We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, great buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average room, great buffet”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My first impression was actually quite good. At check-in, the staff was very friendly and explained the package we had taken very well. They let us check in early, which was nice because we were tired from the drive and our 8 month-old was starting to fuss a bit.

Upon reaching our room, I felt a bit let down. It was tiny and the fridge that we had hoped to toss some groceries in turned out to be an itty-bitty mini-fridge that could hold maybe 6 items. That wasn't good, as we had some frozen baby food with us, so we had to keep that in the ice bucket, covered in ice (although the fridge did a have a tiny "freezer" about the size of two coke cans.

My wife noticed Cheerios on the floor and wondered out loud if the room had been cleaned. I mentioned this to the front desk and someone was sent right away to vacuum, followed by at least two people following up on it to make sure things were OK. We were even offered another room, but decided to stay put.

The room's bathroom was tiny-- the sink didn't fit in it and so was located just outside the door as part of the "bedroom". This was odd, but overall it was OK. We weren't in Lake George for the hotel room, after all. While I felt the room didn't match what I expected based on their website, it was passable.

The hotel is in a pretty good location, close to the action. It also has a "beach", but it is quite tiny. No real room for kids to run around and play, but it does give access to the water and paddle boats and kayaks are available to rent. The pool actually suited us much better.

The absolute best part, however, was the buffet. We weren't really expecting much at all, but there was a good selection and everything that we tried was quite good. Even when we had used up our breakfast vouchers, we went back again for our final day. The staff there was very good, as well.

Overall, i am not sure that I would stay there again, but it had more positives than negatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    124
    63
    34
    43
See reviews for
211
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pa.
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

ON June 24th thru June 29th 2013 My family and I stayed at the Surfside .We opted for the early summer getaway package It fitted all our needs to a tee. The pool side rooms were large clean and spacious. The food at the breakfast buffet was great.All the staff at the Surfside were polite and attentive. The package tours were awesome and the variety of dinner restaurants were delightful. We had a wonderful time and we highly recommend the Surfside in the future.
The Ulrich's. Pa

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Templeton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a group stay at Surfside on the Lake and everyone had a great time. The Hotel was nice and clean, food was good and the staff was extremely helpful and just a pleasure to be around. They had so much fun that I am booking another trip for "2014" the Ballon Festival and hope it is as successful as this year. Once again Thanks Jodie and Surfside for doing such a great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiM7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here off-season for two nights and had a great time. The location is great, very walkable from the village and right on the lake. We're a young couple so the parking situation and walk to room was a non-issue. Our 15 month old loved it too. The only reason it's not a five star review (and it was close) was the room was just slightly dated and the mattress was a little lumpy. Still comfy and clean. I should also mention that the grounds were impeccably clean. Thanks Surfside!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michapok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

* Parking is ridiculous, small cramped spaces, almost impossible to maneuver.
* You must walk far to get to your room unless your room is in the parking lot.
* Room was dirty, we had no shower curtain (had to ask twice), no fresh cups left.
* Keys get deactivated for no reason.
* No customer service practiced.
* Noisy drunk guests roaming around all hours knocking on doors.
* One ice machine in the middle of the motel, not convenient for folks down on lake.
* No lunch choices : The New 3100 sq. ft. Roof Top Terrace, 1200 sq. ft. Boardwalk deck wasn't opened as listed.
* New Colorful Lakefront Cabana Bar also not as advertised - it was open 12-8 pm and inside.

Just read the description of rooms carefully and compare the prices of the rooms.

Room Tip: Read the motel information carefully and take other reviews into consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsideOnTheLake, Manager at Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We apologize for you not having a great vacation at our hotel. We wish you had communicated with management during your stay as we want all of our guests to enjoy the hotel.
Parking is tight but there is one parking space for each of the rooms. The lakefront rooms do require a walk (less than 200 feet) from the parking lot, but that is because the room is right on the lake with a great view.
We are sorry that the room had no shower curtain. It had been taken down for cleaning and had not yet been replaced. Upon notification, we promptly replaced it. We were astonished to hear about a dirty room. We take it seriously to provide clean, comfortable rooms.
The keys, as with any keycards, are sensitive. Cell phones and credit cards do have the tendency to deactivate the key cards if put next to one.
Our 2 large ice machines are centrally located on our property so they can easily be found by all guests.
We were unaware of any “Noisy drunk guests knocking on doors.” Staff is on 24 hours a day. There was no complaint received from any guests about noise.
Our new rooftop cabana bar is scheduled to open June 15th. It is not open in the off-season (In-season is June 14th- Labor Day). We did, however, open our main bar for the weekend to serve drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Surfside on a weekend outing to Lake George. The hotel has clean, average size rooms. Our suite faced the lake. The beds were comfortable and quiet. Our particular room has a reflector light on top of the lakeside window which disturbed us at sleep time, and it could not be turned off. Otherwise our accommodations were reasonably good. The breakfast buffet was well prepared and included a variety of different entrees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no lights near the outside window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quadrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well, you can't complain about the views. I mean...wow. The location and layout of the property is really well done, a little bit old fashioned, and family friendly all the way. The wonderful thing is that this is a classic old property that's being lovingly restored to it's 1950's charm. The bad thing is that this is a classic old property. So the rooms, etc are going to be on the smaller side. We had an issue with our reservation on the first night, but they took care of that on the bill. Although I thought they could have gone a step further. All in all it was a fun long weekend and the meeting rooms were perfect for our small group of about 35.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#10 of 89 in Lake George
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.8 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#16 of 89 in Lake George
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Address: 400 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel in the heart of Lake George village. With a wide variety of rooms from a single bed to Suites overlooking the lake. The property is lakefront and has 233 feet of beach, a private heated pool, and numerous decks to relax on. We offer a wireless internet service around the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On The Lake Hotel Lake George
Surfside On The Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing