We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake George NY Travelodge
Ranked #73 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Obviously the motel is dated. Lots of cracks in the roadway. General neglect is evident. The pool is out of commission and judging from the work debris around it and no work being done while I was there is it highly probable that the pool will be out all year. This defect is not mentioned in the motel's official webpage at TravelLodge. Yes, the motel can use serious updating. But the room was clean, pleasant smelling, and the bed comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the cleaning people. When you first arrive you'll not notice any signs helping you to find where the office is located. And the structure where the front desk is located doesn't have a sign - you'd have to guess that must be the place to go to sign-in. It is an example that while the motel has what you'd might expect, not all things are made plain to you.

The motel is at the I-87 exit 21 next to the Best Western. It is basically at the summit of the hill where the Best Western is also on but higher. The entrances to the motel is on route 9 so turn right at the traffic light and take the first entrance on the right. A secret is that their is a connecting road between TravelLodge and Best Western. So you can actually enter at Best Western, travel to the back of Best Western, see the connecting road, go up that, and be in TravelLodge property.

You don't or bearly hear the Interstate as TravelLodge is a little further away from it than Best Western is. And since you are at the summit of the hill TravelLodge is on you do have great views. And it generally quiet. The distance up the hill from route 9 seems to be a natural traffic noise dampener. What you'll hear is the sounds of nature or your neighbors.

Rooms were generally quiet. One night I did hear a TV from a room but you could easily drown it out by your own TV. My guess is that room must have had that TV especially loud for that to happen. That was the only noise incident. By the way, the TVs are the old tube types. Like I said, the motel is in serious need of updating and renovation.

But in its current state I wouldn't disqualify it unless having a pool to use during your stay is a priority.

Room Tip: In addition to the main structure there are two other separated structures with two floors each. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 362 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank cdyak49157
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place needs to be reviewed by the town building code enforcement. The mold and mildew, bugs, dirty brown water in toilets etc. Quite frankly it appears as if this place was closed up for several years and they opened up this year. I would guess there are many more building code violations as well.
FALSE advertisement for sure. There is no restaurant on site, the room pictures on website are all the same and there description of hotel seems to be quoted from another hotel write up almost verbatim. We paid extra for a view, to enjoy at night. It was a view of trees outside the window. My first 30 minutes there were very distressing, my husband was beside himself seeing me this way as I had though I picked a nice affordable place to stay. We called front desk, took pictures, made reservations at another hotel all within 1hour of arrival. We had been on the road all day to get there, we were hungry and tired and stressed out to the max. Unbelievable.

Here is the email information to the biulding code office in lake george, use it! Nothing changes unless we make our complaints heard. Help prevent others from continued bad experiences at the place.

http://warrencountyny.gov/contact.php?id=16

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank vince54326
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in May 2013 and I must say, that compared to other hotels we stayed at costing about the same, this one was quite disappointing. There is nothing luxurious about this place; you'll feel it in the quality of the linens, the toiletries, and the very look of the place. The room was so small that our pack-and-play had to literally get wedged in between the bed and the wall and almost didn't fit. The day we were there, only one other room was occupied, (we were early in the season) so the place had a look of a ghost-town about it. As a result, instead of having a full breakfast available from 7-10 in their restaurant as promised, the staff had some cofffee and pastries brought into the lobby around 9 am. I give them kuddos for arranging for something for breakfast, but the place didn't seem professional. Now, in their favor, our room did have a very nice view of the mountains, and there was a nice little frig in the room, But considering our room didn't even have any tissues, I was not very impressed. I think later in the season it might be a little better- at the time of our visit the outdoor pool was closed, the shuttle wasn't running, etc. but I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The view is best from the second floor of the building that the restaurant is in. I'd definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marstar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a horrible experience at the Travelodge in Lake George.
I had 3 rooms booked for the Memorial Day weekend and the guests in every room had a problem. We spoke with the front desk staff as soon as we checked in but nothing was done to solve the issues.
We were all told that it was the first weekend the hotel was opened under new management and that everything was not ready as it should be....
All the hotel staff did, was apologize.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Basdeo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Bennett M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.9 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#22 of 89 in Lake George
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
329 reviews
6.3 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George NY Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George NY Travelodge

Address: 2011 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $64 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake George NY Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake George NY Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lake George Hotel Lake George
Travel Lodge Lake George
Lake George Travel Lodge
Lake George Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing