We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on Lake George”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was nice, the staff was eager to please and the view of the Lake is breathtaking. It's close to everything you want to do on the lake and a great spot to watch the fireworks every weekend during the busy season.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear DonnyH1975,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location. It’s a picture perfect postcard view year round, and one of the best spots on the lake to view the fireworks display.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in Room 550 at Fort William Henry Hotel. The view of the pool and Lake George was perfect. The staff was so polite, especially Nick, that we felt like family instead of guests. The cleaning staff kept the room so nice, I didn't want to leave. From the smiles on their faces, you could tell he other guests were also having a wonderful time too. Got to see the 4th of July fireworks on the back lawn. The pool and the grounds were kept in perfect condition.

Have to agree with "8pointerspike" the home fries did taste funny. Probably because they weren't fried.

Room Tip: We were having so much fun exploring the Fort, taking boat rides, shopping and dining out that we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebenenati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear George Benenati,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team and our Concierge Nick.
Glad you enjoyed the fireworks, we have the perfect location on the southern end of the lake.
It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to hosting you in the fall. If I can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in an expensive room in Grand hotel and there was nothing grand about it. The room smelled so bad and was really worn. Upon check-in (which took too long), they said they could 't give us the rooms we arranged through bookings.com. They told us that it was Booking.com's fault not theirs even though we had a confirmation that was from them. They gave our family of four a room with one king bed and then told us they would send up a cot at no charge. WOW thanks but how about getting our reservation right. The pull-out sofa had no bedding for it either. The pool was dirty with trash strung around it. Pool towels were thread bare. This place was the biggest rip off!!! They even messed up our payments for the rooms we reserved. Double charging for the same room. What a mess!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Jessica C,
Thank you for reviewing on our hotel. We appreciate your commentary as it helps us improve our operations and assist other travelers when making a destination choice.
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Trust that management did everything in our power to accommodate you requests. We thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the 3rd year we've held our family reunion at this hotel. We book approx. 15 rooms in the motel section of the hotel. The rooms are clean & comfortable & the staff is friendly & helpful. It is a perfect location for walking to town & viewing the 4th of July fireworks.

Room Tip: I would choose the lakeview rooms. The mountain view faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRUZZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Gruzzo,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location. It’s a picture perfect postcard view year round.
It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We hope to see you again next year. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

i had the standard mountain view,room was ok but had black mold on the shower tile where the towel rack was & the caulking on the corners was very sloppy,i had room 213 and it had rust on the window outside and the rug needs a shampoo,on the positive side the view is spectacular & the grounds are very nice and the staff are very polite,if you come here stay in the grand hotel if you can afford it,i just booked that for next year

Room Tip: the grand hotel is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tirane56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Tirane56,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of its proximity to the outdoor pool. I have reported your comments on your room, #213, regarding the housekeeping and maintenance issues. We spend a great deal of time training our staff and these types of issues should never arise.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family stayed here recently for three nights in the grand hotel mtn view jacuzzi room with two doubles and a pullout sofa. The rooms were clean and nice. We had the family fun package and got two free breakfasts in the white lion restaurant which were ok (the home fries tasted funny). Six flags (free tickets) was literally 10 minutes away down Canada St., and the free ghost tour at the Fort was pretty cool also. I think I even got pictures of the ghosts! The veranda was a pleasant way to relax and unwind. Everything was literally within walking distance, and the jacuzzi in the room was a nice private way to relax after a day of walking. I was surprised to find that there was no fitness center in the hotel itself though. The only problem I had was that when I checked in they swiped a credit card and I had told the manager that I would be paying cash for the room when I left and he said ok, however, upon checkout, I paid cash and they still charged my credit card also. So be careful!! Pam and Mario quickly resolved the matter for me and my account was credited. Kudos. Overall the stay was great and we are already planning another trip!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi in the room is a great private amenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8pointerspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear 8pointerspike ,
Thank you for those incredibly kind comments. Our packages a very popular with our guests. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff, the individual ambiance of our hotel rooms and the ideal location we have on the southern end of beautiful Lake George. We do normally have a supply of bottle openers, etc… for our guests- thanks for the heads up- I will replenish the supply.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here recently for a night, a quick trip up to Lake George. The rooms themselves were clean and pleasant. The Pool could use some tlc, as well as the hotel itself. If you bring wine don't forget your own bottle opener... they dont have any, the one at the front desk is broken. The Staff was nice. The hotel is a short walk from a few bars and restaurants. Overall a nice, moderate, inexpensive stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny_beach_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear ny_beach_fanatic,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#11 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $108 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing