We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nick provides premier service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nick the bellman provided excellent friendlt service, picking us up at the train and making sure our weekend was as productive as possible. We were in for a conference. Our room in the main building was lovely with a large Jacuzzi, and I really appreciated the ability to open a window. The only real negative is in Mid-October so much of Lake George is already closed for the season and the food outside of the Hotel was really sub-par.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake, otherwise you are facing the parking lot. The grounds are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterling1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Sterling1954,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are proud of Nick and all of our staff. They always go the extra mile for our guests. We appreciate you recognizing their efforts.

! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were very pleased to stay at this hotel, the lady at check-in accommodated us with a different type of room than what I had reserved without missing a beat and the grounds are absolutely gorgeous overlooking the lake and located right in the center of Lake George village. I would love to come back to this hotel and stay in the summer time when I am certain there would be a lot of activity going on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Dawn,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel.

We promise to continue to strive for perfection.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Fort William Henry Hotel for a conference. We were greeted by Nick, the Bell Hop/Concierge, who was a wonderful resource throughout our weekend. He guided us to the best eateries, sites and experiences. Thank you for your premiere service, Nick!! We had some issues with our room - the room was not very clean and had clothing (specifically underwear) left behind from the people who stayed in the room before us. When we complained to the front desk, housekeeping was called immediately to remove the clothing. We were told that the management would make an adjustment to our bill, which the did ($20 off each night).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Amanada607,

Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We promise to do a better job on your next visit.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everyone we encountered were extreamly helpful and friendly and went over and above to make our stay enjoyable!! Thank you! The only thing you should change is opening the indoor pool earlier than 10am for families with small children!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Kate F,

Thank you for your kinds words and positive feedback.

Your comments will definitely help other travelers. We are currently examining our procedures for opening our six water features. Please understand that we can only open our indoor pool areas after all chemical and safety tests are completed. This is for your safety and for all other guests.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

they have a main hotel and 2 wings. the wings are motels. the older one is a dump. 30 year old tv's, furniture from the 70's, dirty with stains everywhere. If booked through priceline, this is where you stay-in the old motel wing. no morning newspapers, no complimentary coffee until 11am.....11am for coffee?? stay away......

Room Tip: the main hotel rooms may be alright, but the motel wing is a dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psuprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear psuprd
,
Thank you for those strong words. Your critique will help other travelers make informed decisions.
Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions. Our standard east section is our most economical and is still the most popular with our VIPs. We are almost completed with a renovation of our standard section. This includes new furniture and upscale lighting package, as well as mirrors, artwork, etc. This project should be totally done in mid November.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife decided on a Friday night that we were in the mood for a road trip. My wife had been to Lake George before and wanted me to see it.

We spent about an hour searching the internet and reading reviews on Trip Advisor and decided on the Fort William Henry. We reserved a Grand Double and about twenty minutes later received a phone call that they had no more rooms like that available and they offered us a Grand King Lake view instead. We were enjoying this trip already.

We were very happy with the room. Very clean with a microwave and fridgerator. The bathroom was huge with a shower and bath tub. We did not understand the purpose of the window that opened into the livingroom from the bathroom, but didn't put much thought into it.

The lobby was really nice with lots of sitting areas and a large fireplace. The patio area just off the lobby to the rear of the hotel was also full of seating and gas heaters.

The view was awesome from our room, the patio and all of the rear of the hotel but our favorite part of the hotel was the location. Whether you walk into town from the path along the rear of the hotel our walk down the street out the front you will find plenty of things to do and see even at this off season time of the year.

We had lunch at Monte Cristo's which was a very interesting place. the interior is a mix of all kinds of different furnishings, wall coverings and light fixtures. The food was very good and service was great. At dinner we found the restaurant in the hotel was having a wedding so we were told to try The Blacksmith. This was the low point of the trip. The manager was fantastic, but the rest of the staff must have been working their first day. We left after a couple drinks and headed to the Adirondack Brewery and Pub. This place is great and we had so much fun. Plenty of beers to choose from...check out their website.

All in all, the one night trip left us looking forward to comming back in high season next summer. If it was this much fun as a one night last minute trip it will be an even better vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpkai65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Dpkai65;

Thank you for staying with us.

The shutter type doors that open, between the bathroom and the main guest room, are called European doors. This concept started in Europe. We got the idea from the Portofino hotel in Orlando, Florida. It allows parent or couples to interact while shaving, putting on makeup, etc. the shutters do lock for privacy.

! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Came up to Lake George for the Century Ride. They are kind enough to let our group bring our bikes up to the room. I had a Junior Suite and the room was very clean and quiet. I also left my Kindle at the hotel and they were gracious enough to mail it out to me at no charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Betsy W ,

Thank you. It was our pleasure to host the participants of this bicycling event.

We hope to see again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#11 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $86 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing