We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok but with it's location could be soooo much more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
planetzoltar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok but with it's location could be soooo much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed at the Georgian for 3 days with wife, it was ok but could use some improvements. First, the price was fair $105 per night. Location is excellent. Great view from pool deck of lake. Pool area nice but lounge chairs could use a cleaning. The A/C was very cold but seemed to have a standing water/urine smell. The rug was a dark color but had some serious mystery stains that could use a good steam cleaning. Have to agree with an earlier reviewer about the bed sheets, they are too small and you wind up fight your spouse for them. Finally, the shower curtain rod was mounted in middle of tub so you're wrestling the curtain the whole time in shower because it cuts space to about one foot, kinda gross having it touch you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planetzoltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2009
Georgian thanks you for providing us with a review.

Thank you for letting our patrons know about the wonderful location, pool deck, cabana bar and the great deals we offer through travel portals like travelocity, expedia, orbitz, hotwire, etc.

About the AC's, the Maintenance dept. has a preventative maintenance program which addresses the filters of the AC so that cooling and smell issues never crop up. In busy times of August with the rooms getting rented back to back, this program's regularity gets affected due to the limited time available for turning the rooms around for the next guest. If brought to the notice of the Front Desk team, we promptly address the issue so that the inconvenience is minimized greatly. The shower rod can also be easily attended. Your experience was an exception. We will make sure the Maintenance team notes this down and corrects this so that the next guest in that room is not inconvenienced.

Thank you for helping us improve our services. Wishing you have a good summer ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    221
    129
    54
    59
See reviews for
269
212
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed there during the winter carnival with some friends. IThe Georgian really needs to pay attention to details throughout the property. I work in retail and I know its the little things that make a difference and what keep my customers returning. Surveys say that customers prefer cleaniness over pricing even in a down economy. My friends and I moved our room because of an area of freezing ice(broken downturn in gutter system) and the appearance/cleaniness of the room. While leaving our room we saw a person from a bus group fall due to another ice patch. Im sorry to say that I wont return to the Georgian.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LILMIKE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Georgian thanks you for the review. We do own up the responsibility for the ice patches during the February winter carnival. We try to keep on top of things but with a limited staff during off season, there is a chance of things slipping through the gaps. We shall be more careful in this regards.

Spring Cleaning this year has been detailed and many ailing areas have already been addressed since February the time of your stay. We would like to welcome you again during your next visit to Lake George. Let us know your comments then too. We will appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

ny
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

The hotel was nice and not the same as 10 years ago. Needs some updates, espically the beds. The beds were small and very uncomfortable. I don't think I sleeped all weekend. Plus the sheets did not stay on the bed. The bar food was very good. We ate in the dinning room it was nice and the prime rib was good but the rest of the food was not good. Need to make it better for the cost. The cost of the room was just pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masterflynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Thank you for your review. We investigated your room and indeed the bed needed updating. The Chief Maintenance Engineer and the Housekeeper went through the section and noted the beds that needed attention. The beds were ordered and have been delivered on property as of now. Due to high occupancy, they will be replaced on Monday. We would invite you again to experience the Georgian this summer. We thank you for staying at the Georgian and letting us the privilege of serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We always stay at the Georgian whenever we are in Lake George. We love the pool area and the Tiki bar. This year, the addition of a giant bouncy slide that goes right into the lake was fantastic! Additionally, the entertainment by the pool and in the lounge was professional and fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larobinson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
We thank you for your review. As mentioned earlier, we have made a lot of changes to the property and have made it a family place. The addition of new bounce houses and slides at the beach, the kayaks and paddle boat rentals are our first steps of adding FUN while you enjoy your stay at the Georgian. We intend adding more amenities, thoughtful packages, value for money coupons, a loyalty club program called the Chairman's Club, and much much more to the property under our new GM's initiatives. Wish you a summer full of fun. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakecaroline
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

it was a great location and a beautiful place to stay at! Great entertainment by the pool area, and fabulous food as well!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blakecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Georgian thanks you for your feedback. Entertainment on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays have been wonderfully coordinated courtesy of the "Standing Room Only" Band headed by Cyndy Wade. Pool entertainment by the Patio was our first since recent years and has been well received by Guests. We shall continue serving the best to our guests. Thank you much for the review. We look forward to your return this summer/fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Georgian was perfect for our family of 5 getaway vacation. The room was equiped with everything we needed (wireless was perfect for my 2 teenagers), the pool, beachfront and location was perfect. We could walk everywhere. I had really searched for the ideal place to stay and the Georgian fit our budget as well as our vacation accomodation expectations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campcorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Thanks a lot for your feedback for your stay at the Georgian. One of the crucial points that you have brought forward is our Employee Attitude. Every employee on property is asked to have a winning attitude. With the number of rooms and the clientèle we service, there are moments where some things don't go right for us, but every employee is asked to retrace and improve upon their performance. We want the guests to experience the best level of service which will come through positive attitude. Each employee is asked to do something beyond their call of duty and we are happy that it is being noticed by our guests. Have a wonderful summer ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoosick falls ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

We arrived at the Georgian on Tues. afternoon at 5p.m. We were immediately waited on and settled in our room. We went over to the dining room and we ate dinner(early bird special) at a lovely table overlooking the lake. The server was a fill-in(not her usual shift) and did a great job. I am a longtime restaurant owner and appreciate the value of good service and good food.We ate breakfast the next morning in the dining room checked out and was thanked repeatedly for our stay.We wondered why people stay anywhere else. Thanks again Jane Persons

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgiangm, Management at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
First and foremost thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Georgian. This year we have had a new Chef at the Georgian and he has had a successful season at the Georgian. Guests love our food. To go a further step in providing value to our guests, we have come out with the Early Birds and also half portions for few of our dishes on the Menu. Good reviews like yours are like a pat on the back for our Front Desk, Housekeeping, Maintenance, Kitchen and Dining Staff. This fuels them to keep up with their performance and just do that little bit extra, which makes the difference at the end. Have a good summer ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Property: The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Address: 384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing