We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacatoin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have been visiting the Georgian for several years. Now it's a little different with having kids but we still enjoy staying here. The grounds are well kept and the pool is large for all to swim in. There have been recent changes to the outside bar adding tables and chairs for people to sit around, nice atmosphere. It would be nice if the outside food menu had a little more kids friendly food such as PB&J, grilled cheese, vegetables, yogurt, etc. It would make it easier to stay there for lunch.

Having kids in strollers it's a little hard to get up and down the steps leading to the pool. So pack lightly when going down there. It would also be nice if there were umbrellas in the pool area for the sun chairs. We brought one to cover out baby but it would have made it easier if one was available.

Location close to town is great. Pack the kids in a stroller and go for a walk.

Room Tip: If you have kids you might want a first floor room, one in the courtyard. Easier to get in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review and all your suggestions. I really like the idea of having a kids menu at our Cabana Bar and we have discussed this with our Food and Beverage Manager. I also want to thank you for continuing the family tradition and being such a loyal guest to our resort. We look forward to seeing you next year and for you to see our new kids menu.

Thank You
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 696 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location of the motel was the reason we booked it. That was just about the only plus side to this place. Almost everything seemed old and in need of a good facelift. The breakfast buffet was average as well, but there was a nice view of the lake. The noise from the road as well as anyone that walked past your room on the old flooring that was LOUD, will keep you awake and/or up very early in the am. Finding the beach was a challenge due to some small "construction" that they had going on. The chairs at the beach hadn't been cleaned in quite sometime so finding one without bird poop on it was difficult. The unfortunate thing is that almost every place in Lake George is pretty old and run down but they manage to still get filled up all the time so I guess why bother to spend some money and make the place nicer!

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room not close to the street. However, I don't think you can avoid the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your experience at the property.

Certainly we would have wished you had a better experience than what you mention. We apologize for not measuring up to your expectations. The Management believes in bringing up the property year after year to par so that each Georgian guest experiences the best we have to offer and hence we refurbished about 138 rooms on property before season with new wall vinyl, furniture and carpet.

The construction that gets mentioned in here is also another upgrade to the existing access to the beach that we had to spruce up. Hence there is a temporary detour to the beach.

We will have the pool attendant wash down chairs more often for more clean chairs by the beach. The noise from the street is something we have a limited control over but we will see if there are any measures we can take so that guest inside the rooms do not hear outside noise.

We hope the new changes we are bringing to the property will allow a richer stay experience when you return to Lake George.

We thank you for your business and wish to see you back at the Georgian.

Mr. Ashish A. Tari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Clean hotel. Lovely pool. Small beach. Free WI-FI but very weak. Walking distance from everywhere you want to go in Lake George, NY. Busy town with lots of restaurants, bakeries and a beautiful lake. A great stop for a day or three.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best as the stairs up to the second floor are outdoors. There are some awesome room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 466Richard789466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do have a great location and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Last week, we took our annual trip to Lake George and stayed at the Georgian Lakeside Resort. This was our 5th time there in the past 6 years. The hotel room was neat and clean with friendly cleaning staff. The location can't be beat as the village is in walking distance. The pool was a nice size with plenty of seats. The lake area was clean, though there were a few times there were no seats left. There is a Cabana bar with lite fare and drinks. I do have to write that a few times it felt as if we were bothering the bartender when ordering drinks. Because of this, I didn't place as many orders as I would have liked. Front desk was very helpful. Our first night there our neighbors were very loud at 1 a.m. I placed a call to the front desk and they quickly took care of the issue. It's nice to know that someone is there to pick up the phone at the time! In a nutshell, the Georgian is a clean establishment that is in a great location. It's nice when you can park your car and leave it there for your whole stay. My one concern/recommendation/request from the management is the issue of guests smoking. Throughout our 4 day stay, there were MANY times that guests were smoking in the pool and cabana bar area. Having children (as most of the guests seem to have) it's not fun to be swimming in a pool where people are smoking. It's unhealthy and takes away from having fun. Additionally, on our first full day there we had lunch at the cabana bar. Again, there were people smoking and it does take away from an otherwise enjoyable lunch. Even if it's outside, when someone is smoking, you're going to smell it (especially if they're at the next table or sitting with their feet in the pool smoking) It would be nice if there was a designated smoking area where people could smoke or just simple have a no smoking policy in the pool and food area. We were actually hoping to come back again in August but there were no more courtyard rooms for the few days that we wanted!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CLR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear CLR78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for it being a great one at that. I do sincerely apologize for our Cabana bar staff making you feel you were bothering them. There is no excuse for this and can promise you that this will not happen again.
You mentioned upon checking out you were interested in future dates and we did not have any courtyard rooms available. Please give us a call back so we can recheck your dates, just incase some one has cancelled their reservation and we would be more than happy to accommodate you. Again Thank You for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went there for the Cadillac show. The room had only 1 overhead light, no bedside lamps at all. Light in closet was blown. When we asked for bedside lights they brought one dirty ,dusty bankers lamp, only one! We had a view of the next row of rooms, so no view.Grungy old heavy bedspread, are they not out of style? At about $200 per night we felt it was grossly over priced for a dated old feeling room. We complained and got a free breakfast buffet on our last morning there. It was very sparse, not refilled in a timely fashion and mediocre at best. We also got a small amount off the bill. In such a tourist area with much competition we would never go back there.The only thing they have going for them is the great location. They also said that they thought that that room had been done over but apparently never checked.It certainly did not look like the photo on the Internet !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Ms. Earnst,

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, there is no excuse for this and these issues have been addressed, I am also sorry you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast that we offered you and we have instructed the staff to be more efficient on replenishing it. As far as our amenities we do have a large outdoor heated pool, private beach, kayaks and paddle boats, Cabana Bar out by the pool open for food and beverages daily and our Giovanna's Restaurant and of coarse our great location. We have renovated over 65% of our rooms and plan on working on another 35% this coming winter season. We hope your issues will not deter you from staying with us in the future and hope you will give us another chance.
Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We visited there in 4th July long weekend. Overall we liked the hotel and stay. Not great but good and clean. No complimentary breakfast included. We were highly disappointed due to that because they charge a lot money and nothing is included. But location is good and we get free parking so no need to search for parking in village. All good places are very nearby. Swimming pool was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChiragVisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear ChiragVisits,

Thank you for staying with us, and for writing a review. I appreciate the nice comments you made regarding our location and the swimming pool. Sorry you were disappointed that breakfast was not included. Hope you consider giving us another try.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Recently stayed at The Georgian for my first trip to Lake George in 25 years. I was very happy with the location just a few blocks up from downtown (everything in the village was no more than a 10-15 minute walk). Room service was always completed timely and thoroughly. Overall I was very happy with the hotel choice, only a few minor "-'s" and I would've given the hotel a "5".

If booking a Courtyard Room (i.e. facing the parking lot), I would definitely recommend trying to get a 2nd floor room for little more feeling of privacy. The 1st floor rooms have a "motely" feel in the sense that you walk out right into the parking lot, they also lack a private patio/balcony (on the next to last night we were there a family reunion came to town and swiped our chairs to hangout in the gazebo w/o ever returning them). The Georgian DOES offer suite rooms with private balconies poolside, but at the time of our stay they were going for nearly double the price we paid for our room.

The Wi-Fi while free, was slow and often unreliable, several times I had issues getting connected, and then when I did, often would get bounced after 15-20 minutes...I'd have preferred the availability of a hard wire connection, even if I had to pay a nominal charge.

Final note, is our room was definitely lacking in storage space, the bathroom being a particular problem, the bathroom was huge, and had ample room for a larger sink vanity, yet we had what essentially a pedestal sink.

Overall as I mentioned this was a very good, clean hotel. However, I may try 1 or 2 of the Georgian neighbors on my next trip to determine whether or not I will make The Georgian my regular Lake George resort.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the review if booking a Courtyard room, try to get a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tpfulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Tpfulf,

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. We do appreciate your kind comments regarding our great location and room service. I do apologize about your chairs, next time please let us know and we would have made sure to have replaced yours. We are also working on the Wi-Fi to provide our guest with faster service. We try our best to address comments to better serve our guest.

We hope that you will consider joining us again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Address: 384 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $89 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing