We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Lots of Ameneties, Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Lots of Ameneties, Great View”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We splurged for the LakeView Suite and indeed it had a Sweet View! The hotel is set up on a slight hill across the highway (Rt. 9) situated at the southern end of the lake and when you step out onto the balcony (its not really visible from the room), you get a dramatic beautiful view of the lake and surrounding mountains. The rooms were spacious and clean, no complaints, but nothing extroadinary either. The staff/service was okay (have had better). Overall, we were happy with the stay. This place is great for families becuase there is lots for the kids to do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    277
    62
    23
    15
See reviews for
492
213
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Great stay at Holiday Inn. The suite was large and comfortable. View of the lake from the balcony was very pretty. Bathroom very large. Lots of nice towels. Large pool towels were supplied. There were a few problems with our room when we arrived. Spoke to the manager (Michael) and everything was promptly corrected. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Food has improved since our last stay. We had breakfast and dinner. Can be pricey depending on what you order. I believe children under 12 can eat free from the children's menu. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Our booking for the weekend of June 12/13 coincided with the Americade carnival that apparently brings about 70 000 bikers each year from allover the North East into this quaint little resort town. So our rates for the two rooms we booked were outrageously expensive.

That said, we just cannot have any complaint about this beautiful property which is located about five minutes away by walk from the edge of the waterfront. The rooms are extremely comfortable though the bathrooms are bit too tiny for comfort.

Breakfast buffet is only on Saturday and Sunday and good value; we did not get this as a complimentary add on perhaps because the hotel was sold out. And the a-la-carte option on Monday morning was quite expensive.

The staff here are very warm and friendly. Tom at the front office is especially nice and deserves a special mention for his thoughtfulness and efficient service.

The hotel has a heated jacuzzi outdoors that can take in about 2 adults and 2 kids comfortably and very relaxing. There is also a regular pool which is enclosed and therefore somewhat weather proof but its size is just about okay. The gym has a reasonably good quality equipment but there is just one TV; the two treadmills don't have personal TV monitors.

There are several options for adventure sports in this area including rafting in the Adirondack rapids nearby and kayaking and para-sailing. The hotel reception has loads of literature that can help you plan your holiday time well.

We did not have much to eat at the hotel other than the breakfasts; there are several options nearby and since my family and I are vegetarian, we were particularly happy to find two Indian restaurants( one on Canada Street itself and the other on the pier that sells great samosas)

To conclude, I will rate this above average and not good only because of the price-value equation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalYatrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I typically don't stay at Holiday Inn's since I prefer a little bit more higher end (at least Crowne Plaza, if not Intercontinental, of the ICG properties), but this was perfect for the LG area. It is a little walk from the village, but heading back is all uphill so it depends on your walking preferences.

We were there for the fireman's parade and the hotel was sold out for it. The staff was excellent and very accomodating. Never a wait to have a question answered. Breakfast buffet ($11pp) was basic and good. Property is excellent. I hear it was redone last year. Pool view rooms have a (distant) lake view too which was a nice suprise. Bed was very comfortable and isn't moved by tossing/turning spouse. Rooms were mostly quiet other than faint flushing noise from next room. Sliders to porch were essentially sound-proof as a firefighter group had some music going outside that I could not hear at all once I closed my door. (Thank you for the entertainment, West Albany. It added to our night on the patio.)

Outdoor activities are great if you like a nice pool, full basketball court, lawn chess, putting green, shuffle board.....so great for everyone.

There is a paito with fire pit at the front of the property. There was a fireworks display over the lake which we watched easily from this patio. Mgmt also let us have our own beverages while sitting there (no glass, please), so, again, very accommodating!

I truly am a picky traveler, so my one complaint is the small bathroom, but it was perfectly clean and new, so I survived easily.

Not sure how their rates compare to other LG hotels. I think I had a high rate due to the convention, but still worth it to me.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Holiday Inn Resort at Lake George is the best place to stay. The Resort is situated on a hill, with a wonderful view of the lake. We have stayed here for the past 7 years and come up to Lake George a few times a year. We always stay at the Holiday Inn Resort here in Lake George.

The atmosphere is elegant. The Resort is clean, comfortable, family oriented, has all the amenities you would need and the staff is friendly, helpful, and courteous.

With an indoor and outdoor pool, manificient views of the lake and surrounding area, you have it all at this resort. They also have a very nice restaurant and lounge, so you don't have to go far for anything you may desire.

The resort provides acitvities for children. They also have laundry facilities, a gift shop, and breath taking view of the lake from the lobby. In the outdoor courtyard, they have a wonderful hot tub, where you can relax and take it easy.

Our family keeps coming back, year after year because we feel most comfortable at the Holiday Inn Resort. It is a relaxing retreat from the everyday. The accomodations are just perfect and we can walk to the village.

It is always a wonderful experience, staying at the Holiday Inn Resort in Lake George and we look forward to returning for the warm and friendly hospitality that always awaits us.

Just a wonderful getaway for the family, the Holiday Inn Resort at Lake George.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorrainePAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend and had their only jacuzzi suite which was fantastic. The hotel and the suites are very clean and well-maintained. The suites are perfect, spacious with a lovely balcony and the jacuzzi was super fine. From the moment you enter to the moment you checkout, the staff is extremely courteous and go out of their way to make you feel very welcomed and comfortable. Our chambermaid was wonderful and kept our room clean, neat and well supplied. Both the indoor and outdoor pool areas are well kept and enjoyable. It is a great resort, with a wonderful view of Lake George and in a perfect location. The food is plentiful and well-priced along with the drinks in the bar. We would not hesitate for a moment to stay there again and again and highly recommend it.

There are some suggestions that I would like to make. They have a kiddie pool, but there are no upright chairs around it for the parents to sit and watch the small kiddies. In addition, children up to age 3 should only be permitted in the water in that pool and not in the large pool. No child with diapers should be in the large pool as it is very unsanitary. When we were at the outdoor pool on Saturday, Sunday and Monday, babies and very small children ages 3 and under were in the large pool and their parents were sitting around drinking cans and bottles of beer (not in paper cups nor served by the hotel staff) watching their children with swim jackets on floating in the pool. For safety and insurance purposes this is an accident waiting to happen---not to mention the legal ramifications should an accident occur. We also saw this in the indoor pool. There was also a sign posted about no smoking at the pool, but there were several people smoking constantly. Although there is posted that there are no lifeguards, during the season, at least 15 minutes of each hour there should be a pool attendant or an assistant or manager to oversee what is going on and maintain proper policies and procedures. Of course you want everyone to enjoy their stay, but the management should be more attentive to these matters which can be fatal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This was far and away the WORST Hotel we have stayed in..Room was worn and dated..no screen on the door to the balcony that overlooked the pool and sites of Lake George...Umm the point of staying in this room was to leave the door open..we tried leaving the door open and within 10 minutes 2 huge bugs arrived..the front desk said.."we haven't replaced the screens since they broke years ago.'.REALLY????We checked out and went to another hotel that was quite beautiful...Never again at the Holiday Inn..Very poor customer service as well at the Holiday Inn..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank def98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.8 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 88 in Lake George
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing