We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star but it was clean and comfortable!!”
Review of The Tiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tiki Resort
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tiki resort for his birthday on 7/23/11. On first pulling in and walking around the property, it didn't look like much and we weren't quite sure what we had in store for us but it got better. We had a ground floor room with a king sized bed and heart shaped jacuzzi tub, which made the weekend!! The bed was extremely comfortable and of course, no complaints about the jacuzzi (bring your own bubble bath!!). The pool area was "okay"... nothing special, but the pool was clean, it was not overly crowded, and we did enjoy laying out on Saturday morning/afternoon. We went to Saratoga "Racino" on Saturday night, which wasn't quite as nice or as fun as we expected, but that was partly our own fault because we got there too late for the horse racing and also, "the good restaurant" was already closed. All in all we had a nice relaxing weekend. Would probably stay somewhere else if we ever go back, but it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 311 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for the annual Tikifest and found this place to be a charming, low-key, comfortable establishment. Our room faced the pool via the parking lot and the beautiful foothills of the Adirondaks. Our room was clean, with a tiled floor, and spacious with a decent sized mini fridge. The shower head was SUPER however our room didn't have a shower curtain or shower curtain rings but the enclosed space with the tub was totally tiled so we just shut the door and....well, used towels - no big deal. The outdoor pool is a good size, but not deep, and cute with a really wide deck. There is more than enough room behind the pool enclosure for families with children who want some open space for frisbee, croquet, lawn darts, or what have you. The "resort" itself is charming, having a tropical vibe, and the staff is great. We found no problems staying here and are returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Ok , we didn't stay here but we would of if we didn't have a camp an hour away. We were interested to see the renovations to the MID CENTURY MODERN hotel. And they are going quite nicely. The new owners are bringing it back. The more Tikis, ISLAND MUSIC, decor, kitsch , the better. We came for the ALOHA SHOW and dinner at the WAIKIKI SUPPER CLUB . It was remarkable and not dissapointing. Great music, hulas, and fire dances not to be missed. As our host Jimmy says, sit back, hang loose , relax , he made us feel quite welcome. Jimmy has has his whole family with him then they go back to Somoa. They do the traditional dances from the surrounding islands, they embrace their culture and share it will the audience and even ask for participation. The fire dancer is amazing and spectacular. You won't be dissapointed. AAAAAA++++++

The dinner was very good, we had strip steak. Thou I think it would be nice to have a island buffet with island type cuisine before the show. Like a luah. We had drink in the Tiki Bar upstairs, very nice room. Need island music thou. Think Martin , Modesky and Wood, also Tiki mugs. Tiki gift shop ? and waitstaff in island dress. Lai's when you arrive? Just some ideas.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uniqueshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Tiki Resort is a wonderful tropical escape, nestled among the retro fun of Lake George. The staff is wonderful and the rooms are clean, but the best part is the decor and Polynesian show, with talented performers who transport you to another world. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelveteenLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This place is really turning around now that they aren't a Howard Johnson. Our room was very modern and clean. It had all new carpeting, bedding, and furniture. This is impressive given how long the hotel has been around. The price is right AND its location is awesome - walking distance to a diner, bowling, A&W and a short walk to downtown. They also have their own cafe that is very convenient. The Aloha show is awesome and run by a really great family. I am looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hard to believe same hotel as some previous reviews. Check in was polite friendly and efficient the complimentary drink was standard which was a nice touch.
The room was clean and smelled fresh, the floor was very European as tiled but obviously cleaned and disinfected which was nicer than sticky carpets. Fridge, coffee make, nice toiletries rand good sized room. The outdoor pool was very large and well maintained. One thing we noticed, especially after spending the previous 6 weeks traveling was maintenance was excellent, we saw gardeners, painters and the maintenance of all areas. All lincluding cleaners greeted us.. We are definitely seniors, and none too fit and it was a very easy walk to the Lake especially if you turned right a few yards after the hotel entrance on to Beach road. It was less than ten minutes, longer if you walked straight down to the Visitor Center end. We used a coupon booklet and paid $62 inc tax. It was ideal for families, had a lovely atmosphere and easy to sit outside, with pool, playground and picnic areas and BBQ's. No problem with internet in our room at all.

Room Tip: Choose one not next to ice machine and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Having stayed at the Tiki for three years in a row for the annual Ohana - Luau at the Lake event, I'm happy to see the progress on the repairs to the original Tiki theme elements, such as the roof and the restoration of the tiki statues. The new owners could've decided to remove all of this, but are instead committed to restoring the Tiki Resort to it's original kitschy glory!
The rooms are comfortable, although a teeny bit damp in the motel side. This could've been due to the incessant rain during our visit. The rooms in the main building are quite nice too.
All in all, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauntiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tiki Resort

Address: 2 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845 (Formerly Howard Johnson )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $85 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tiki Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiki Hotel Lake George
Howard Johnson Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing