We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked here because we had seen a high rating for this hotel. We liked it very much. We arrived in town before noon and wanted to drive by to see the place and when we did we decided to stop in. We asked for an upgrade to a jacuzzi room and were pleased that the upgrade was very reasonable. And the room was ready then! The location was great, the room was quiet and very comfortable and clean. We did use the indoor pool which could have been a bit more heated but overall we really liked this place!

Room Tip: We had a room on the back side third floor and my daughter had a room on the front side. Both were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bhonoreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a last minute getaway so we packed the car and headed to Lake George. The first hotel we came to off Exit 22 turned out to be the Econo Lodge. Lake George is still pretty quiet with not a lot to do yet. This was a nice place to stay as we enjoyed the indoor pool and scouted the area to plan another visit. There are plenty of restaurants, shops, and attractions to see. We will be back this summer.

Room Tip: Plan a day or two as there are plenty of attractions in the immediate area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year during the height of Americade. This turned out to be a wise move. The hotel is located the end of the parade route so everything turned in front of us as we sat on the balcony and watched. The hotel is within walking distance to many of the Americade attractions. Yes, we are already planning our stay for Americade 2013. See y'all there...

Room Tip: Plan on staying for the whole parade. Great seats from the balcony outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I had a room with a jacuzzi for 2 people in the bathroom. The jacuzzi and the room were nice, and we could even see the lake from the room since the leaves were off the trees. The breakfast was enough to get us quickly back on the road. We didn't get a chance to use the inside pool. We will come back for our anniversary next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We attended a wedding in Lake George. Early check-in at the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown allowed us plenty of time to get ready. Our room was spotless. The staff was very helpful. We will be back next summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graymond15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a nice little motel that was perfect for our getaway. My BF and I headed north to see the fall colors and ended up at the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown. We took a chance with no reservation, but the big crowds of summer were gone by now. Very accommodating staff, a clean room, and a decent continental breakfast provided all we needed. Unfortunately, while the leaves were bright, the sun was not. We didn't mind the rain as we enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub instead. We will definitely stay at the Econo Lodge Lake George Downtown again.

Room Tip: October is a great time to visit Lake George if you want to avoid the summer crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really found this hotel to be accommodating to guests. It is centrally located to the whole area, and we found it to be quite comfortable. Other friends had stayed there when they were in the area and found it to be a pleasant place to stay. We agree!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.0 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#21 of 89 in Lake George
421 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 439 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#23 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $442 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing