We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Web Site Wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed December 25, 2008

This is a non smoking hotel.No where on the website site does it list this.After booking room I printed the confirmation and it specifically said king bed and smoking.What a surprise to find out after checking in this was not the case.The front staff didn't seem to care that the confirmation sheet had their letterhead on it and it clearly said smoking.There are rooms available that on on ground level but that wasn't offered to us.Oh well pays to check ahead of time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BluesTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Fort William Henry. It was a great location within walking distance to everything in the village. A beautiful view of the lake. Enormous outdoor pool. An indoor pool and hot tub. Very large, clean rooms. Front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants.

If everyone is complaining, it is probably because they booked one of the "motel" style rooms in the older section of the hotel. We booked a Deluxe King Room in the new 5-story building. The room was huge, it had a king size bed and double size pull-out sofa, and it was very clean and lovely. Very spacious for a family of 4. But, we paid close to $200 a night because I wanted a high quality, large room. Of course if you book one of the rooms in one of the two-story "motel" wings, they are half the price and you are going to get an older, lesser quality room. You get what you pay for.

Yes, the indoor pool and hot tub were old and in need of updating. But the kids absolutely loved them both.

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

my sister and i planned this week getaway for along time ,this was the first time we had did this in years and we both were looking forward to it.well ended up the only person at the hotel who was at all friendly and helpful was jennifer.the staff in the white lion restaurant was rude. we were told we woud have breakfast for two in the whiteloin and have buffet.instead got alacart in area near the bar and was told they would give use free bacon if we would stop complaining. was told we were put there because there was a convention in town .check in was terrible. had to wait till
well after 4pm.had coffee put in room but no cups tp put it in . onlt thin plastic water cup.plus coffee tasted nasty,
down stairs out out on patio no complementary beverages
or snacks/danish.coffee $2 and tasted terrible.limited of types of alcholol beverages avilable at out side bar.the pool was nice but not beverage station close to there.the lookout cafe staff was rude and not helful also.what should have been nice stay turn out bad. we had to go eat esle where after we left on monday . i was no upset could not eat there

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

:Please take my advise and do NOT stay at the Ft William Henry
The view is wonderful, However thats about it. When I was there there was a convention going on and I soon discovered if you were not with the convention you were considered lower class.
Very dissapointed, in my stay. It was a little pricey, but I knew that but I expect to get what I pay for. The staff in the Lions Den restraunt was dispictable. The Head lady was rude, obnoxious my expierence was terrible. I only hope for someone who gets married there is treated alot better than I was.

Please take my advise and check into other places to stay, rather than riuning you vaca at the FT William Henry.

Thank You,
Unhappy Vacationer

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lWannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My husband and I Just returned from a week long visit with our young children. In all honestly, I find the only benefit of this property to be it's location and by way of it's location, the beautiful view.

We stayed at the property several years ago, off season and without the children, in a suite in the main building . It was clean but certainly nothing impressive. We chose the property again this time for the children's first visit to LG for those reasons however we chose a Lakeview room which is not located in the main buiding. I simply refused to pay the outrageous rates charged in season. If we had visitedI several other properties on our last visit i.e. Antigua on Plum Island or Canoe Island Resort, I would have selected one of those but I preferred not to book any property sight unseen.

FIRST, let's address the room: The management should be a bit more direct when identifying room types on the website. The original building is a MOTEL, pure and simple. There were areas of the room that were quite dirty. The bed literally caused me great back pain every night, starting with night one. The pillows were the worst I have evern slept on. They should invest a bit of money and purchase new ones for the rooms in this building.

We returned from a day of fun at Water Slide World at 3:45 to find the room had not yet been attended to by housekeeping staff. Eager to shower and move on with late afternoon/evening plans, we were shocked when a housekeeper in the hallway informed us she still had six rooms to clean (including ours) and had no fresh towels to place in them. I wasn't sure if I was more upset at the news or at the lack of professionalism in her confiding this news to me!

The good news...if you have young children with you, the Lakeview rooms in this building have outside access onto the grassy area overlooking the lake. Once you have returned to your room at the end of the evening, it is nice to sit out to enjoy the view of the lake and the moon glowing upon it. The children can run and play on the grass.

IN ADDITION, I had several complaints which staff at the front desk did not show ANY interest in hearing or responding to:

FRONT DESK: Starting with check in, there was little if no greeting nor information typically verbally provided to acquaint oneself with the resort. I had to seek everything out during my stay. This is not good service.

LACK OF TOWELS is absolutely unacceptable. When I addressed this at the front desk the young lady nicely pointed the "blame" at hotel guests who take the towels back to rooms, to vanish. NONSENSE. Even if this is the case, find a solution. PURCHASE MORE TOWELS. When paying overly high rates such as we did at this property, I at least expect fresh towels daily in my room and towels at the pools. Day after day we and other hotel guests conversed about the total lack of towels at either pool.

SHORTAGE OF STAFF is evident everywhere, from the front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping. It is high season. WHY ARE THEY NOT STAFFED appropriately?

OVERLOOK CAFE we waited 35 minutes for a few sandwiches (4) for lunch when they were only half full. Only after we searched for the server to inquire where the lunch was, did she serve it....two were ice cold. We returned them and they came back barely heated. She deducted the charge from the bill however the main point was we wished to have the meal served properly.

I will be addressing all my complaints directly to the corporate offices of Best Western, who owns this location. I will NOT refer anyone to this property. We are looking forward to a return visit to Lake George in the next year or two. It has become a destination my family greatly enjoys. Where will I stay? Antigua resort on Plum Island, Canoe Island Resort or Cresthaven Lodges. At least at any of these properties, I have confidence that my family will have a wonderful experience and expectations will be met. If that means paying more, that is fine. I don't think the staff at Fort W. Henry Resort know what good service means, on any level, at any price.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank CEMENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This hotel has a Great Location, But that is where Great Stops!! The room was filthy, I would Never Stay there again, Nor would I recommend anyone staying there. We were terribly shocked when we got to our room. Because it was a holiday weekend and everywhere was booked, we did stay. Very Disappointed, Not a cheap Hotel, Yet, it was not updated or clean. Save Your Money and Look Elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashford7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I had booked a lakeview suite with a fireplace. The room wasn't ready at checkin time (was more than an hour late and I had arrived early). The room didn't look anywhere as nice as their pictures are. It didn't live up to a resort with it's prices. The bed was like a motel 6 with old ripped sheets and old worn towels. There were supposed to be towels at the pool, but were none. I requested some and waited 2 hours and still no towels! Their website menus are very out of date-the current menu isn't as good. The breakfast buffet was cold. I requested a remote for the TV (it was missing after the maid was in the room) and after 2 hours it still hadn't appeared! It was one bad experience after another.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Scenic-Coastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $110 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing