We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am glad I did not pay full price to stay here nothing more then average. The hours for the pool are 10am-10P I wish I had know that ahead of time seeing I was all ready to go for a nice quiet swim at 7am, and then realized that I could not do that. This is really just a average place to lay your head for a night or two..

The rooms were nice and they were clean!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Jessica H,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our Maintenance Staff maintains the indoor and outdoor pool daily in the early morning, which includes chemical testing to insure we meet the standards recommended by the health department.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

So I went to a food service conference in Lake George this week and booked a room at the Fort William Henry hotel. The conference was only a short drive away and I decided this would be a perfect spot to stay. I arrived late on Sunday night and there were no issues at check-in and the woman at the front desk was friendly and polite.
The room was very nice, clean and most importantly.....warm! It was 5 degrees. In the morning, it was -2.
There were plenty of towels, coffee set-ups and the cleaning service was outstanding.
The hot tub was out of order, but I didn't bring my suit anyway. The only problem was is that there was no food or beverage service. Not during the week anyway. I believe they do on the weekends. So my advise would be to stop and the package store on the way. There is an ice machine down the hall and a refrigerator in the room. Luckily, there was a nice little diner 1/2 mile away, and I found 2 bars that were open in town.
Overall, I had a very nice stay at the hotel and would definitely book here again. Maybe even when the lake thaws out....probably around the end of June!

Room Tip: spend the extra few bucks and get the lake view room....really pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Keith S ,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team. We are in the process of giving the whole indoor pool area a face lift, including the public restrooms, sauna, walls and decking.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope you’ll visit us the next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here the final weekend of the Winter Carnival. We had one of the larger L-Suites which was very spacious and comfortable. We mainly stayed here to use the indoor pool and hot tub but we did not use them as much as we would of liked because of all the screaming kids running around in there it made it an uncomfortable experience for us (4 people in our 30's) So a quick dip in the hot tub was all for us. I can't comment on the food here because we did not try any of the on site restaurants. All in all it was a nice weekend but we go to Lake George a lot during the year and only stay here in the winter. Will I return...yes but not in the summer due to their higher prices and many other options available in Lake George Village.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a low floor, we were on the 5th and the elevator took forever each and every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etpro43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear etpro43,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The indoor pool is a popular draw in the winter months, when the Olympic size pool is closed for the season. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the Lake George Winter Carnival.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just spent a night there during winter carnival. The staff was friendly, welcoming, had no problem checking us in early. The room was clean, comfortable, and simply nice. We did have an issue ordering a new movie through cable, but maintenance promptly resolved the issue. The pool was warm and Jacuzzi nice. Everything clean and well maintained. However, the tavern on premises served the most horrid food I had ever had with a very limited selection of food. We started with wings which were brought out very quickly and I was initially impressed by that. However after my first bite I figured out why... they must have been made ahead of time and then just heated. I ordered chicken parm for the main course and it was terrible, the chicken dry, greasy, and simply disgusting... after two bites I had lost my appetite. My fiancee had ordered a burger and could only finish half it was so bad. Stay here, don't eat here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Private620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Private620,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that “The Tankard Tavern” did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your review with the Management at the restaurant.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Reserved a Grand Lake King Jacuzzi room. Card keys would not work even after replacing several times. Fortunately we ran into the maid and she let us in with her key so we were able to settle in. We decided to go check out the winter carnival and the front desk sent maintenance up to fix while we were out. When we returned we were assured the problem was resolved but yet again the card keys did not work so we had to change to a room with two double beds. Our bill was adjusted accordingly. I was really looking forward to using the jacuzzi in the room that was in the living room but much to my dismay after I filled the tub and started the jets the tub filled up with a large amount of black flakes. I emptied the tub refilled several times and let the jets run for 10 minutes hoping the problem would go away but it did not. I understand this means there is mold in the pipes between the intake and the jets that builds up due to lack of cleaning. I was disappointed I could use the jacuzzi and I decided I would email the manager instead as soon as I got home because I did not have any confidence in the front desk staff after my card key debacle. It's been a week now and have not received a response as of yet.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tyler1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I arrived at 2:45 pm and was told my room wouldn't be ready for twenty minutes. A little disappointed about that but it was ready in fifteen and it turned out fine. In winter this town isn't busy but the room is comfortable and adequate. Very large with a separate area for a sofa. The lake view room was nice watching the snowmobiles and pickup trucks out on the ice

Room Tip: Request a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Russ P,
Thank you for advising other Trip Advisor patrons of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words. Although Lake George is much quieter in the winter, many businesses do open around the Winter Carnival scheduled events . Thank you also for commenting on the great view of the activities on the Lake.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to hear when we have done our job.
We hope you get the opportunity to come back to the Lake George region and allow us to be your host again.
Again, thank you for this feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed one night with the family. The staff was very friendly and the room was a little dated, but very clean. We had a premium mountain view room near the indoor pool and jacuzzi, which was a plus because the kids loved it. As a previous poster said, the room and pool area could use some renovating and we noticed that they are currently upgrading those areas. The history of the hotel (and neighboring Fort William) is pretty fascinating and the assistant manager gave a great tutorial at breakfast (which was a little pricey but delicious). The location was prime and close to restaurants, bars, and activities. It was the middle of winter however and many things were closed. During July and August (and even June, September) this place is packed. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a premium lake view room for the most value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Rich G ,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. The hotel is constantly going through renovations in one way or another.

We are in the process of painting and re-tiling the indoor pool area. The sauna and public restrooms are also receiving a major make-over. We hope you are able to join us this spring, summer or fall to personally enjoy the upgrades.
It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $83 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing