We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and caring and want to make sure your happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pricing is on point. Rooms are clean staff is very friendly location is perfect. Coming back again next summer will be our 4rth time staying at this awesome hotel. Kids and hubby are happy makes mommy happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Vicki w,
Thank you for sharing these positive comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to hear when we have done our job.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for the praise!


Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were invited to a wedding on Lake George aboard the Horicon ship. This hotel was recommended with a wedding room discount for those guests of the Horicon. No one explained there was a choice of hotel rooms or motel rooms.

Upon checking in at the desk with a less than cordial representative, we finally found our room in the motel section. As soon as we opened the door, I was aghast at the quality and condition of the room . In my entire life, I have never been exposed to such surroundings. I took pictures of the cracks in the wall and the deplorable condition of a damaged and paint faded door.. I then returned to the main desk and asked to see the manager, Ryan McKinney, who sympathized with me and explained the hotel was sold out. He offered us a rate of $99.00 per night rather than the $178.00 wedding discount rate. I would have preferred to pay more and enjoy a room.

That evening our disaster continued. The lakeside view room consisted of viewing the Tower Hall with a slight peek of the lake. The contour sheet on the bed became unraveled as it did not fit properly. In the morning we discovered the coffee maker was so filthy we could not use it but rather had to buy coffee from the hotel restaurant instead.

The entire stay was completely depressing and had it not been for the wedding we would have immediately left the premises. This was certainly a memorable trip, but unfortunately not for the right reasons!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eagledoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear eagledoe,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one. It sounds like we fell short.
I have passed your concerns onto our management and housekeeping team for review and for comment.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I’m sorry you will not be visiting us again.
Thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have stayed at Lake George three others times - at The Georgian and Surfside, both of which are directly on the lake. This year we tried something new and it was great for us. I was skeptical of the "motel style" rooms but we found them to be spacious, clean and well worth the money. We were on the parking lot side on the second level (wouldn't stay on the first level though). With outdoor seating, it allowed us to put the kids to bed and then spend some time outside, listening to the acoustic guitar player from DJ's across the street. Because of that, we would actually stay in the motel rooms again (preferably on the pool view site). The other hotel rooms don't have outside access.The location is perfect. I thought I would miss being right on the lake but the views from the pool are spectacular. We walked all around the village. We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request second level if staying in the motel rooms. We could only get the parking lot side but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear LauraEID,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
As you stated in your review, we have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of its proximity to the outdoor pool. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the main hotel in a large newly renovated room. Had a beautiful view out the window. Hotel has a great location near the water and shopping. We stayed with our five kids in one room. We had to get a rollaway bed for 5th child. I was told room could fit 7 but only had beds enough for 6. We were not charged the 20 a night fee for rollaway because of the misunderstanding. Breakfast dinning room is beautiful with great view of lake but food not so good. Hotel had nice outdoor pool that was not heated so kids got too cold and we had to move to indoor pool which was small. The games and vending machines in pool area were not in working order however. The rooms not in the main hotel looked old and dingy so we lucked out with room in main hotel. Overall had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraEID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear LauraEID,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that our standard section did not meet your expectations. As you stated in your review, we have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of it proximity to the outdoor pool. I will certainly discuss your comments with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let me start off with the only good part of the hotel which is location. A very nice view of the lake. We actually traveld there by bus so it was hard for me and my girlfriend to get around we asked if they had a courtesy car to take us to a hiking trail the lady at the desk was really rude. She said it could take us as far as 10 miles but when we told her where we wanted to go which was only 5 miles away she said all the cars were booked. We decided to call the desk the next day to check if the car was available they said they don't have a car available.

When we checked in we had to leave a $25 deposit for any accidental service. we left a cash deposit and was told we would get it back as cash when we checked out they never gave us cash they returned it into to our bank card which we got a few days later after we checked out.

For what they charge service is definitely not worth it there is many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifein3sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear dsolo3,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one. It sounds like we fell short.
We spend a great deal of time training our staff and you should always be greeted with a smile and a professional attitude. I have passed your concerns onto their management team for review and for comment.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

After reading the bad reviews I was getting worried that I would encounter the bad
Upon checking in the woman at desk assured me that if we were unhappy with our motel section that we could pay to upgrade to main hotel
After looking at the motel room we returned to check in desk to upgrade ourselves to beautiful view of llake,pool, and fountain
It would been nice to have paid less but no complaints
Do book here but only at grand hotel lakefront room

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rxrx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear rxrx46,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that our standard section did not meet your expectations. As you stated in your review, we have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of it proximity to the outdoor pool. I will certainly discuss your comments with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments. We are glad you decided to upgrade to the Grand Hotel.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is located on bluff overlooking the south end of Lake George, close to the LG Steamboat docks and the Lake George Beach.. The view if the lake is spectacular from its veranda and the adjacent swimming pool. But beware. The rooms are not all top quality. The older rooms are motel style and are not well-kept. There is a tiny bathroom with no fan, and when you open the dooe it struck the toilet. The grout surrounding the tub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. And if you enjoy using an outdoor pool, forget it. IT IS NOT HEATED. Even though we were there in late August, the pool water temp was colder than the Lake.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in the newest (main) section. May be a lot pricier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Roseal2004,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, memorable one. It sounds like we fell short.
I have passed your concerns onto our management and housekeeping team for review and for comment.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $104 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing