We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
East Hanover, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Winter Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Found this open in the winter when we visit LG and LP for long weekend. Weekend price can not be beat, Walking distance to the LG Winter Carnival. Rooms are clean and bathrooms large. A little spartan on the furniture side. Front office desk service is excellent.

Summer time, I am sure pricing is different since the locations is LGV.

Room Tip: The ground floor courtyard rooms are fine. Especially, if someone has bad legs/knees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblake54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sblake54,

I would like to thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are happy you had a great time with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    232
    140
    58
    62
See reviews for
284
227
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

For the price this hotel is a great deal. Right in the town of Lake George. Nothing fancy for sure but the room was clean and appeared to be updated. It was nice to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Stayed in a King room on the second floor. The steps leading up to the second level are awkward in size and not evenly spaced, making the walk up a little difficult.

Having had a lot of snow recently, the parking lot although plowed was slick at night and there were puddles at the bottom of each stairwell which froze at night. I mentioned it several times to the desk staff and got a polite "we will take care of it" and nothing was done.

Also nice to have a restaurant on the property as it was winter and there we're many places open to eat.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, request first floor accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear SiGirl,

Thank you for staying with us, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and I do apologize for our staff not getting to the stairway any sooner than they did. We do hope you will visit us again and thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

For the price this hotel is not a deal. For $300 for two queen beds and a musty room I just can't recommended it. This was a girls trip so I was not expecting the same high level of experience I would for a romantic getaway, however, the value was just not there. There were some great amenities but the overall experience was poor for the money.
Pros:
1) Lunch poolside was delicious and priced well.
2) Loved being able to have cocktails served to me poolside
3) Pool was crystal clear and obviously well-maintained
4) Quick walk to town so we never had to drive so location is a big plus for this hotel
CONS:
1) rooms were a little on the musty side
2) rooms were awkwardly set up, especially the bathrooms. I practically had to stand in the showed in order to open the door to get out
3) Not only is the beach area small it is a disaster as it is under construction with no evidence that any actual work is going on
4) a lot of the outside of the building is falling apart. Literally there is evidence of rotting on stairways and walkways
5) we were ignored for literally twenty minutes in the restaurant for breakfast. So much so that we got up and left and still not one staff member asked us what was wrong or if they could help us
6) the price is just not worth what you get. If they lowered their prices I might consider returning, but for the current rate I can stay at a luxury hotel down the street. It hardly makes sense to stay here with what else I could get for the same amount elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendGetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, General Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to review us online for the July 2013 stay you had with us.

We are sorry to hear that you rated us below average experience for your stay here at the Georgian. This troubles us since we care about the quality of stay each person experiences while they stay with us.

Thank you for pointing out to our potential guests about the food and beverage service around the Pool and the upkeep of the Swimming Pool. The location of our property too is one of the best as you rightly point out.

Primarily because Lake George is a Summer Resort, the rooms gets priced according to the demand during season. Now during off-season the same room priced at $229 sells at $59. The rates follow an algorithm depending upon how far out the reservations are done by the guest and the length of stay; as well as the actual days in Summer it is booked for. Weekdays might be less priced than weekends (Fri-Sat).

The beach area was something we could not have planned for it. It was a natural cause when a heavy rain event late May washed away the beach wall as we were going into season. We had to put braces to hold the wall from crumbling and this is probably the arrangement that you saw at the beach. We could not work on the beach in season, so as soon as the season ended, we had the beach wall repaired right-away. The work was completed by end of October 2013.

The restaurant wait is unacceptable and this will get referred to our F&B Director. I profusely apologize for this inconvenience.

To give you some more updates as of March 2014, we are going ahead with 2nd phase of the courtyard rooms refurbishment. We got reviews as well as suggestions for the rooms we had done in phase 1 for 2013 season and we will act on it too.

We hope you will allow us to show you the upgrades that we have done to the property during your visit in 2014 season.

Sincerely,
Mr. Ashish A. Tari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way up to our honeymoon in VT and this was a great price at $59/night for us to stop for the night and get back on the road. Nothing fancy, but the room was clean and we were surprised to see the room equipped with a mini fridge. The bed was a little too springy, but for $59/night this was totally fine by us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank uber00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were looking for a nice place to stay for a quick birthday getaway when The Georgian was found online. We rented the honeymoon suite which included a heart shaped Jacuzzi tub. Check in was quick and people at the front desk were very pleasant but a bit distracted. There was an issue with some underage kids drinking and carrying on that were part of a school ski trip. All was taken care of quickly. We entered our lovely room which was a multi-level lake view. Everything was very clean and full of amenities. This I believe is one of the older motels on the lake but it still is full of charm. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The sunken living area was nice and sliding glass door to the deck overlooking the lake. I can just imagine how nice it would be in the warmer months to sit out with a cup of coffee in the morning. We didn't eat at Giovanni's restaurant (onsite) but ordered take out as a snack and it was delicious! The motel is very convenient to all of the happenings in the village. A short walk to the bars and restaurants. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Cozy hotel room and great hospitality... Well located in the heart of Lake George Village. Breakfast was good too.
Highly recommend it. This was from October until now (Jan. 2014). Have not stayed there in the Summer yet. Will tell you.

Room Tip: We have stayed there 3x already and so far, they are all good. Stayed in 3 different rooms with 2db...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Lina L,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Staying with us in the summer is always good, the town is busier and we are just walking distance to that, our rates are higher in the summer, however, you can relax on our private beach or pool and get a drink by our newly renovated cabana bar. Once again glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to hear from you soon to book for the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent one night at the resort in the middle of winter. The town was dead and that is just what we wanted. Room was nice, staff was friendly and the price was right. I needed to change the reservation date three weeks before we went and I had no trouble whatsoever making the switch to an earlier date. I will be going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 97Tom_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you so much for staying with us. You are correct the town is dead in the winter but it is quiet and sometimes relaxing. We are so happy that our staff took care of you when you wanted to change the reservation and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#20 of 89 in Lake George
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Property: The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Address: 384 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing