perfect setting for a lakeside holiday, if there was better overall management of it.

Room Tip: Rooms near the poolside, and away from the main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viv_leejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Level Contributor
336 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent two nights here. Two relaxing days after the two days at the Simien Mountains. Had a huge and well equipped room, with an outdoor bed and a fireplace in the private veranda and two wide beds inside with mosquito nets and a/c. The bathroom is also big and plenty of hot water. The restaurant is expensive but has very good service and great food. Additionally we both took a massage which completed the days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bahar Dar hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
Blue Nile Resort Hotels
#5 of 16 in Bahar Dar
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
Delano Hotel - Bahir Dar
#2 of 16 in Bahar Dar
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#12 of 16 in Bahar Dar
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rahnile Hotel
Rahnile Hotel
#4 of 16 in Bahar Dar
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
Addis Amba Hotel
Addis Amba Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bahar Dar
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
BenMas Hotel
BenMas Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bahar Dar
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuriftu Resort and Spa Bahirdar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuriftu Resort and Spa Bahirdar

Property: Kuriftu Resort and Spa Bahirdar
Address: lake tana avenue/ Fasilo, Bahar Dar, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Bahar Dar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bahar Dar
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort offers high-end luxury in an Ethiopian paradise setting. Breathtaking landscapes encompass the resort as guests enjoy our outdoor pool and sunbathing terrace that overlooks the natural wonder of Lake Tana. After taking in the natural beauty of the wildlife and countryside, our organic spa and gourmet restaurants are the perfect places to relax as you prepare to continue your getaway experience. With achingly perfect panoramas, Kuriftu is where luxury reaches its pinnacle and service is simultaneously warm, genuine and sensational. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuriftu Hotel Bahar Dar
Kuriftu Resort And Spa Bahirdar Ethiopia/Bahar Dar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing