We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for late season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for late season”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I'm not going to lie to you. The surfside is not the equivalent of let's say, the w in Chicago. But it's in lake George village, the capital of cheesy, late 60's resort-ness.

That being clarified, it's not bad! We got quite the steal on a "two bedroom suite" with a lake view. Our family of three found it to be quite comfortable. We had a lake view, three queen beds and an adjoining bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It appeared clean on arrival. I will note, the windows and slider were brand spanking new (I won't mention the lack of handle on the inside of the screen sliding door. Or. Maybe I will.) the acs worked, we had two flat screens, was fine.

To be noted, there was a dorm sized fridge (fine for our 4 day stay), a microwave we didn't use, and some plates (5), mugs (4), bowls (4), and A pint glass and A rocks glass. Silverware numbered 4 each. Bring coffee and filters (#2), those are not provided. I inquired at the front desk about those coffee packets you throw in, not available. She was kind enough to extend three filters. Glad I brought coffee, and that there was a price chopper in the neighborhood.

Knowing that we were walking into lake George village, and all that that brings, we were happy. Housekeepings not the best, but then again, we knew.

Since it was September/October, we never even ventured to the pool or the beach. The pool should've been closed a few weeks prior, was green. The beach? It had been raining all weekend so I will not pass judgment.

In conclusion, I would say that the surfside is fine. Again. Its not the ritz. But you are in lake George village. What did you expect?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nappykink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    120
    60
    33
    41
See reviews for
199
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had room number 409 which is on the 2nd floor. It was neither a poolside nor lake side and room was very small but i guess we compromised on the price which was 150$ per night. we were there for 2 days. beds were clean, pillow was dirty but could be one odd case. On entering the room, we could smell wet clothes and upon calling people came and sprayed some perfume which was ok. We were told that room has microwave but it was not there but upon asking we got it very soon. refrigerator is also small. we had trouble with our next door neighbor kids who used to make hell lot of noise and each day we had to call office and complain but it used to stop after complaining. In all, small issues were there but it was very well handelled by the management. It has 1 pool which is good enough. They have ample parking (free).They have their own lake side beach (small) which is good and boat rentals are available from the hotel backyard. Location wise this is fantastic, its in the village so no need to take your car out. everything is within 1 mile. This area has a major mobile connectivity problem nothing to do with hotel.

Room Tip: lake view is good. poolside would be noisy. other rooms are just rooms and very close to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirtimandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Parking is horrible. It's so tight and everyone has the big SUV's or mini-vans (myself included). There arent even enough spaces at night for all the cars. At first glance I thought the room to be okay in cleansiness, but the bathroom shower curtain had mildew a quarter of the way up it. I also requested a crib in the room and the mattress was filthy..as were the bars on the crib itself. We were supposed to stay two nights but ended up staying one and going home the next night (we live 50 minutes away). Also we decided to go up to Bolton Landing for a kid friendly beach area. One of the reasons I chose the Surfside was that it had its own beach but it's right next to docked boats and such. Veterans memorial beach in bolton landing is perfect for kids. If we stay up this way again we'll stay up more towards Bolton Landing area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWest16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Surfside for a little summer getaway. After doing a lot of research we decided to book a room at Surfside because it seemed to have everything we wanted. The staff was friendly from the minute I called. We arrived to find a large, very clean hotel right in the heart of Lake George. I was amazed at how big it was... it was very deceiving from the street. Our room was right down on the beach. It was clean and had a wonderful view of the lake. We enjoyed the heated pool and big sandy beach very much. We rented a paddle boat and looked at all the other hotels nearby from the lake... we were amazed at how small all the other beaches were compared to the one at Surfside. We could not find one thing wrong with our stay. Next year we will definitely chose to stay at Surfside again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillyYBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Rooms are tight, carpets filthy, parking horrendous.
Our air conditioning wasn't working when we arrived. After trying to repair it for almost an hour, the two maintenance men pulled the whole thing out of the wall and got another. The bedroom had 2 queen sized beds, but you could only get into part of the dresser because it was so tight. If you chose to use the pull out under the sofa, be warned, it stays on the floor level.
Housekeeping only straightens beds and replaces towels. Don't expect to see your floors clean.
Fully equipped kitchen is a couple of bowls, glasses and plates. The silverware is in an uncovered tray on top of the microwave. Refrigerator handle was broken and I'd be arfaid to use the stove.
The beach area is small, but kept clean. The outdoor areas are, in fact, cleaner than the indoor. The parking lot is so tight, it's difficult to back your car out or make the turns.
The brochures and internet pictures make the place appear way larger than it is.
Very disappointed and will not return.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiesgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Let me start by saying we have stayed at Surfside many times in the past, and have always had great experiences. It takes a lot for us to be disappointed, and write up a negative review, but this was something worth sharing. We had made reservations for a long weekend checking in mid week and leaving on Sunday. We checked in and stayed according to plan, until Hurricane Irene was approaching NYC. In an emergency we had to checkout a day early to get home and tend to our animals, family, as well as loose patio furniture. I explained to management since it was a State of Emergency I would need to check out a day early... Management felt that it was our problem, and went ahead and charged us for the day we did not stay. Please be aware that if you need to make any changes to your reservations even if the state of NY is in a state of emergency, you will not get your money back. With managements decision to take our money, it has cost them our business, and any referrals for friends or family looking to visit the Lake George area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Checked in the night before Irene. Enjoyed the pool and the lake front at our hotel the first day. Went out during the begining of the storn and returned to no power. Not all that surprised. We made the most of it and never even bothered to ask the staff when power would return because they were being bombarded by other guest. I knew it was out of the hotel staff control. Generators were running outside lights at night. Power returned late Monday afternoon and we had been out all day anyway. Had a nice day on Tueday again at the lake/ pool. My family rented paddleboats. kayaks from the hotel. Maid service was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alogan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#21 of 88 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#16 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#19 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Address: 400 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel in the heart of Lake George village. With a wide variety of rooms from a single bed to Suites overlooking the lake. The property is lakefront and has 233 feet of beach, a private heated pool, and numerous decks to relax on. We offer a wireless internet service around the entire property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On The Lake Hotel Lake George
Surfside On The Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing