We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVerage place for food and brew”
Review of John Harvard's Brew House - CLOSED

John Harvard's Brew House
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lake Grove, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“AVerage place for food and brew”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went last week after not having been there in years. No problem getting seated or served. Husband had the beer sampler and a steak, I had a sandwich. His food was pretty good, mine was average, not bad, just average. As some said before, the food menu is not very exciting, rather basic. That doesn't mean it's a bad place, just if you're looking for some culinary feat of imagination, you're not going to get it here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeonlongisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

menu has been scaled back considerably, the food just doesnt seem to be prepared correctly or with care. Service is ok on a good night. Poor service the past few times. The beer is good, however many local breweries have surpassed Harvards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFD3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really good bar food!!!!! It's basically a brewery/restaurant!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Last time I was here, I had the beer flight and had such a good experience. The waitress was awesome and my food was perfect. I only wish this place was closer to my house.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmokyFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Avoid the food & you'll be fine.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

So this is a Brew pub and the beer is outstanding. So many choices and always something different to treat yourself. Go there for a beer and you will NOT be disappointed. The atmosphere is very comfortable as well. Now the bad news. The food, we just had burgers, is awful. Very slow service and just a mess at the front desk when it is busy. I always think it is amazing that a restaurant has such great potential and then can't deliver on food or service. So until they figure out how to cook and run a front desk just go for a couple of beers and stick with the simple bar snacks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellie291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Terrible service. Bad Food. Don't waste your money.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Arrived at 5 p.m.on a Sunday and was given a beeper and told a 10 minute wait. 20 minutes later, we ask about our table, only to be told our beeper had never been activated, and we were seated right away. Not usually a big deal to wait for a table, but we were with my 82 year old father, so it would have been if they could have activated the beeper. No bread. Asked for bread, but no bread. No silverware. My $10 margarita was served in a the world's smallest glass and seemingly without tequila. The medium well burgers were bright pink. The ladies room had no paper towel or toilet paper. Overall.... shame on John Harvard's. Will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvard's Brew House also viewed

Lake Grove, Long Island
 
Lake Grove, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing