We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

When I first booked this hotel I was a little concerned because we were paying Intercontinenal prices, but after a 4 night stay(the last one without power due to Irene) there is a lot to like about this hotel and only minor complains. The rooms are great and the on site resturant was surprisingly good. This hotel is very kid friendly, The pools were great and having activies for my 7 year old was nice. The attitude in the Kid's Room by a staffer was a little uninviting, but I am chaulking that up to the storm. On one evening we had a group next to us who smoked out on their balcony, which made us close our balcony door.After searching for reasons not to like this hotel, I came up empty. I would stay agian..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryhardware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even with Hurricane Irene! I apologize that our activity room staff as uninviting as our hope is to create a fun space for you child to enjoy vacation too! I am also sorry to hear that there were smokers next door to you. We are a non-smoking property so people are only supposed to smoke in specially designated areas. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    273
    60
    23
    15
See reviews for
485
208
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice Holiday Inn Resort. Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good amenities. It's about a 1/2 mile to 3/4 mile walk to the Lake and Village, but not bad. Would've loved it if it had been directly on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmbraceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. While we aren't right on the lake, we do offer a nice view which I hope you were able to enjoy! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great hotel with a great staff! Clearly well managed. Hurricane Irene arrived on the second night of our family vacation and the entire village lost power for about a day. We were prepared and brought candles and flashlights, so it was quite an adventure for my kids, but my wife didn't want to chance a second consecutive night with no power, so we checked out early to move to the Sleep Inn a few miles south, where there was power. What a mistake! One night down there, power was restored in Lake George, and we moved right back into the Holiday Inn, where we were gladly welcomed back. My family loved the entire proprty as well as the view of and proximity to Lake George. The restaurant is also very good. I wouldn't change a thing about this hotel and will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Hurricane Irene certainly caused some problems in our area but I am glad you were able to return to us and enjoy your stay. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Fabulous location over looking beautiful Lake George. Two pools, hot tub, sauna, exercise and game room, putting area, shuffle board and childrens playground. Wonderful Dinner Show Theater. Great restaurant and bar. Extensive use of natural cut stone which include two elegant fireplaces an outdoor fire pit and a waterfall by the indoor pool. Complimentary drinks and appetizers twice a week and free coffee in AM. Clean, manicured grounds. Clean rooms with courteous staff. General Manager Michael Stillman walks the grounds several times a day and hosts the appetizers. Concierge Carolyn Brown was very knowledgeable and helped us plan and locate area attractions. A great place to vacation everything is there!
Armand and Maria Aubey
Manchester , Ct

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the outdoor pool. These rooms have a great view of the lake and night fire w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmandJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been renovating the hotel over the last few winters and will be doing the restaurant area next. Thank you for noticing the work we have done to make it the best we can for our guests. I will be passing along your compliments to Michael and Carolyn as well as the rest of the staff. It is always great to hear that the work they do is appreciated! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Went to the Holiday Inn for a long weekend with my kids. Lake George is one of our favorite destinations but we decided to switch it up and go to the Holiday Inn. We sent our kids to the hotels "children program" and all i have to say is wow, what a horrible experience they had. The women's name who was running it was named courtney. She was very disorganized, rude and showed our kids no respect. Would never go there again for that program. Warning all parents who want to actually show there kids a good time not to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your children's experience with the activity program was so negative. We have typically heard positive feedback regarding Courtney and other staff so I am disappointed to hear otherwise. We will certainly share your feedback at our next staff meeting so that this doesn't happen again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagamore beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This Holiday Inn has more fun things going on than many I have stayed at.
They have indoor and outdoor pools,, nighttime out door fire to sit around, shuffle board,
Outdoor movies were shown near the pool!,, putting green and Huge outdoor chess set.
The suite we stayed in was clean and well appointed. and they also have a "dinner theatre" at night
All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and all of our activities. We have added many family options over the last couple of years so that both adults and children can enjoy their vacation! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

The best hotel we have stayed in....child friendly, immaculate hotel both inside and outside....staff is constantly cleaning the grounds and hotel....

BUT, what was most important was during the blackout of Hurricane Irene,the management was top notch. The GM , Michael, was present and made sure to inform us of any updates with the power outage and offered to get us a room elsewhere till the power came on. He even suggested sleeping in a different hotel and coming back to the Holiday Inn in the morning to enjoy the view and outdoor children’s activities. We felt safe knowing he was in charge.
All the staff was friendly and the children’s room, run by Courtney, was both spotless and organized. She welcomed each child by their first name and quickly engaged the children in fun stuff.
We will absolutely be back .......

Room Tip: rooms near pool are easiest for families with kids then like to go back and forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa03NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Wow - what a wonderful review to read. Hurricane Irene certainly impacted our hotel and our area and it is great to read that we made our guests feel safe during a trying time. I will share with your feedback with Michael and the whole staff. It always feels good to hear from happy customers. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#12 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing