We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Williston, Vermont
1 review
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Love the fact that kids under 12 eat free. Food quality is very good and a variety of foods choices are available.
Swimming pool/hot tub/game room area is well designed and spotless. Because it is all enclosed with glass you can see the children from all areas.
Rooms are comfy with microwave and fridge included.
Ground floor rooms are a little loud due to foot traffic headed to the front desk and restaurant. We have stayed here many times over the last five years and have been pleased every time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    270
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
484
208
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I can not say enough about this resort. It was an absolutely fantastic stay. The rooms, clean and updated. The house keepers; friendly and helpful. They even left the kids towel animals everyday. The pool is sparkling clean. The view unbelievable. The restaurant kids meals...4.99 Come on! How can you go wrong? Happy Hour on a Friday...it was terrific!
The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is the size of the bathroom. It's one of those bathrooms that you can't really manuever around the door/toilet. However, it is CLEAN!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oogliebooglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Turf and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. It is extremely clean, decorated beuatifully and the grounds are well kept. The staff was cordial and helpful in every way. We definitely recommend staying at this hotel on your next trip to Lake George.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This H.I. is a pleasantly nostalgic throwback to the days when Holiday Inns were synonymous with comfortable rooms, convenient locations and "after-hours" amenities for the end of your day. We stayed for 2 nights on an impromptu getaway weekend. The location is very convenient; just a short distance "up the road" from the crowded center of town and lake front but with everything of interest just "down the street". (One note: the staff cheerfully told us that some things were within easy walking distance which was true. But it would mean walking along a 4 lane road filled with tourists who are often distracted with finding their own hotels, etc. So even though it may seem like you pull out of the hotel parking space only to pull into another 2 minutes later, it's the safer way to go.) Our room - 2 Queen beds - was obviously redone not long ago. The furniture was new, the decor bright and the room was very clean. We had a mini-fridge which in a town like Lake George was nice for chilling water for our day time acivities and something cold for chilling out at the end of the day. Likewise the microwave which let us pop some popcorn for late night munching. The bed was comfortable and in a nice touch, the pilows came with a "wrapper" offering a choice of fluffy or firm. A small touch perhaps but since my wife and I have differing pillow preferences, it was one of those thoughtful touches that added to our favorable impression. Another similar perk was my wife's enjoying (and giving good reviews of) the indoor heated pool which she used for morning swim while I eased into my day over a second cup of coffee on the balcony outside our room. This is a 50's/60's vintage H.I. The bathroom is tiny but here too, spotlessly clean with new fixtures. (It could have used an exhaust fan and I had another nostalgia moment while continuously wiping the steam from the mirror so I could shave after my shower.) One advisory....as they built them back in the day, the rooms are in long, rectangular wings and for reasons known only to H.I., there is only one elevator for the entire building! So if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor, toting your bags to your room either means a short ride up then a long, long trek down the hallway or using stairs. The front desk did offer to have someone take our bags for us. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. My wife who has a critical eye for housekeeping was pleased with the way ours was cleaned and that a little note on the dresser got us extra coffee packets for the in-room maker. At night, there is a fire pit out front which created a relaxed campfire setting for casual conversation with other guests. A final advisory. This for the men reading this. If your lady happens to talk with the concierge who tells her about the multitude of outlet stores about 10 mins. down the highway and it then becomes a "must do" in your itinerary, know that there is a micro-brewery in town....and a mini-fridge in your room for your return!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMATT914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoover, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

Had a good time at Holiday Inn Lake George Turf. It is exactly a 3.5 star hotel, not more not less. The rooms were OK, with very small bathrooms. Had some issues with the room rate when we showed up, but it was solved. Has a few different things that you can do in the premises, like mini golf, basketball court etc. The Lake George Dinner Theater that is located in its premises is very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OT2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this hotel! It is beautifully decorated and very clean. There were tons of things to do for the kids; the pools, shuffleboard, basketball court, childrens craft/activity room, game room, and video games in the suite. The fire pit was so nice for my husband and I to sit by with our feet resting by the fire. The restaurant was always a pleasant experience and the bar was recently renovated and lovely. The managers reception was terrific ~ it included wine, beer, soda and appetizers out by the pool while the kids swam. I am picky about hotels and I was very pleased.
The only negative was the pull out sofa mattress was uncomfortable.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank quiltsomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

After traveling around the Northeast and Canada, we ended our trip with a stop in Lake George. Wow, what a low point to what had been a great vacation!! Our first floor room looked out over a parking lot which is where the many smokers congregated at all hours. Somehow we had booked a free breakfast deal and gotten a horrible room. We should have been much more diligent about how we booked this hotel. I would have given up the free breakfast which was in a hot, crowded dining room with mediocre food. The unfriendly front desk staff showed little concern when I approached them about finding an alternative to the room we were in. Not knowing the Lake George area, I approached their "concierge" who looked to be a teenager and had little to offer as far as advice on what to do in the area.
As far as Lake George itself, well you can't even walk to it as the hotel sits along a busy road with no sidewalks. You can enjoy a view of the lake from the corner of the small, crowded swimming pool area if you are lucky enough to get one of the two tables there. Oh, but you may not be able to use the table umbrellas around the pool if there is any wind because they are set to collapse if the wind blows. If you are thinking that you wouldn't mind driving down to the lake and shops/restaurants, well think again. Parking is metered and very hard to find!! And, the tiny roped-off swimming area of the lake looks rather uninviting.
Suffice it to say, we left a day early. My advice to anyone looking for a getaway is that you can do much better for $250 a night. At the Holiday Inn Lake George, you get so much LESS than you pay for!!! If you have your heart set on this hotel, by all means insist on a room with a view or skip the hotel altogether!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jand4gals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#19 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing