We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lake George Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Norwood
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lake George Getaway”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We are three couples, very good friends, who travel all over the country together. We were lucky enough to be able to reserve rooms in the Grand Hotel for two nights over the weekend at the height of the summer season. The person who took our reservation, was able to give us three rooms together all with beautiful views of the lake. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Large king rooms with a couch, cocktail table, and bar area with fridge, microwave, and storage. Perfect for our ritual cocktails in the room every evening. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The concierge, Nick, was very helpful with recommendations and discounts. The pool is large and well maintained. The only suggestion I have is that they could use a few more umbrella tables for groups that don't want to be in the sun. The veranda is reminiscent of years past with wicker chaises, chairs, & rockers. What a relaxing way to spend some time and a great meeting place. Breakfast in the White Lion was lovely in the outdoor seating area. Lunch at the Lookout was casual and tasty. Thank you so much for a great weekend! I would absolutely recommend this hotel and hope to return the next time we go to Lake George.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Gayle J ,
Thank you for those incredibly kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff, the individual ambiance of our hotel rooms and the ideal location and view we have on the southern end of beautiful Lake George. Our Olympic size pool overlooking the lake is a great amenity for our guests.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    281
    152
    90
    104
See reviews for
355
333
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friends and I booked a room at this hotel the last minute for the Fourth of July weekend. Originally we were supposed to be at the motel/mountain side of the hotel (more like the parking lot). The day before our arrival, I asked for an upgrade for the main hotel. And although the only available room was overlooking the mountainside, the room was very spacious and clean. The hotel also has a wonderful pool and outdoor bar overlooking the lake. It's very close to the main village and shops. And on the fourth of July, you're right there for the fireworks and don't have to travel far. Overall we enjoyed staying here and will stay there again on the next visit.

Positives: Decent place to stay (make sure you ask for the main hotel part), reasonable rates, nice pool, walking distance to the main attractions and restaurants; early happy hour for cocktails and drinks.

Negatives: Receptionists were somewhat cold, but the bellboy was very friendly and helpful; breakfast took forever and it was somewhat expensive

Recommendations: Book early for more room options (i.e. lake view rooms); perfect place to stay when there's an event in town, so you won't have to be stuck in traffic; go to the shops below the hotel -- you can get nice inexpensive souvenirs and gifts, along with cheaper options for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book in advanced especially around the holidays, and call directly to get upgrades and discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjoncapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear jonjoncapy,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, regarding your recent visit.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
We offer a view of the Fire Works every Thursday in July and August, and our location is a great asset.
I am disturbed however regarding your comment about the reception you received at our hotel. All of our staff undergoes extensive training in regards to Customer Service and you should be greeted professionally and with warmth no matter what the circumstances.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If you wish to discuss your recent stay, or if I can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact me at 1-800-234-0267, ext 627. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spent two nights and enjoyed it greatly! The view from the pool area is breathtaking, and the pool itself is lovely. The staff is delightful, and the whole property is pleasant and comfortable and convenient. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Jfrom Tampa,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
Our location is one of our greatest assets, and you are correct, the view is spectacular year round.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice grounds, staff was very friendly, and the restaurants were good, especially the Lookout... Nick the concierge helped us with a lot of information about Lake George and was very accommodating... We have been to Lake George before and we didn't notice the location...
It was a nice stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Richard N,
Thank you for advising other Trip Advisor patrons of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and your recommendation for the Lookout Café. I will also pass along your comments to Concierge Nick.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to hear when we have done our job.
We hope you get the opportunity to come back to the Lake George region and allow us to be your host again.
Again, thank you for this feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked 3 nights with the Fort and 8am the next morning we checked out (after the first night)and went to old faithful Surfside On The Lake. Listen the staff were friendly and helpful but the standard west wing was disgusting and infested with bugs and spiders for all to enjoy. Not to mention the rooms have not been updated as far as I can tell since the 50's probably when it was built. There is no beach access for the hotel unless you get in your can and drive a few min down the road (and pay $10 for parking) and the pool was just ok. Just didn't feel clean if you know what I mean! Anyway for $200 a night you would expect at least a phone in your room or a fridge! Anyway for $137 we went down the block and got the same double bedroom with a fridge and a phone and everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rloughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Rloughran,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. I was quite disturbed to hear about the perceived condition of your room. Our housekeeping staff receives compliments all the time on their professionalism and attention to cleanliness and excellent customer service.
Although not all our rooms have refrigerators, we do supply them if requested in advance, and all of our rooms do have telephones.
Thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent choice for Lake George vacation! Location is walking distance to center of town. Nice pool. Friendly staff. booked the "ultra suite" - had awesome view of the lake! Adjoining rooms were very large and clean! Food on site was good - restaurant by the pool over looks the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmaassmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear pmaassmann,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location, or the view.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was nice, the staff was eager to please and the view of the Lake is breathtaking. It's close to everything you want to do on the lake and a great spot to watch the fireworks every weekend during the busy season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear DonnyH1975,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location. It’s a picture perfect postcard view year round, and one of the best spots on the lake to view the fireworks display.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 88 in Lake George
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing