We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a very bad experience at this hotel. Booked and confirmed two adjoining rooms with a lake view. Booked though Expedia then called the hotel to confirm. Friends booked a third lakeview room. Upon arrival were given non-adjoining mountainview rooms. (Friends got lakeview). Front desk said there was nothing they could do despite my documentation. Manager the following morning was not helpful and said he could not even cut us a break on the rate since the reservation was made through Expedia. I think the hotel re-sold our rooms and bumped us.

Not much else good to say. Pool is small, old, and run down. Cannot recommend this hotel and will never stay here again.

Room Tip: There are better choices around Lake George
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Young_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Young_NY,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. This one is a very important post for others to read.
We did check your reservation carefully, both prior to your arrival and after your departure. You booked your reservation directly through Expedia, which also owns Hotels.com and other third party web sites. We have a two way interface,( or direct connection) with the Expedia portals. Your reservation was 100% correct on our end as it came from Expedia. I would be happy to do a conference call with you and Expedia to clear this matter up. Unfortunately we were booked solid when you arrived and we had no other guest room to offer you.

In the future I would recommend you inquire directly with the hotel first. You will often find better rates, better guarantee policies, and will avoid situations like this one.

Because you were our guest and left without being completely satisfied, we want to make it up to you and offer you another stay with us complimentary. This offer is for any room type based on availability. I’ll even buy you a drink. Please call me directly at 518-964-6627 and I will be happy to make these arrangements.

The Online Travel Agencies (OTAs) are a very important component of the Travel Industry. They can offer you some great deals when hotels have disposable inventory. Please check with the hotel after you book through an OTA to insure accuracy as many OTAs don’t provide the hotel your address, email, or telephone number for which we can send a confirmation of details to.

Please feel free to call me to discuss this matter further. I will also answer questions from anyone who reads this post and wants more information on OTAs.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    288
    160
    92
    107
See reviews for
370
339
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The rooms are average but satisfactory. They mixed up our reservation but fixed it after the first night. We had reserved a room on the ground level so we would be close to our motorcycles. The location is great. I would stay here again, especially if I was on my bike. There is a great view of the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear RobGS,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of its proximity to the outdoor pool and individual exterior entrances. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way home after a Vermont weekend. The staff was friendly and the room clean but could use some renovating. The location was good and close to restaurants, bars, and activities. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen91610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Jen91610,
Thank you for the kind words. In this never ending world of social media, it is refreshing to get positive comments. We are constantly renovating various sections of our rather large property. At times unforeseen costs throw our timelines off, but be assured the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is always the biggest priority.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel great location and the best lake george has to offer with everything nearby and room are nice and spacious with nice bathrooms and the lake view suites are best and amazing..always recommend to stay here in lake George area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munna4598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Munna4598,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about our accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and recommendation.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0265.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in the main hotel for 3 nights. The staff here especially, Sandy are terrific! They were friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were great also. Having a laundry room and business room on the premises was a godsend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ariel L,
Thank you for sharing these positive comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to hear when we have done our job.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for the praise!


Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Do not take the hotel's recommendation or use their free drinks voucher for the blacksmith steakhouse. Our dining experience at blacksmith was horrible and the hotel shohld be embarrassed to recommend the restaurant to hotel guests.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jchang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear jchang00,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that “The Village Blacksmith” did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your review with the Management at the restaurant.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Clifton Park, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

So my wife and I just wanted a night away so we booked a room here as it was about the only place that had rooms this weekend. What a mistake. We were put into the two story "annex" I guess you'd call it. What a dump. I have no idea how the main hotel rooms are but these rooms are a disaster. Peeling paint on the concrete walls, a bathroom door that won't shut unless you put your hip into it, a toilet that flushes itself every few minutes, the 1960's linolium on the bathroom counter that is pulling away from itself, rust over most of the shower fixtures. I could go on. Don't bring your kids, I'm sure the peeling paint is lead based. This place is old. The walk up to the room was on cracked steps and then over tiles that would get slick when it gets wet. Of the three cafes in hotel, one was open, the others closed because of weddings. The open one was outside and we hadto ask the outside heaters be turned on on a windy evening in late October. The internet didn't work and no one would pick up when I calledthe front desk. 10 rings and no answer. Oh well, I guess some guests are more important than others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear mikeh,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one. It sounds like we fell short.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#21 of 89 in Lake George
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing