We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the fence!”
Review of The Tiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tiki Resort
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I really wanted to love The Tiki and at first, the cool Hawaiian theme and friendly staff were a great first impression. The room was also okay, though not sure if it was worth what we paid, $109.99 + tax for a queen "suite." The room smelled clean and the bathroom was very nice except for one yellow stained towel and this annoying sound of running water from the upper rooms. Bed was very comfortable and we had two televisions. The bar had cheap drinks which was a plus and sadly we did not catch the Polynesian show. Overall it was a decent place but they can definitely improve!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lita505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 311 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

We enjoyed this resort from the second we walked in to the second we left the place. The location is perfect, awesome view, pool was great, and the staff very friendly. Rooms very clean and excellent A/C. I would recommend this place to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Me and my honeymooning wife checked in late in the afternoon in July. !!!!
Would recommend to anybody looking to spice things up with the king size room!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laviana101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Tiki last weekend. We were very excited to get away and were looking forward to staying at the Tiki. Our first impression from the front desk staff was poor, they made us come back 20 minutes later because the room was not ready. When we came back to the front desk there was a huge line and the unorganized staff was trying to triage the large volume of customers.

After checking into the "Tiki room" we were sorely disappointed! No Tiki theme to the room, small beds, slight smell upon entering the room becuase the AC wasn't on, dirty grout inbetween the tiles in the bathroom and the walls were beat-up, especially they needed work on all the door frames. We were only given 1 towel for the 2 of us in the room- which was certainly not fresh! I called and left a message at the front desk for more towels since they didn't answer the phone. I had to call again the next morning and finally had to go to the front desk myself and get the towels.

The room has good points though- clean shower and vanity, fresh sheets and a clean and newish looking tile floor. The mattresses were pretty old looking and not comfy.

The old wall paper, stains and markings on the walls and the decor we bigger let downs. The TV was not impressive.

We didn't dare try the Polynesian Dinner Show- we just thought it would be another let down after our initial impressions. The location was great so we just walked down to the village for dinner.

The pool was clean and there was plenty of room on the pool deck for a weekend.

The best part was the Tiki Bar- best entertainment by a Hawaiian Duo that we have ever seen. "Jimmy" was a great entertainer and we would go back to the bar to see him! Sonya the bartender was wonderful and we enjoyed her company!

Room Tip: Don't get any room with an orange door! Stay in the other section of the hotel- it looked nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I came with my sister and her 3 kids on a RAINY day in Lake George. The indoor pool is small,
but out of the rain! The outdoor pool was bigger and warmer once the rain stopped. I have to say I sprung for the jacuzzi tub suite - best move ever! 2 beds plus the pull out couch so plenty of room. The jacuzzi was a HUGE hit with the kids.
We also did the luau show. The food was ok, the drinks way overpriced - but you can say that about every place in Lake George. What the other places don't have is an amazing polynesian dinner show that still has me shaking my hips! SO FUN! Would totally do it again!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Llashem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tiki resort for his birthday on 7/23/11. On first pulling in and walking around the property, it didn't look like much and we weren't quite sure what we had in store for us but it got better. We had a ground floor room with a king sized bed and heart shaped jacuzzi tub, which made the weekend!! The bed was extremely comfortable and of course, no complaints about the jacuzzi (bring your own bubble bath!!). The pool area was "okay"... nothing special, but the pool was clean, it was not overly crowded, and we did enjoy laying out on Saturday morning/afternoon. We went to Saratoga "Racino" on Saturday night, which wasn't quite as nice or as fun as we expected, but that was partly our own fault because we got there too late for the horse racing and also, "the good restaurant" was already closed. All in all we had a nice relaxing weekend. Would probably stay somewhere else if we ever go back, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for the annual Tikifest and found this place to be a charming, low-key, comfortable establishment. Our room faced the pool via the parking lot and the beautiful foothills of the Adirondaks. Our room was clean, with a tiled floor, and spacious with a decent sized mini fridge. The shower head was SUPER however our room didn't have a shower curtain or shower curtain rings but the enclosed space with the tub was totally tiled so we just shut the door and....well, used towels - no big deal. The outdoor pool is a good size, but not deep, and cute with a really wide deck. There is more than enough room behind the pool enclosure for families with children who want some open space for frisbee, croquet, lawn darts, or what have you. The "resort" itself is charming, having a tropical vibe, and the staff is great. We found no problems staying here and are returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiki Resort

Address: 2 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845 (Formerly Howard Johnson )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $84 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tiki Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiki Hotel Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing