We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only Hotel to stay at in Lake George” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Saugerties, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only Hotel to stay at in Lake George”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

The Econo Lodge in downtown Lake George is the best Hotel/Motel I have stayed at. Starting with checking in ending with checking out. I had a totally positive experience. From courtesy, comfort, cleaniness, and a staff that was superb. I have met the owner, also met Ora,Patty, Dorothy,Diana, Ashton, Jeffrey, and the maids and they all go out of their way to make your stay the best possible. I visit Lake George at least once a year and had tried another Hotel/Motel , and believe me no comparsion. The outdoor swimming pool, the indoor pool, the grounds, and the rooms are immaculate. In my honest opinion nothing comes near to the Econo Lodge in Lake George. And btw the rates are fabulous also. P Carey

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    55
    27
    15
    11
See reviews for
95
85
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

I am currently planning on another stay at the Econlodge in Lake George and remembered that I forgot to post a review last August when we stayed here for our first time. We were more than pleased withour stay. Like most Lake George motels, the Econolodge is right on Canada Street (the main street), and the pool is literally a few yards away from the traffic. This is a very busy summer town, so there is lots of traffic and noise. But if you want to stay in the village, where you are walking distrance from the scores of of restaurants and bars, this place is a good choice. We were amazed at how clean the maid kept our room. Everything was scrubbed, including the corners of the bathroom floor. The attitude of the staff was consistently good, and we really felt welcome here. A/C worked well, lots of hot water for the shower, and we had a balcony overlooking the street and the lake. A nice place to sit, have a beer, and watch the (busy) world go by. The free continental breakfast was a nice touch. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Modern and clean
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collie1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel is very clean. The girls at the desk were friendly and helpful. They told us of nice places to eat and where to shop. The rooms were quite small but adequate. The bathrooms were very small. Not much room in the shower. The location was good. The hot tub was not very hot.

  • Liked — Clean, clean, clean!
  • Disliked — Small bathroom.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Located at the north end of the village. Easy walk to everything. Room was small, but clean. Bathroom was very small. Shower was EXTREMELY SMALL. I almost had to shower with my arms overhead. Small indoor pool and jacuzzi. Staff was friendly. No issues. We got what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

Econo Lodge was basic but very clean and good location in village, if you request a 2nd floor room to the front you get a good view down to the lake.

Easy walking distance to lakeside promenade, several bars, restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

Parking was free and there was a complimentary continental breakfast provided.

The room was large and clean and you could access the communal balcony from the room, enjoy your breakfast looking out at the lake.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toomuchtoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#46 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#64 of 87 in Lake George
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#10 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#27 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#23 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing