We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Nice view of the lake if you have a room facing it.
Kids loved the outdoor pool, but there aren't enough chairs.
The indoor pool area had mold growing on the tiles and the smell was overwhelming.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Bathrooms are really small and the doors don't lock.
This was our first visit to lake George and we were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2007

We were disappointed with this hotel.We had stayed here two years ago and had a good experience. This time, despite booking a room four months earlier through Holiday Inn's Priority Club website we were given a dark room right off the lobby. We were given a better room only after complaining. The rooms here are expensive and overpriced, especially since the hotel is not lakefront. The hotel needs a good painting, especially the hallways. We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and had a terrible experience there. The staff was totally disorganized,and the restaurant was dirty. I am sure there are other better places in Lake George to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank QueensNYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Great hotel for families. We stayed in one of the brand new suites. It was very nicely appointed - granite counter tops in the kitchenette area and bathroom. Fabulous view of the lake and fireworks. Plenty of space for our family of 4. If you want to stay in a "real" hotel because you are not used to the old style offerings of the Lake George area, this is the place, hands down.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Haucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Just returned from a week at the Holiday Inn. It was a wonderful property for people with children where they can eat free at the buffet. There is an indoor pool so if the weather is a problem they have something to do. I did not have a problem with mildew and neither did my Mom who was on the first floor. It seems they were working on some drainage pipes and had recently cut some trees down (leaving the stumps however right where people walk at night near the first floor apartments and pool area). The rooms were comfortable compared to some of the mildewed, smelly cabin resorts I've stayed in. A refrigerator and a microwave in all the rooms was a nice touch. I have two problems, 1. The elevator is about a two block walk from the farthest rooms in the east facing wing. My mom had to be moved to the first floor due to her inability to walk the distance. They were very accomodating but if there wasn't a room available there I don't know what we would have done. 2. They offer dinner buffets which include all the food and desserts you can eat. However, they charge you $1.60 for a pot (4 cups) of coffee extra added to your bill. AND if you order a dinner or special off the menu, you don't get dessert at all...not even a pudding or jello. Something is wrong there. One day my Mom went to the buffet breakfast at the dining room and asked if she could take a coffee and bagel to her room instead of eating there and they charged her a couple dollars rather than $10.95 for the all you can eat buffet. The next day she goes for the same thing and they charge her $10.95...different people at the register, different rules? It pays to get the buffet for $10.95 rather than a juice, two eggs and a bagel for about $6.00... Otherwise, this is a beautiful location, right near everything and I have no complaints. They are doing their best to spruce it up. I visited the two bedroom, two bath unit on the third floor and it was fantastic...$499 a day! But worth it! The best view in town. The rooms were divided nicely and a huge balcony plus a sitting area with sofa bed and two flat screen t.v.s. There is a private sitting area on the third floor too as well as a new laundry room. Can't complain. Would go back again.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank PPCb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

After staying at another motel in the area for a few years we wanted to try someplace new. We always drove past this hotel and thought it was a pretty property and well maintained, set on a hill. The hotel had just completed construction of new suites and were working on adding more parking spaces in the back. Our first floor room was a bit small in size for 2 adults and 2 kids. Two queen beds were comfy. The grounds were beautifully kept; the pool area great...nice and shady when you could grab one of the giant umbrellas up on the patio area with awesome views of Lake George! Why don't the hotels offer more shade? Very hard to find any with more than one umbrella! Kids had a great time in the nice play area adjacent to the pool, so they were always in view. The kiddie pool worked out well even if it is only 2 inches deep! Easily the BEST part of the hotel is the pool area! Breakfast was surprisingly good with choice of buffet or menu. Kids eat free. However, there was a stong musty, mildew odor in our room that we complained about. The staff tried to fix the problem but the smell came back quickly. Ants were marching on top of the fridge over an open can of soda. The indoor pool, gym and game room had the worst smell...we couldn't stay there for too long. At checkout the manager made concessions on our bill and invited us back. The hallway was undergoing a painting and looked worn; the doors to the rooms were dirty and in need of painting. Very disappointing considering that it's a nice place from the outside and it's Holiday Inn. We would try them again IF they fixed the problems.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitch220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

We recently stayed at this hotel and were so pleased with our room - a brand new suite. It was spacious with a large bathroom, comfortable bedding and a balcony with a beautiful view of the lake. The grounds on the property are well kept and clean. The outdoor pool area was relaxing. Tthis is definately the place to stay in Lake George - convenient to everything!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mnoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We booked our King Room with Sleeper Sofa for July 5-8 for two adults and 6-year old child. The room was clean, beds are very comfortable and room pleasantly decorated. The hotel is still going through renovations, so if your kids take a day-time nap, this could be a problem w/noise depending on location of your room. The outdoor pool and indoor pools are a good size and clean as well. The large indoor pool is a blessing on rainy days w/children, as are in-room movies and good cable channel selection. The outdoor pool and playground area has a beautiful view of Lake George as the backdrop.

Bathroom in our room was on the small side, but completely updated and spotless.

Breakfast buffet hot & cold selections and coffee are good and children eat free.

Location is within Lake George Village with easy access to all one would like to do.

Staff is super attentive to guests needs. We called first evening for extra pillows and they were brought up within 5 minutes. Same with toilet flushing issue -- it was fixed within 5 minutes of call. Great overall service/housekeeping with good attitudes.

Hotel room included small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, blow dryer and safe box.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to families with children as a great choice for Lake George. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 89 in Lake George
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $100 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing