We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing property”
Review of The Tiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tiki Resort
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Relaxing property”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I traveled there for a gathering of friends. We stayed in the newer hotel area which provided us easy access to the restaurant, parking lot, and pool path. Warning they are no elevators, so you will need to navigate the stairs with your luggage. The room was spacious and very clean. The door did stick due to a recent application of varnish. Our room had a two cup coffee pot and a clean and functional refrigerator. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on in recent memory. The view was outstanding as our balcony faced the lake and mountains. I like the convenience and closeness of to restaurants, shops, and entertainment. If you enjoy Tiki imagery, you must wander the grounds and find all the statues and masks.

The Breakfast diner was top notch and provided excellent affordable meals. The Bar was cash only and had a nice selection of drinks for the event. All of the staff was very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. They did an excellent job of keeping the grounds clean as they were a lot of people around attending the event. It appeared they are working on some of the spots that needed paint or fixed up. Internet can be slow at times if a lot of people are on.

Overall we had excellent time and will definitely stay at this resort anytime we are in the Lake George area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RumJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    100
    73
    26
    35
See reviews for
109
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I and my daughter stayed here on June 25-27. We stayed at the hotel section (more modern rooms) and got a great last minute deal on a third party website. The front desk lady Anita was very pleasant and informative, our room was clean, modern and spacious. The shower water pressure is my only complain. The staff was very friendly, since we brought our bikes we had no where to store them, but the friendly maintenance worker allowed us to chain our bikes to the tree by the little maintenance room which was really convenient. The pools both indoor and out were clean and the outdoor pool had over a dozen beach balls floating around which was fun! We had breakfast at the on site restaurant which was pretty decent for the price. however $3 for a coffee is a little too much. We rode our bikes a short distance from our hotel to the beach it was easy to get to. The location was great close to everything. Overall our experience was great! I will defiantly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've stayed here over the years and while they've invested a little in this vintage Tiki themed hotel, it's starting to get a bit threadbare and grim. The rooms are really starting to feel run down, no microwaves, the fridge and towel rack were falling apart, and as we've had the same room a couple years now, the same missing bracket/hook in the bathroom.
They also recently tiled the rooms with tile you really don't want to walk on after a swim or getting out of the shower. I'm sure it's easier to clean, but one false step and you'll break your neck it so slick.
The one thing that we could count on, the desk service, has finally declined as well. After several years of staying here, we probably won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My family and I stayed two nights at the Tiki Resort and LOVED it! The room rate was excellent, room was very clean and modern, and the two pools were wonderful. The staff were all very pleasant to deal with, helpful, and readily available. We will definitely be back, hopefully for a longer stay next time! Special thanks to Steve at the front desk and the bartender who was very personable, and helped me find the ice machine!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side, ground floor, the location was great, only downside was the tile flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked through a third party website and after reading the reviews we were not sure what to expect from this hotel. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised by our room which was clean, roomy and up to date. The outside pool is very nice and the hotel is well located just a few minutes walk from all the restaurants and shops.
We stayed during the Americade so I feel we paid a little too much for our room, but if you can get a room for a reasonable price, I definitely recommend you this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I read the reviews before I stayed, so I didn't expect to much, but was surprised at how clean the property was and our room as well, Sonya the bar maid was great. We sat by the fire pit in the evening and our bar maid served us outside and even brought us complimentary snacks. Overall it was a pretty nice motel.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We came with a large group for the volunteer fire fighters parade in west glen falls. Many people said it was the nicest place they have stayed (usually stay at shabbier motels). We stayed poolside and rooms were pretty standard but nice and clean. Indoor and outdoor pool were both open and clean. We loved the fire pit at night. Short walk to town and beach. Even tho we were too early for the Polynesian dance , we had a GREAT time at karaoke and the staff was amazing. Breakfast is cheap but add on bring your bill up quickly- try the pancakes, super yum. Front desk staff was great- Danica was a great help. I booked to come back in two weeks and I can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moninaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#27 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiki Resort

Property: The Tiki Resort
Address: 2 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845 (Formerly Howard Johnson )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tiki Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiki Hotel Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing