We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This resort is very overpriced. We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn. I went through all the reviews and chose this hotel for the location and childrens activities. We enjoyed our stay in Lake George and managed to get past the rude people that were staying with us at the hotel. My husband called down several times to the front desk to speak with a guest who figured it would be best to leave her door open so her kids could run from room to room, the door kept banging against the hinge. This went on past midnight and finally my husband had to go and speak to the woman. The next night was the same thing. We could not wait to leave. The activities were nothing great and geared for younger kids. The pools were wonderful as well as the grounds. Next time I would prefer to stay on the lake. This is a beautiful area and we will return, just not to the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icebaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for your note. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us, but we understand your frustration after reading your review. I am glad to hear that you will come back to our region.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are staying here with our 2yo and 4yo children and it has been fantastic! Friendly service, clean, spacious rooms. We have a suite on third floor with plenty of room and a nice view. There are so many things for the kids to do. Outside: pool, toddler pool, play set, swings, giant chess set, shuffle board, basketball court, putting green. Inside: pool and kids' room are great. Our kids love playing in the kids' room and it is a nice break from the sun. Also lots of kids' activities for the girls and for older kids. Carnival night, outdoor movies, organized games. You could walk a mile or so to the downtown area but we drove since the kids are little but it was an easy ride. the on site restaurant is great; we were actually by how good the food was because we are a bit picky. breakfast buffet....wonderful! We are talking about making this hotel the spot for our annual vacations for many years to come. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: This is a hotel with lots of families so there will be some noise in the halls but nothing out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your nice comments. We feel like there is alot of things to do for kids and parents. Every year, we try to come up with new ideas. Our children's activity room has been a nice area for younger children to gather and play. Our two activity directors are doing a great job this summer. Thank you also for your nice comments about our dining room. We look forward to your return.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a family friendly hotel. We loved all the activities available got kids and especially the access to the indoor and outdoor pools. Would recommend this highly.The breakfast was great and there seemed to be a lot of thought placed in planning the activities at the hotel as well as the layout. Would recommend requesting the lower floor if traveling with kids as it gives you direct sccess to the outdoor pool and play area from your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccavps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have much to do for families. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4-nt vacay, family of 4 (kids 3,6) to LG-our 1st trip. Researched the heck out of places to stay... this place is decent considering the choices in LG are mostly motels, paid over $400/night for a king suite w/lakeview. Good size rm for a family of 4, cleanliness is key to me and I was disappointed overall... hallways, restaurant floor, yuck. Place is decent for a family but if u don't have kids, stay elsewhere. Bkfst was included daily, we did enjoy the pool & family amenities. Good location in LK just would have liked to stay on lake instead. Overall, overpriced for a Holiday Inn IMO but good hotel for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuburbanMommy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your thoughts. Families are indeed our primary customer during the summer months. We do our best to keep our public areas clean as we know that there are many young guests at our resort. I appreciated your comments, and as we always do, shared them with our staff.

Michael /GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at this property with my family during the July 4th holiday. The property is first class. Everything thing was good... Really..! I will absolutely stay here again. When you see the hotel manager himself walking the grounds and helping to make sure things are perfect, you know he cares about his quests and the property. There view to Lake George from the property is spectacular. There were plenty if complementary treats for kids and grown ups through out the day..You will not be disappointed. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We have added some things for adults this year to go along with our children's offerings, and it is going over well. We look forward to seeing you again.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had the priviledge of staying at this Holdiay Inn for over a month and I got to say that my time here was excellent. The front desk staff, Courtney and Breanna always greeted me and my coworkers with a smile and you cant beat the free cookies after a hard days work. They always had good info regarding places to eat and check out on our spare time. The rooms were spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. The views of the lake from the rooms was picture worthy. I wish I could stay here again, but unfortunately my job has taken me elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony (an odd number room, ex: room #203, 205, etc...), its always nice to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG_13090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for your nice note. The ladies at the desk were pleased to have been mentioned in your review. We really enjoyed having your company with us this spring. Your business was appreciated.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel itself is very clean and everything you would expect in a high end establishment. The view of Lake George is gorgeous. The staff at the front desk were more than helpful. Brianna and Courtney especially made me feel like I was the only guest staying there. Their friendly smiles, and cordial greetings were very comforting. Plenty of things to do while there. If you are going to the Lake George area, this is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are the Lake side view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and for your kind words about our staff. They appreciated it very much. Enjoy your summer.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 89 in Lake George
629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $99 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing