We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Village Resort
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at this particular motel. It was as my title states just ok the first room we were given #12 is set away from the lake and as soon as you walk in it smells moldy! I thought I was just be paranoid but me and my young daughter woke up the next morning with sinus infections! We decided to move our room so we stayed in 47 next to the pool much better it seems those rooms are more updated and don't come with a mold smell. The only good part about this place is the lake access, the pool, and the playground. the staff at the restaurant seems to all be young students from russia so there english is not so great and they are not very organized. the regular staff there seems to be not so friendly! When we got home I remembered I left my kindle tablet in the nightstand when I called the front desk they could care less! So I
Probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry we were not able to find your Tablet and we appreciate your comments regarding the Restaurant. We will be addressing the concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    105
    41
    13
    19
See reviews for
185
82
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutchess Cty, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just came home from a very relaxing, nice Labor Day weekend stay at Marine Village. We've been to LG numerous times and I usually prefer Lake Bolton away from the hustle and bustle of the village. I have to say, though, that we will definitely go back to MVR. Our room was a King with a lake view (room 35). Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I never heard any noise outside once our door was closed. I love that each room had a table and chairs outside to enjoy the morning and evening. One of my favorite things, is waking up early and sitting outside with my coffee. We have learned to bring our own coffee maker since I don't like the little ones in hotel rooms. I also loved the patio area between the pool and beach. We enjoyed sitting there in the evening and had nice conversations with other guests. The pool was very nice. Our kids are grown, but the little ones we enjoyed watching were having a blast. As others have stated, you can park your car and never use it to walk the village. There a plenty of grills, which we didn't use, but would like to plan another stay with more family members and maybe get a few rooms with a kitchen and picnic table. We never heard noise from the village at all. Overall, a great place to stay. Oh and the Sunday bbq was nice too!

Room Tip: We were closer to the lake and away from the pool. If you'd like more quiet, you might want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This resort has everything you want for a great vacation. We stayed from Monday to Friday and we hated to leave. The room had two Queen beds and a nice size bath. I give it 4 stars for cleanliness, comfort, hospitality, closeness to all the amenities Lake George has to offer. It has a large beach and a very ample parking lot, which is difficult to find at Lake George. Everyone was very friendly and we left booking for next year, as did many others.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach have a great Lake view. Go to their website and choose a room number befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaf47286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is the second year staying here. We stayed in a king "lakefront" room this year. The room was good except for the the door was hard to shut an the entire toilet moved. The styrofoam cups they provided for coffee were disgusting, but we didn't use them and didn't complain. We booked our room on booking.com and weren't offered any "extras", another family we spoke to received vouchers for paddle boats.

We fished off the dock 2 out of 3 days, rented a kayak, swam in the pool and enjoyed the free make your own ice cream sundae.

We especially like that its right in the village and not much need to drive around. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrinag118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Marine Village. We stayed from Monday to Friday of the Pre-Labor Day week. Our room was less than 25 steps from the very nice lake/beach. Luckily, my wife and I are teachers, so we could tolerate the insane amount of children that were there. If you are a family with younger children, a great place to stay, evening activities and a great pool. If you are a couple or have teenagers, this might not be the place for you. As you will find in all the reviews, the location is incredible. Park your car and walk Canada Street for food, shopping and fun. Less than 15 minutes from Six Flags and outlet shopping. A quick walk for The Steamboat and the park. Thursday is Fireworks night and you have a great view there.
Things that should be noted: Aside from Tom who checked us in, the checkout staff and Victoria our chambermaid, no one at MVR was pleasant. I must have walked past 5 employees over the week and no one greeted us or smiled. Having evening activities are a good thing, but aside from the front desk they were not published anywhere. Perhaps post them throughout the grounds. Also, do not bill yourself as a resort and not deliver as one. Fees for kayaks or paddleboats? Rooms that are buried in the parking lot are not reminiscent of a resort either.
Overall, the location of the resort, coupled with the private beach, gives it high marks. Take full advantage of everything the Marine Village has to offer.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must. Check the map before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetset1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We will take your recommendations into consideration and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, well taken care of motel. Location was great but everything was small (i.e parking lot, room, pool). Everyone was nice area just was cramped. Lots of families were there which was nice. We were in room 74-suppose to be a pool view however that was a stretch.

















p

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, walk to everything. Clean rooms, great breakfast. Located on Lake George, so you have your choice of swimming in the Lake or pool. You can't beat the price and location anywhere else in Lake George.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris5263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.5 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Village Resort

Property: Marine Village Resort
Address: 370 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#16 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Village Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing