We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but horrible musty smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marine Village Resort
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room appeared to be updated and would have been sufficient however upon entering the room, we were hit with the worst musty smell I have ever encountered. My mistake was not saying anything, but when we left they said " oh we could've put a dehumidifier in there " I would've thought that would've been a great idea before we arrived. At $254 a night, it should've been a better experience.

Room Tip: We were on first floor and could hear every footstep in the room above....but if the room stinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling4427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Perfect location within walking distance to Beach Ave/the supermarket/all shops. Lots of parking spots to choose from for our car. The employees were very nice and helpful - answered all of our questions about the kayaks vs. the paddle boats. Cute beach and pool on site. The rooms included a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and an efficient AC. Would definitely go back to Marine Village and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbreviewer60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were nothing other than completely happy! I will admit it is a bit more expensive than other motels in the area, however well worth the extra cost! You are steps away from the village which saves you from traffic and parking hunting. The grounds and rooms are immaculate and well maintained. The pool is clean and a decent size. The beach is 300 feet long. Plenty of lounge chairs! Very family oriented.

Room Tip: We chose a big room with 2 king beds. Plenty of room for 4 adults. There are rooms smaller and les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited in mid-June before peak season, paid $85/night last minute when the rate was listed as $130, and had a wonderful time. We were in Room 11 in the single-story building that has 22 rooms on the far left of the property and were one of only 5 occupied rooms in the whole building. Our room was completely updated, extremely comfortable and clean with a bistro patio set outside the door and a side view of the lake when sitting outside.

We had the beach to ourselves and my kids loved jumping off the dock and watching the Minnie Ha-Ha steamship puffing past every half hour. We swam in the pool after dark and thoroughly enjoyed its warm temps and cleanliness.

I was disappointed to find out when I arrived that the on-site restaurant that offers free meals for kids was not yet opened for the season (no one told us when booking and it is not stated on the website) but we were within walking distance of many other places to eat. There is also a supermarket a few minutes away by foot so that helped keep the eating-out cost down.

My only other negative comment was that the place should be non-smoking OUTSIDE as well!! Even though there were very few people near us, when they were smoking outside their room, we had to go inside and that was very upsetting. Why should our enjoyment on vacation be ruined by somebody else's smoke??

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbsboyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a pool side room first floor; the rooms are small but they do have queen beds. The room was clean and the beds were fine. The beach is small but clean, the pool is could use a little work but it is also clean and almost too warm some days. There are gas grills for guests to use which we did not realize until we were there for a couple days, could have saved some money on dinner. The location is great! Lots of things in walking distance. Price Chopper, arcades, gift shops and there is entertainment almost every night on the waterfront downtown.
The paddle boats and kayaks are pricey. Lots of families traveling together. The restaurant food was pretty good, the coffee not so much. The snack bar was good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank df3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I would give 2.5 stars. Our family checked in August 18. The hotel location was excellent. The room was outdated but clean. Our beds were terrible. The beach was small but also clean. If you book a room here, be sure to reserve one on the 2nd floor. We were on the ground floor and the rooms above us sounded like there were a herd of elephants above us. You can hear the water from other rooms when people turn on the shower. These are 2 things I have never experienced at another hotel before. And about the shower, the water would go hot or cold when another room would use theirs. I would not recommend eating at the Morgan, go somewhere else. The patio was spacious and clean. Overall, we felt the property was clean. There were propane grills available for guest use. The staff we encountered were courteous. Our housekeeper was efficient and nice. We rented a canoe from the hotel for 20$ for one hour. Website says no pets allowed yet we noticed 3 different families with dogs on the property. Next time we will stay further from town so we can find something of better quality.

Room Tip: Reserve a 2nd floor room, on the ground floor the room above you sounds like a herd of elephants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family and I have stayed here several times now --- it's sort of halfway between us on Long Island and my son in Plattsburgh --- we have nothing but wonderful memories and thanks for the warm, friendly, helpful staff. This week we're going for broke: our first stay in the most expensive suite - separate King size master bedroom and bath, full beautiful kitchen, dining room and living room with pull-out couch. We reserved another 2 rooms with double queens for other family members and friends.

Last summer we had 3 dbl queen rooms adjacent to each other, each with microwave and minifridge, plenty of room for extra cots and luggage, and we had the time of our lives. The last day of our trip last summer, I couldnt bear to go home; we booked a different room for an additional 2 nights and four of us stayed on :)

The pool area is immaculate, the patio area surrounding it has clean, well-maintained tables and chairs with huge umbrellas, gas barbeques for guests' use, and nightly extras (like burger night!) Just beyond the pool area is the wood gazebo at the edge of their white-sand beach looking right out on the Lake), complete with wooden picnic tables, garbage pail, hanging flowers and gas barbeque, for a more private feeling for mealtime. (We prefer eating in there!)

There are shuffle board games to be played, discounts to local attractions (like 6 Flags) in the Main Office, paddle boats, canoes and kayaks, oodles of white lounge chairs on the beachfront, a small play area for the wee ones, and of course, what I consider to be the best lake-swimming in the Village area. We aren't boaters, but you'll see lots of others staying at Marine Village who are, and their boats are moored right there at the pier beside the beach. There's the snack bar next to the pool area, the breakfast restaurant on site (we haven't availed ourselves of that, so I can't vouch for it) and everything is clean clean clean.

When we had a problem with our reservation one time, and with a parking pass another time, our complaint was met with friendliness and eagerness to please.

What's not to love... the gorgeous views of the lake and mountains, the Village shore with Fort William Henry watching over it, the fun activities, clean grounds and accomodations, friendly staff...??? Marine Village Resort = Most Valuable Resort!

We LOVE Marine Village - me and my hubbie, my 3 grown children, nephews and friends (all 20-somethings), my Mom and Dad (67), my brothers (45 and 42)... We absolutely cannot wait to get up there this Saturday!!!!!

Thank you Marine Village!

Room Tip: Check out their map of the grounds on their main website!!! It shows very clearly the way its all l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ar_mo_bhealach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
1.7 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Village Resort

Address: 370 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#13 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $108 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marine Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Village Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing