We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A giant disappointment!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Village Resort
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Marine Village was without a doubt the worst room I have ever stayed in--no kidding. When you walked in the door, you could touch the bed! The king size bed literally took up the entire room. There was a little cove for a closet that contained a fridge that was the exact same as I had in college in 1970. Everything in the room, except the tv was many, many years old. It didnt feel particularly clean, maybe due to the age of the furnishings.
The location was great, but for $530 for 2 nights, it was waaay overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ColumbusTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 416 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

We purchased a couples package and had a king size room. Room had a MUSTY ODOR and KNATS flying around, king size bed dominated 85% of the room, bathroom sink was a 60's style type, mirror was worn underneath and appeared cracked. The SHEETS REAKED OF SMOKE and B.O., YUCK!! Bathroom towels were extremely old and rough. NOISE level was EXTREMELY HIGH, road close by, tons of children playing in the parking lot, PARKING SUCKED!!! You would think they would accommodate 1 car per parking space, but they did not. Many brought cars and motorcycles and took up from 3-4 spaces per room. Definately WOULD NOT say here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank down2earthgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Their 'Couples Package' adveritizes a "lakeview room". None of the rooms in this package face the lake! The rooms face the parking lot and to even see the lake you have to stand outside the front door.......and then couldn't see the lake without attempting to stand on a chair. Sould the be sold as a 'parking lot view' at best.
The room, with a king size bed, had about two feet of space around it to move around.
Checked in and checked out within the same hour!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We have been staying at Marine Village Resort for many years and our experience keeps getting better and better since the new owners took over! We stayed in room 66, a room on the second floor with a breathtaking view of the lake. Two giant windows offer spectacular sunrises and two king beds make this room extremely pleasant. We loved the new plasma TVs and updated decor. It's no wonder they received the 2008 Beatification Award. The management is constantly updating the grounds: The staff is always busy at work up keeping the place: raking the beach every morning (biggest sandy beach on the lake), adding new tables, chairs, and umbrellas to the pool area, emptying the numerous garbage pails and recycling containers surrounding the resort,. The housekeeping staff clean the rooms immaculately every day. They offer different activities such a smore night, make your own sundae, etc. The location is ideal. It is in the heart of the village and so close to all other activities. No need to deal with the crowds, the private beach is the perfect location to watch the Thursday night firework display. Definitely the place to stay. Our hats off to the owners and courteous, hardworking staff. Thanks for a great week!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We would recommend Marine Village Resort to anyone staying in the Lake George Area. It is in the perfect spot - right near restaurants and shops, minutes from The Great Escape, mini golf. The kids loved the heated pool, playscape, paddleboats, and of course building sandcastles on the beach! We would recommend the Family Fun Package, as it included one dinner voucher, breakfast each morning, and tickets to Great Escape. The staff was helpful and friendly. The manager was very personable. The building we were in was clean and recently renovated. The room was moderately sized. We were able to fit a rollaway bed in the room with two queen beds. Although there is a microwave and small fridge which came in handy, we wished there was an actual kitchen area with a small table and chairs. All in all, a great place. No need to search for places to stay next time we are in Lake George; we already found it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigins23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Spent the last week at the Marine Village Resort. Cannot say enough about the staff which was always helpful and courteous. They were always there when needed and would go out of their way to accomadate us. Is located right on Lake George with a beautiful view. The heated pool was a plus. Really enjoyed our trip and already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Would recommend going back here again. Hotel staff was wonderful and were willing to accomodate all of our needs. Rooms were clean and updated. Front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Location was a huge plus. Cant wait to go back next year!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camperfourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Village Resort

Address: 370 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#16 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $108 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Village Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing