We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I do not think there is enough space to say how much we love this vacation spot. Or "home" as our children call it. They are 7, 5 and almost 3. We have been staying here for 6 years now. Usually twice a year for a week each. First I can not say enough about how friendly everyone is. It is nice to go on vacation and be greeted by people who remember you! It is also nice to see the Manager walking around and checking up on everything. Kudos to Mike! The rooms are always clean and smelling fresh. We have never had problem with cleanliness anywhere in this resort. We have always found the dining area (which kids under 12 eat free with a paid adult. Can't beat that!) to be very clean and the food is good. The pool area both inside and out and even the "public" bathrooms are always clean. The wait staff in the restaurant is knowledgeable and friendly. The buffets are great! The rooms are very clean and spacious. We always stay in a suite since our second child. The suite is perfect for a family of five. It has a wet bar area which comes in handy with three young children. The nice part about the non suite rooms is they all have a mini fridge and microwave. At no additional charge like most places do! Both pool areas are nice. There is a really nice indoor pool with furniture to sit at. There is also a bathroom in the pool area and a sauna. Right outside the pool area is a hot tub. The outdoor pool is super. It offers lots of lounge chairs and tables with an umbrella and chairs to eat pool side. Whether you bring your own food or order at the pool. The kiddie pool is perfect for the younger children. It also has a spray mushroom in it so lots of fun for the little ones. As for kid activities, there is no need to bring your own or ever leave this place! Inside there is a small arcade with some great games. There is also an activity/craft room. It offers lots for the kids to do. Coloring, crafts, scheduled activities, movies, wii games, a mini play kitchen, dry erase board and yoga mats. You do need to stay with your child(ren) but it is a great way for them to play and have some "at home" time. Outside the activities are endless. Basketball court, life size chess board, mini golf, putting range, swing set/ jungle gym area and shuffle board. There are also times when frisbees, bubbles, jump ropes, chalk and scavenger hunts are happening. They have pick a movie where the kids vote on a movie and then it is shown by the pool at dark. It is a lot of fun. You can also usually find fresh made delicious cookies by the front desk around 4pm each day. YUM!!! This season they have also added lounge chairs to the grass area. What an excellent addition. I think there was 10 sets around the outside of the pool area with a little table. They also added, another excellent addition, a table with an umbrella and chairs by the swing set, one by the mini golf area and two by the putting range. What a beautiful view when having lunch. We also saw plenty of staff cleaning inside but not so much that is was obnoxious. All of the cleaning staff is friendly and trustworthy. There was also many outdoors ground crew taking care of everything. Lastly there is an amazing fire pit to sit at and enjoy the evening. As always, thank you for making our children feel safe, have fun and love being there. Us too!!

Room Tip: If you are staying in a suite, they all have an amazing view! They are all located on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbj379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. We loved it. I can't thank you enough for taking the time to talk about all of the activities that we have during the summer season. A special thank you for your comments about our Dinning Room and our food. Our Food & Beverage team work hard to create a good experience for all ages in TR's.
The cookies have been a huge hit with everyone. The word is out with our guests.

Enjoy the rest of the summer. See you again.

Michael Spilman/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights there and hated to leave. We did not have any children with us but could see it is great for families. The resort is so well laid out that there is something for everyone, kids or not. The restaurant was so affordable that we ended up taking advantage of the daily dinner deals and eating there every night. The breakfast buffet was also outstanding. Our room overlooked the pool and we could see lake George and the mountains in the background. Nice and close to the beach and an easy walk downtown.
(It is also very cool -- saw the guy in the hotel video three times!!)

Room Tip: It is worth it to pay a bit more and have the balcony and see Lake George.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaSusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments. Although there are many families here during school vacations, we do see couples as well without kids. I appreciate your thoughts about our food. We have a real good team in our Dinning Room and Lounge. I hear the "video guy" comments fairly often, and am glad that people go to our web site. We have a new site coming soon.

Hope to see you again.

Michal Spilman/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here in the beginning of June 2012. This place was great! We had the kids suite with bunk beds. The kids loved it! Clean hotel. Clean pool. We didn't have a working fan in the bathroom so after every shower the bathroom would be all steamed up. Slightly annoying but otherwise no complaints. I would recommend the resort to others.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get the kids suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qwop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments, and for staying with us. We are glad that you and your family had a nice visit with us. Thank you also for your comments about our bathroom fans. The first and second floors draw air from a fan on the roof. We did check to make sure that it was working correctly after reading your review.

Hope to see you again.

Michael Spilman/GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is the Holiday Inn that will completely convert you. I agree, the Holiday Inn Resort in Lake George, New York is the best place to stay, as they seems to have a little of everything. So clean and striving to make their guests comfortable.

Last year, our first stay at this location, made me a convert, despite not having a lake view room. The amenities are outstanding, mini-golf, shuffleboard, larger chess set, playground, and baby pool all visible from your seat by the main pool. The basketball court as well if you are on the deck by the pool. This year, they added more seating and a few more tables around the pool. From 2pm on, they have activities for the kids. A welcoming reception in the afternoon 2x/week, with complimentary hors d'oeuvres and drinks, is just another way they separate themselves. A light rum punch and cookies in the afternoon for those who choose to indulge. Amazing they could fit so much for their guests here, but that's not all.

The indoor pool is just past the children's activity room, which is next to the game 'room' hallway and gym. Sauna to the right of the decorative and calming waterfall, and the outdoor hot tub. If your little one wants to put in 9 holes of golf, there is a mini course right there.

There is a dinner theatre, which looks great, but have not participated yet, $60 for theatre and meal, seems like a bargain. A cool bar with cool drinks; and the restaurant has been redone, the food and service is enough to make you remain on premise so you never have to leave if you so choose. sometimes a complimentary beverage with dinner, and of course free kids menu with paying adults keeps the prices well in check. This year, we ventured off property for hibachi and Mario's, but still enjoyed the restaurant (TR) and had NY prime (excellent) and, for breakfast, the 'Mickey Mouse' pancakes, and breakfast buffet ($5 for kids, seriously great deal) in the am.

Of course you can't forget the fire pit, great for hanging out late in the evening.

The staff seems quite happy. Tommy and Jacob who helped with our bags to and from our room, to the restaurant staff Jessica and Kris, to the manager Michael who always seems to be striving for an even better experience for his guests (can it get any better?). From the minute we arrived and checked into our room, the employees were friendly and welcoming.

This year, second floor balcony, with a great view of the fireworks over the lake, was amazing. The bathroom is on the small side, but ample bedroom space.

The resort rests on a hill, overlooking the lake, not on it, and a few minute walk to 'Around the World' mini-golf, ice cream, and Million Dollar Beach.

They have everything you would need for a perfect vacation.

It is the only place we will stay at when visiting lake George, and from familiar faces of other guests, I think they feel the same way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4mindshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I enjoyed reading your comments. We did add seats and tables just outside the pool area to accomodate those who wish to spend the day at the outdoor pool. Our food team has been busy so far this summer serving food & drinks out there.
Thank you also for mentioning our staff by name. They appreciate it.

We look forward to your return.

Michael Spilman/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Look no further - specially when you are traveling with kids. It is little more expensive than other near by hotels, however it is completely worth it. Lots of avenues for whole family entertainment - indoor/outdoor pool, lots of sitting area outside with lake/mountain view, kids art&craft center and great TR restaurant. Book your room with breakfast option. Everything is close by including downtown, Million-Dollar beach, 10 miles drive to Chic's marina for boat rental, few miles to Mall, Prospect Mountain etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Praveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here 5 ngts with my husband and 3 yr old daughter last week. Check-in was a breeze and they placed us on the 1st fl facing the pool.

You can see the lake from this hotel however you are not exactly on the lake. The hotel sits atop a hill and the lake is in the distance about 1/2 mile. The village is right down the street. You could walk if you really wanted to but we found it easier to drive.

This hotel is super family friendly and well managed. It's clean, the service is friendly and excellent. They have a ton of children friendly things to do. While the lawn is not huge, the space is well designed. It has a playground area with swings and slide, a basketball court, big chess board, mini golf greens, shuffle board, and of course the pool. The pool is well maintained with plenty of seating and patio tables if you want to take advantage of the happy hours specials. Also every Wed, they have a movie at the pool which was really nice. They played Madagascar the week we were there. The kiddle pool is separate and was also well maintained.

The bathroom is small which didn't bother us but if a big bathroom is important a different hotel may be best. The size of the room worked very well for us. Might get cramped if you have two older (i.e teenage) children with you.

The restaurant has great service and good breakfast. We did not eat dinner there or use the lounge but looked very nice. The restrooms by the restaurant were spotless.

The indoor pool was also well maintained and my daughter loved the ktichen in the children's activity center which was great for us since the weather didn't exactly cooperate for two of the days we were there.

The pics on the website are accurate.

Highly recommend this hotel especially for families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice note.

Michael Spilman/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Holiday Inn Resort in Lake George, New York is the best place to stay. From the minute we arrived and checked into our room, the front desk employees were friendly, warm and welcoming.

What a panoramic view from our room and a tastfully decorated resort. They have everything you would need for a perfect vacation.

We had a restful and relaxing time in the outdoor whirlpool each morning. Loved the early morning swims in the indoor pool with the sound of the waterfall.

Happy hour at the lounge and dinner at the restaurant (TR's) was a much desired amenity, along with the great views, wonderful staff, and the beverages and snacks (cookies) served at the front desk.

Michael, the general manager, is a wonderful human being. He always has a friendly smile and comes to great you, welcoming you back to the resort.

We even met the owners this time around. They have provided their guests with many amenities and upgrades over the years. The resort's landscaping and grounds is always perfectly maintained.

This will be our 9th year staying at this resort. It just feels like home to us.
We already planned our fall trip and made reservations to see the Lake George Dinner Theatre Show hosted at the resort.

It is the only place we will stay at when visiting lake George.

Room Tip: Request a pool lake view room with a patio or a balcony or a suite on the third floor. Don't for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorrainePAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

See you in September. The Dinner Theater show looks very funny this season. Thank you for for your nice comments. They were very much appreciated.

Michael/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 89 in Lake George
629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $99 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing