We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We brought a group of 19 motorcycle riders to the resort for one night, and after having booked the reservation a year ago we arrive to find that the hotel was no longer able to accommodate our group and had to put us in different sections of the hotel (after confirming we had a 'block of rooms'). The staff and management were unable to give everyone rooms with safe and visible parking for their bikes, and were unconcerned about splitting up our group. We all went down to the pool for some food and drinks and were disappointed to learn that the bar staff were incapable of keeping our food and drink bills organized, so many members of our group had drink charges on their bills that didn't belong to them, and they were incapable of sorting this out for us. We gave the restaurant a try for dinner after checking in advance that we could get some separate bills, and found the service terrible at the restaurant as well. We'd booked the reservation in advance, but they were unprepared for us. Everyone's food came out at different times (some main courses only coming when other people's dessert had already arrived), no one was asked for water or drink refills, no one checked to with us to see if the food was good once it was served, and they mis-ordered many people's food choices (e.g., forgetting side salads and appetizers, etc). When it was finally time for bed we found the bathrooms dirty, and the beds uncomfortable (you could feel the springs in your back). The only good think about this hotel was the location, and the band by the pool (the entertainment was sublet outside of the hotel, which is probably why it was the only good thing about our stay). Most of the other hotels offered a continental breakfast as part of the stay, and this was the only place we stayed that didn't offer such a service. With such terrible customer service overall we will never be going back, and would recommend large groups stay away. I can see why they have a 52% rating on Trip Advisor - bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
NJHarley,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for the service at the restaurant and want you to know that we have passed you comments on to the restaurant so that they can work on the areas that need to be improved. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the music. As for the room block, we were able to accommodate your group and did "block" off the rooms for your party. As for the location of the rooms not being next to one another we do apologize, however we do not guarantee room numbers. We do try to accommodate all our guest. At the time of your stay, we also had a large senior group staying with us, who do to mobility needed the ground floor rooms. With the coming and going of guest for multiple nights we were able to accommodate your group for the one night in the opened rooms. We hope you were able to enjoy each others company and had a safe and wonderful adventure on your trip. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    221
    129
    54
    59
See reviews for
269
212
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex Junction, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

First i want to say we have stayed at the Georgian a couple of times in recent years. We were not all that pleased when we arrived and and found our room very warm and a toilet that was not connected to the floor. Had them both fixed upon arrival. By 11:00 at night our AC had to be changed out because it was never fixed correctly the first time.
The next day the toilet was broke again and reported but no one ever came to fix it. When we left after our fourth night it was still not fixed. We had one of the two sinks that provided only hot water. Day three my wife climbed under the sink and found the cold water was shut off. She turned it on and we could finally use the sink.
I was not all that happy to find out the tv in our room did not recieve all the local channels so you can not watch the game in your room. We went to the bar and was able to watch the Bruins play until the 3rd period started when the bar tended made us leave because it was time for him to go home. I was abke to fix my tv in my room so I could watch the game. The next day when I went to the office to share what I found they really didn't care what the fix was. All they said was that they had several people call last night wanting to watch the game and asking why they could not get it. Don't you think the hotel would have been interested in fixing the issue and asking me how.
We have stayed at this hotel for four years in a row for the Americade bike rally. We book our room before we leave for the following year. This year we had so many problems with our room and no one to fix them that we really do not want to go back. We left without booking our next stay. After complained to the managment we recieved a letter of oppoligy a few days later with a credit to come back. We are going to give them another shot this summer but not for the rally. $250.00 for a room is just way to much. Maybe if they thru in breakfast like other hotels you would feel so ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
RickyD,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do again apologize for the issues you had with your recent stay. We would like you to know that the issues have been addressed, and we do appreciate that you brought the problems to our attention. We are sincerely sorry that the issues were not resolved during your stay. We hope that you take advantage of the gift certificate and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of Americade Bike week. The location was great, within walking distance of all activities, but not in the crazy louder part of town. Rooms were very clean and perfectly acceptable, especially for the price. The restaurant has a good breakfast. We already booked for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
ValerieR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled to hear that you will be staying with us next year and have already made your reservation. We are also happy that you enjoyed your room and the new renovations. We wish you a happy and healthy year and look forward to seeing you next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Georgian Resort with a large group of friends recently during an annual motorcycle rally week. I have been to this resort in the past and it is improving under "new management"... but, there is room for improvement. The facilities are well kept, but a somewhat spartan and a little dated (almost everything in this regions is "a little dated" at best). The rooms are clean and well kept, but nothing special. The bathrooms could be laid out better... but I not really complaining.
There is a lot of activity to improve and update the resort...and it shows. The bars are great; the restaurant is just OK (but there are so many choices nearby), and the pool and lakeside beach look excellent, but I used neither as the weather was typical for this time of year (cool and damp). The front desk seems a little "green" but they are trying and succeeding at being accommodating and helpful.
Did I say: Location, Location, Location. This resort is right on the lake, but also right in the town of Lake George. Everything is within walking distance and this is a definite A+ amenity. There are numerous restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues that can keep almost anyone (or any family) satisfied. The wilderness that is the Adirondack Park are all around and within a short drive or ride, but the amenities of civilization are right at your fingertips.
I will surely return to this resort and if you're thinking of going, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottS261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Scott S,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning next year. We do have a lot of new staff this year and some returning staff that work very hard at assisting all guest needs and request. We are continuing to update the property and work on re-modeling all of our rooms. We are located in a wonderful location where there is something for everyone to do!! Have a lovely winter and we look forward to your return in 2014!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved staying here. The staff was friendly, the rooms were super clean and also moderately modern. Great quality for reasonable price. The only not so positive was the restaurant, ...it really puts the resort to shame. Doesn't begin to be on the same quality page as the resort.
We most certainly will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Alina A,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very happy to hear that you are going to be returning. We do apologize about the restaurant and want to insure you that we are working on improving that area of the resort, we have passed your comments on to the restaurant staff and want to insure you that your comments are taken very seriously. We hope that you were able to enjoy a beverage or a light snack from our cabana bar and enjoyed the great view of the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Staff were amazing and freindly, rooms and grounds were kept very clean, our room was always made up perfectly. Just wish we had a bar fridge! See you next year Georgian and thanks!
Regards
Brad P. from Ont.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Brad,
Thank you soo much for taking the time to write a review, we are very happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you next year!! Have a safe and healthy winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sauquoit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a fantastic stay everything was great!Monique at the front desk was wonderful.She went above and beyond our expectations with her customer service and personality is the best.We only get away a few times a year due to having a little one at home.We stayed in the Honeymoon suite it was perfect.We had a great day at a Shepards cove down the street and ended our night at Giovani's at the hotel.We are planning to visit again soon.Thank you for a great getaway!And special thanks to Monique for going out of her way to make it special.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCoupleSauquoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Happy Couple Sauquoit,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us and are very happy to hear that Monique went above and beyond. We hope to see you again this summer and would love meet your daughter as I'm sure she would enjoy the heated pool!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.2 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Property: The Georgian Lakeside Resort
Address: 384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing