We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, ok rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Positives - The pool area is nice, overlooks the lake and the mountains. Happy hour at the bar was good and you were able to bring your own cooler to the pool. Walking distance to the main strip with tons of restaurant options. Most rooms have a fridge, very few have microwaves.

Negatives - Make sure you ask for a renovated room, but don't be surprised if you feel ripped off. You are obviously paying for the location of this hotel - not for anything special in the room department. Wi-fi is horrible, I called the front desk to inquiry why wi-fi so slow and I am still waiting for them to return my call! Although we didn't eat breakfast at the 'resort', was told by several families that the food was not good. Several of the staff members 'creeped out' my teenage girls. Toliets have a habit of not flushing properly.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sneds106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Sneds106,

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have had some issues with our WiFi and are in the process of switching to a different company for our WiFi and I do apologize for this. It is great that you took advantage of our location and pool. It was our pleasure having you as a guest.

Thank You,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 701 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The room was and spacious, staff was helpful and curtious, I'm glad we made the choice to stay at the Georgian, the pool area was lovely and the view spectacular. We had searched quite a few hotels and wasn't sure as to which one to choose but was so happy when we walked in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlmvaliquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Jlmvaliquette,

It was our pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is a motel....not a resort. They do however have a couple of things to try and make it more resort-like. There is a really nice cabana bar located out back by the pool with waitstaff that walk around the pool area taking drink and food orders. They do have a happy hour daily from 4-7pm and from 7-8pm they have $1 beers (I suspect the fact that they advertise this on the marqee out front may add additional non-guests to the bar area at night). The parking is VERY limited when they have no vacancy or have a wedding going on. They do have an underground parking area BUT BE WARNED there is only one way in and it's the same way out and not wide enough to accomodate two vehicles at the same time. Upon exiting the underground parking it is very hard to make the turn into the one way exit of the parking lot.

Our room was nice but older and in need of some updating. We wanted a demi suit (with one king bed) but they were booked so we went with a presidential suite (with two queen beds). The view was nice however you could still hear the crowd from the pool area below during the day - which didn't bother us too much as we were out and about for most of the day. This room (#222) also came with a two person jacuzzi tub - and it definitely had room to accomodate two full size adults - which was surprising and great! The carpet had some stains and the coffee pot was broken but again this place has been around for a very long time and without updating this is to be expected.

We did not eat here, as you are in walking distance to everything in the village, but saw some of the food by the pool and it looked good. They offer a breakfast bufett in the morning (for $11.99 per person - but there is a $2 off coupon at the front desk). The beach area is small but the water in the lake was nice and sandy - not rocky. They offer paddle boats and canoes for use by guests.

On the second day my huband got a text notification from our bank saying that a $75 charge had been made to his credit card by the hotel. Upon checking with the manager at the front desk we were told that a $75 hold was standard practice (in case of room damage or food/drink orders charged to the room) and that it would be relased at the end of our stay. It was removed and that's fine but I do think they should notify guests that this is a standard practice.

Overall the location to the Village was great, the linens and towels were both very clean, our presidential suite did offer a nice view of the lake and the cabana bar helps give the adults some time away while the kids play in the pool. (this is very much a family motel).

Room Tip: Go with a demi or presidential suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Point5Girl,

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed our new Cabanna Bar and our daily drink specials. We have renovated over 50 rooms this past spring and we looking forward to more renovations this coming year. It was our pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Thank You
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed o e night at the Georgian. The pictures on the website are much better than the actual hotel. It is undergoing renovations however it was a bit dirty and worn looking. Our room was one that had been remodeled as it had newer carpeting and an updated bathroom. However to get to the pool you need to walk down old steps, past the smells of the kitchen and garbage.. This is not a non smoking resort as people were smoking at the pool patio and pool bar as well as the beach.
I purchased the one night for a good price on hotels .com so I am happy not to have paid too much. The location to the shops is convent and there are many restaurants nearby. We did eat at the poolside bar and the food was good. However smoker at next table is not something we enjoyed. Overall I would not recommend this hotel and it is no way a resort. Maybe once the renovating is done it will be better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Rosemary,

We have renovated 50 rooms so far and we are looking forward to doing more renovations in the future. All our rooms are non-smoking but we do allow smoking out side. We are in a great location to walking to everything and I am so pleased that you took advantage of this. I am pleased that you stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Been coming to Lake George forever - the Georgian is the best in the area. Have tried other places, no amenities. Love that they have poolside waitress service. Cabana Bar lunch is very good, lots of choices and reasonable prices. Didn't do breakfast as I don't like buffets and it wasn't great previous years. Room was very clean and cool even during heat wave. So nice to just walk to the Village. We'll be back next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a new bar that is lovely with the best view of the entire lake. I like their chopped salad and daily drink specials. Yum! The bartenders and cabana waitresses and pool attendants are great. They are always friendly even in the 90 degree heat. Thanks to the female staff including the bartenders Tammy, Tawn, Marnie and Nicole and to the Cabana servers Angela, Amber and Amanda and to the pool attendants Amber, Tess and Jess. Also thanks to the male pool attendants Nick and Colin. Everyone makes you feel welcome!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbyouzwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It started a little awkward... We arrived at 2:45 for a 3:00 check in time and were told our room wasn't ready yet. We left for about a half hour and returned to find our room ready. We booked a poolside suite with 2 queen beds though the phone well in advanced, opting for that because of the jacuzzi tub. When we got to our room, we found 2 double beds! After speaking to the front desk and the manager, who were both pleasant, we were offered a comp for their mistake. It seems their room maps are not accurate. The room was dated, but clean. It had a large jacuzzi, flat screen tv and a couch,but I wouldn't call it a "suite". It was adequate, beyond the double bed issue. The staff at the hotel was wonderful! They were kind, offering assistance and asking if there was anything that we needed all the time! They were pleasant, friendly and very attentive. Our package included dinner at Giovanna's and breakfast each morning. The breakfast buffet was ok, but it left me wondering how dinner would be. I was surprisingly impressed with the dinner service though. Our waitress was excellent, the steak was delicious, and the seven layer cake was great! I am surprised that more people did not enjoy dinner there, but perhaps they were worried as I was after the breakfast service. The Georgian is a far cry from a "resort", but as a motel on a very busy lakefront village, it fits the bill. It is in need of some updating, but the staff makes up for its shortcomings. Upon checking out, there was a discrepancy with the bill due to the comp that the manager applied to it. That issue took about 20 minutes to resolve, but once again, the staff was doing their best to be accommodating to us. Correct that room map and continue doing the updates it needs and the Georgian will be around for a long while.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BR0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.1 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
1.8 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Address: 384 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $112 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing