We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Lots of On-site Amenities, Wish it was on the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice Holiday Inn Resort. Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good amenities. It's about a 1/2 mile to 3/4 mile walk to the Lake and Village, but not bad. Would've loved it if it had been directly on the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmbraceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. While we aren't right on the lake, we do offer a nice view which I hope you were able to enjoy! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great hotel with a great staff! Clearly well managed. Hurricane Irene arrived on the second night of our family vacation and the entire village lost power for about a day. We were prepared and brought candles and flashlights, so it was quite an adventure for my kids, but my wife didn't want to chance a second consecutive night with no power, so we checked out early to move to the Sleep Inn a few miles south, where there was power. What a mistake! One night down there, power was restored in Lake George, and we moved right back into the Holiday Inn, where we were gladly welcomed back. My family loved the entire proprty as well as the view of and proximity to Lake George. The restaurant is also very good. I wouldn't change a thing about this hotel and will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. Hurricane Irene certainly caused some problems in our area but I am glad you were able to return to us and enjoy your stay. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Fabulous location over looking beautiful Lake George. Two pools, hot tub, sauna, exercise and game room, putting area, shuffle board and childrens playground. Wonderful Dinner Show Theater. Great restaurant and bar. Extensive use of natural cut stone which include two elegant fireplaces an outdoor fire pit and a waterfall by the indoor pool. Complimentary drinks and appetizers twice a week and free coffee in AM. Clean, manicured grounds. Clean rooms with courteous staff. General Manager Michael Stillman walks the grounds several times a day and hosts the appetizers. Concierge Carolyn Brown was very knowledgeable and helped us plan and locate area attractions. A great place to vacation everything is there!
Armand and Maria Aubey
Manchester , Ct

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the outdoor pool. These rooms have a great view of the lake and night fire w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArmandJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been renovating the hotel over the last few winters and will be doing the restaurant area next. Thank you for noticing the work we have done to make it the best we can for our guests. I will be passing along your compliments to Michael and Carolyn as well as the rest of the staff. It is always great to hear that the work they do is appreciated! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Went to the Holiday Inn for a long weekend with my kids. Lake George is one of our favorite destinations but we decided to switch it up and go to the Holiday Inn. We sent our kids to the hotels "children program" and all i have to say is wow, what a horrible experience they had. The women's name who was running it was named courtney. She was very disorganized, rude and showed our kids no respect. Would never go there again for that program. Warning all parents who want to actually show there kids a good time not to go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

I am very sorry to hear that your children's experience with the activity program was so negative. We have typically heard positive feedback regarding Courtney and other staff so I am disappointed to hear otherwise. We will certainly share your feedback at our next staff meeting so that this doesn't happen again. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This Holiday Inn has more fun things going on than many I have stayed at.
They have indoor and outdoor pools,, nighttime out door fire to sit around, shuffle board,
Outdoor movies were shown near the pool!,, putting green and Huge outdoor chess set.
The suite we stayed in was clean and well appointed. and they also have a "dinner theatre" at night
All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and all of our activities. We have added many family options over the last couple of years so that both adults and children can enjoy their vacation! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The best hotel we have stayed in....child friendly, immaculate hotel both inside and outside....staff is constantly cleaning the grounds and hotel....

BUT, what was most important was during the blackout of Hurricane Irene,the management was top notch. The GM , Michael, was present and made sure to inform us of any updates with the power outage and offered to get us a room elsewhere till the power came on. He even suggested sleeping in a different hotel and coming back to the Holiday Inn in the morning to enjoy the view and outdoor children’s activities. We felt safe knowing he was in charge.
All the staff was friendly and the children’s room, run by Courtney, was both spotless and organized. She welcomed each child by their first name and quickly engaged the children in fun stuff.
We will absolutely be back .......

Room Tip: rooms near pool are easiest for families with kids then like to go back and forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa03NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Wow - what a wonderful review to read. Hurricane Irene certainly impacted our hotel and our area and it is great to read that we made our guests feel safe during a trying time. I will share with your feedback with Michael and the whole staff. It always feels good to hear from happy customers. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights out of the 4 booked. The resort was very nice and clean. We had the kids suite which was well worth it. Kids loved the bunk beds, own tv, own towels and toys. Unfortunately, after hurricane Irene the whole lake George region lost electricity. Despite that, the staff kept everyone informed and tried their best to accommodate basic needs. With the suggestions of the manager, we went to another hotel. Definitely would love to go back for a more complete experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Hurricane Irene certainly affected us and our area so it was especially great to get such a positive review on how we handled it. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hope you will come back again to be able to truly enjoy all we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $103 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing