We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Getaway location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Getaway location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Booked on a whim Groupon deal. Read the fine print and compared to website, and decided to upgrade to the Grand Lake/Mountain room right off the bat. Very nice room with sitting area, comfy king size bed, fridge, microwave, stand up shower and separate tub. Beautiful view of the semi frozen lake. Did not even realize breakfast was included in the groupon which was a nice surprise with a decent enough selection. Nice staff. Most of the town was still closed down so was a lot of just hanging out which is what we wanted anyway. 10-15 minute drive to the outlets in GlensFalls and then about 20 or so minutes up to Cat Mt/Mt Thomas for hiking. Would definitely stay there again if going to that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Sandra H,
Thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location, not only for the view, but also the convenience of being close to the outlets and numerous hiking trails.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    269
    146
    84
    103
See reviews for
348
313
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our quick getaway was just that! My husband was offered a new job and said we'd better go away next wk because it would be a while before the new scheduled allowed him time off."YOU DONT HAVE TO TELL ME TWICE" we were just back from a trip 3 wks prior,since I work for myself its easy for me to take any time off. NICE HUH??? This is a very nice place,it was quiet, but we knew it would be, suits us just fine.We had gone to a museum that was adjacent to their grounds last year, and walked through the back and we thought it was sooo pretty.LAKEVIEW AND BIG POOL!!! The people were very nice and staff at the breakfast room were very friendly.We had no idea we'd be the ones staying here this year.Indoor pool small, but suffice.The sauna,we didn't use,and Jacuzzi was nice, fits like 8 people.Went down to the pier for fresh air, and no one was around. So different than summer when u cant even walk.The WHOLE village was closed EVEN MC DONALDS!!!That was funny. We drove into QUEENSBURY and GLENNSFALLS where they had a small mall and it was alive with shops and restaurants.We drove allot and took in the MAGNIFICENT VIEWS OF THE ADIRONDACKS.We love LAKE GEORGE and will go again soon.The beds were very comfy and room was fine, it would be great if they all had fridges and microwaves, but we bring a cooler everywhere we travel, so its all good.No complaints here. Tina loves Nel

Room Tip: We had room 290 with a GREAT VIEW!!! no fridge or micro tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear tina9222,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about our “GREAT VIEW” and convenient location. We appreciate your compliments and kind words. It’s wonderful to have a guest comment on our many attributes. Please let the Front Desk know next time you visit, especially during our slow time, we will be happy to upgrade you to a room with microwave and fridge if it is available.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to hosting you again. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We used a groupon. Thought it would be better. Breakfast was just ok, could go across street for amazing breakfast. We were in the premium east building...not sure what was so premium about it. Our king sized bed destroyed our backs. All springs. For the money you pay for these rooms there could at least be a decent bed, fridge, microwave. Not sure if it's related or not but one of us did come down with a stomach bug while here. That put the icing on the cake. Would not stay again or recommend. Plus's: location to lake, walking to action, half hour to Saratoga springs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsmashly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Bsmashly18,
Thank you for advising other Trip Advisor patrons of your stay with us. In regards to your comments on “Average”.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest extent.
We do hope you’ll consider allowing us to host you again.
Thank you for this feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Only stayed on night in the "Premium East Wing". Unfortunately their definition of premium is certainly not mine (or most other people). Best way to describe my room, Tired. Wallpaper starting to peel off the wall at the seems, carpet stained in several areas, water damage around the window and bare wood bordering the AC/Heat unit. The room just looked tired and in desperate need of updating. Although the bed was very comfy.
Staff were super helpful and friendly and room was as clean as it could be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicdebris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear cosmicdebris3,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The hotel is constantly going through renovations in one way or another, including public areas and restaurants. The East Wing is part of this year’s process.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am glad I did not pay full price to stay here nothing more then average. The hours for the pool are 10am-10P I wish I had know that ahead of time seeing I was all ready to go for a nice quiet swim at 7am, and then realized that I could not do that. This is really just a average place to lay your head for a night or two..

The rooms were nice and they were clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jessica H,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our Maintenance Staff maintains the indoor and outdoor pool daily in the early morning, which includes chemical testing to insure we meet the standards recommended by the health department.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

So I went to a food service conference in Lake George this week and booked a room at the Fort William Henry hotel. The conference was only a short drive away and I decided this would be a perfect spot to stay. I arrived late on Sunday night and there were no issues at check-in and the woman at the front desk was friendly and polite.
The room was very nice, clean and most importantly.....warm! It was 5 degrees. In the morning, it was -2.
There were plenty of towels, coffee set-ups and the cleaning service was outstanding.
The hot tub was out of order, but I didn't bring my suit anyway. The only problem was is that there was no food or beverage service. Not during the week anyway. I believe they do on the weekends. So my advise would be to stop and the package store on the way. There is an ice machine down the hall and a refrigerator in the room. Luckily, there was a nice little diner 1/2 mile away, and I found 2 bars that were open in town.
Overall, I had a very nice stay at the hotel and would definitely book here again. Maybe even when the lake thaws out....probably around the end of June!

Room Tip: spend the extra few bucks and get the lake view room....really pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Keith S ,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team. We are in the process of giving the whole indoor pool area a face lift, including the public restrooms, sauna, walls and decking.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope you’ll visit us the next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here the final weekend of the Winter Carnival. We had one of the larger L-Suites which was very spacious and comfortable. We mainly stayed here to use the indoor pool and hot tub but we did not use them as much as we would of liked because of all the screaming kids running around in there it made it an uncomfortable experience for us (4 people in our 30's) So a quick dip in the hot tub was all for us. I can't comment on the food here because we did not try any of the on site restaurants. All in all it was a nice weekend but we go to Lake George a lot during the year and only stay here in the winter. Will I return...yes but not in the summer due to their higher prices and many other options available in Lake George Village.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a low floor, we were on the 5th and the elevator took forever each and every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etpro43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear etpro43,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The indoor pool is a popular draw in the winter months, when the Olympic size pool is closed for the season. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the Lake George Winter Carnival.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#17 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#12 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing