We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Rip Off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Hartsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing Rip Off”
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Nice location. Decent staff. Otherwise a real disappointment.

Terrible condition (without exaggeration the older west motel wing should be condemned; newer east wing is decent but very dated; main central hotel is OK but nothing to rave about and a rip off). We reserved a room in the west wing but couldn't bear it, 'upgraded' to the east wing which was mildly better and tolerable. We checked out the central hotel rooms which were just OK but thought them way over priced. Furniture/curtains/linens (old and worn), plumbing (old and barely functional), lighting (old and dingy), TVs (old), everything in the whole place that you can think of is old and needs updating. Note: no frig or microwave in any rooms.

For what should be a 'signature' hotel for this historic locale this place is a complete and utter disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    288
    161
    94
    107
See reviews for
372
340
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

I was nervous about booking a room here because of all of the negative reviews, but my husband and I had a very nice stay here. We booked a mountain view king room in the main hotel and yes, you overlook a parking lot, but there were beautiful views of the fall foliage in the distant mountains. Besides, who stays that long in their hotel room?

The room was very nice and clean and very large! It seems like it's the rooms in the main hotel that have been updated and the ones in the motel section haven't. There is a beautiful view of the lake from the hotel "veranda" but it's more like a patio. You do have to cross a street to actually make it to the water, but no hotel is directly on the water here.

Steer clear of the White Lion for breakfast. We had the buffet and it was awful! Don't waster your $10. It was like bad cafeteria food. But, the restaurant did have a nice view of the lake - if you happened to be one of the lucky people seated up by the windows (which we were).

Overall it was a nice stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyNYC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed at the Fort William Henry Resort during Winter Carnival time, Feb 2010. The hotel is very nice. Fantastic view and excellent location. The room was very nice and comfortable. I would highly reccommend this hotel is Lake George and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our room was a king with a seperate dining area so it was large. Being on a higher floor in the main building we had a great view of Lake George. The hotel is very convenient for walking to the local attractions and downtown Lake George. Some areas of the hotel appear to not be as up to date as the main building. We really liked the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is part good, part bad. First of all, their website leads you to believe it is on the lake. It is not. The property is actually overlooking the lake, but to get to the lake you have to cross a busy road. That said, the views of the lake are spectacular, the grounds are well kept up, and it's great to sit on the lounges by the pool and just watch the lake.

Our room was in the motel section. While it was clean, the room needed an upgrade from the 1970s to the 2010s, and there was not a comfortable chair in the place.

The location is great, right across from the lake and within walking distance of everything including some good restaurants.

All in all, although it was really overpriced (it was Labor Day Weekend), we have stayed in worse places. If you go, insist on being on the lake side of the building.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at Fort William Henry over Labor Day weekend and I have to say I wasn't impressed. The location is perfect - right near the lake and walking distance to the "action" in Lake George - but it is definitely not worth the price.

Check in was relatively easy and I was given a room in the main hotel. The lobby was nice, though a little on the small side and there was a small "closet" that served as the internet room/business center with 1 computer near the elevators. The entire resort (if you want to even call it that) is decorated in what I would describe as old-world rustic charm. There are no modern touches here and it would be a place your grandmother would feel very comfortable in. The furnishings are a bit worn and gives the vibe of a place that used to be very elegant back in the day.

I was given a lakeview room on the 2nd floor and it was quite spacious. The bathroom was large with a separate tub and shower. There was a small couch and table in the sitting area, as well as a large countertop with a coffeemaker, fridge, and microwave which would be ideal for those wanting to bring snacks and food for their visit. There was also a cabinet (which housed the tv) and desk in the bedroom area. Overall this would be an ample size room for a longer visit or for comfortable family accommodations. The bed itself was extremely uncomfortable and lumpy and was obviously no where near being new. The pillows were sad as well and were in desperate need of replacement. The walls were very thin so be prepared to hear your neighbors and people walking through the halls! I would rate the cleanliness of the room as "ok". I would have expected a higher level of quality and attention to detail for a room at this price point. The view however, was spectacular.

There is no fitness center, but you can get a voucher for a gym down the road (additional charge) that looked somewhat shady. The swimming pool looked quite large but I did not go in or visit up close. There is a restaurant within the hotel, but it is only open for breakfast and dinner and room service is not available. There are however, a few cafes just down the walkway from the hotel. Staff was generally friendly but did not carry themselves in a professional manner.

Overall I was expecting more, especially from an establishment at this price point. The attention to detail just wasn't there and the amenities you would expect from a resort was non-existent. There are better options nearby that offer you much more for your money. Really all you're getting from this "resort" is the view of the lake. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queue18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This place is probably one of the worst rip-offs we have ever experienced in a supposed "RESORT"...its not..it is a multi-storied motel made of cider blocks out of the 1940's...you have a choice of "lake" view or "mountain" view...we picked the "mountain view because it was less expensive...IT WAS A VIEW OF THE PARKING LOT!!!...even though we were obliged to pay two nites..we left after the first nite & drove to Vermont!!!
Do not waste your time or money on this place.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jandchamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#20 of 89 in Lake George
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.6 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing