We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful day for a wedding...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really want to give this hotel a 5 star review because of the wonderful time we had...but...if I am rating the hotel portion of it I can't. The hotel is extremely dated (but clean). Parts of it had terrible "BO" odor. I feel for the price you are paying...you do NOT get what you pay for. My sister complained and got upgraded. I should have complained because I was extremely embarrassed for the people who drove 5 hours and paid a lot of money for their rooms. Also, I feel breakfast should have been included...which would have eased the sting a little more.
The staff was very friendly but they seemed a little overwhelmed.
The wedding coordinator Roberta was great. Our girls had planned the wedding from out of the country and for the most part...it went off without a hitch.

Room Tip: The squeaky wheel gets the grease. If you booked a cheaper room...complain...they may upgrade you f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlcooke62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear TLcooke62 ,

Thank you for critiquing our hotel. It will be a great help to other travelers.

Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. You should never have to complain to get the room you reserved. Upgrades are commonly done if our inventory allows us the opportunity.

We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions. Our standard east section is our most economical and is still the most popular with our VIPs. We have just started a complete renovation of our standard section. This includes new furniture and upscale lighting package, as well as mirrors, artwork, etc. This project should be done in mid November.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Motel section of this Complex is terrible. The rooms smell musty and there is a building in front of the Lake View you are paying for. We thought they were cleaning Cod in the rooms.
When we refused to stay in the motel the group was up graded to the Grand Hotel. The Lake View Rooms had a beautiful veiw of Lake George but the rooms are outdated and over priced.
Location, Location, Location is there best selling pitch, otherwise the place is not that nice. Their resturant isn't very good either. My friend had to send back her breakfast because there was a big glob of thread on her eggs (hidden by her toast). Their cinnimon buns ($4.94) were hard as a rock in the middle. Service wasn't very good either. I would not recommend this Hotel. We were there for a wedding.

Room Tip: Go to another place!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear BarbaraB ,
Thank you for those strong words. Your critique will help other travelers make informed decisions.

Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions. Our standard east section is our most economical and is still the most popular with our VIPs. We have just started a complete renovation of our standard section. This includes new furniture and upscale lighting package, as well as mirrors, artwork, etc. This project should be done in mid November.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When we made all the arrangements to spend one of the most beautiful weekends of the end of this summer and booked at the Fort William Henry we expected the accommodations to go along the hype of this hotel.
This is nothing more than the name of a great hotel that existed in the 1800s according to its history.
Thank goodness for all the usual touristy stuff there is to do around the area, because if we would have been looking for a bar or a nice spot to sit in the back area of the hotel to just enjoy beautiful Lake George it really would have been a royal waste of money.
They should make their guests comply with New York regulations and not permit smoking anywhere near the outside areas of the hotel so their guests that don't smoke could at least have a beer in a plastic cup which is the only thing they have there.
Overall, we would rather stay at another one of the hotels just across the street and pay a lot less for something better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Rockinggirl,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We appreciate your honest critique.

We are sorry and apologize for the other guests who decided to smoke in our public areas. New York State laws allow them to smoke in areas that are not under cover. These are the laws we abide by.

Also, we are required to serve drinks in plastic container in all of our pool areas. This is another New York State law. In all other areas you will find that we serve in glassware.

Our goal is to have every guest leave as an advocate for our hotel. Thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I attended and partcipated in the car show but unfortunately we were unable to get a room to stay in while attending the 3 day event. Hopefully we will be fortunate next year to say at your wonderful hotel! I write this review because we were so impressed by your hotel staff, in particular your Consigner, Nick. A terrible rain storm, calling for hail hit us "suddenly" and we all quickly entered the hotel lobby from the rear of the hotel as well as all the attendees from the front of the hotel. It was extremely busy, men, women, children being carried as well as in strollers, elderly with walkers and alike.... it looked like a scene from a dramatic movie. But you staff took charge immediately.... moving the children / babies with parents and strollers to another room as well as moving the elderly to a safer and dryer location. They also handed out towels to those who needed them, as many many people were hit terribly by the rain storm.

I say this because, my family was lucky enough to get a seat in the hotel lobby and were able to view first-hand how your wonderful staff, especially Nick, managed several hunderds of people to safety and comfort. It was fun event, and we hope to be back next year, and hopefully with a room at your beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLATIUMLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Platinumlife,

Thank you for complementing our hotel.

Nick is a great ambassador for our hotel. We are proud of his customer service skills. We appreciate you recognizing his efforts.

! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next year. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

if you don't like to wake up 6:00 in the morning to the rumbling of 600 hp engines this is probably not the place for you. But if you do...there's no other place to be!!!!! Had a pool view suite and the view of the lake, the cars, the sunsets, morning colors, absolutely breathtaking. Bed was incredibly comfortable, haven't slept that good in a long time. pull out sofa didn't have bar going across so it was great too! Only thing that could make it better is if they got rid of hot tub and put a sectional.

Room Tip: pool view gives an excellent view of Lake George
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Doug G

Thank you for honestly providing feedback about our hotel. Your comments are very important to other travelers.

We look forward to the Adirondack Nationals every year. Although a lot of work, it is also alot of fun.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next year. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and I spent a couple of nights over the Labour Day weekend at the Fort William Henry Hotel. We have been to Lake George a few times but this is our first time at this hotel. The grounds and hotel are well kept and have a great view of the Lake.

We used both the indoor and outdoor pool. Both were clean and refreshing to swim in.

We stayed in the older wing (Standard West) of the hotel. Our one issue was that the rooms in this wing are quite dated (early 70s maybe). When we booked the room, the pictures on the website were quite different than the room we received. When we questioned this we were told that the third party websites may not have accurate pictures. I guess it is buyer beware, but if I were the hotel I would ensure the supplied pictures represented the hotel. Frankly, this isn't really an acceptable excuse in my mind. That said the room was clean but it is desperate need of renovations. I can say we had an issue with our in room safe. When we called to get it looked at, there was someone at our room in about 10 minutes and it was serviced right away which was great.

We didn't use any of the restaurants except for the Lookout Cafe for an afternoon snack. This place has a nice view and the food is your typical 'pub grub' type of place. It was quite adequate for a lunch and what we were looking for.

We would probably come back to the hotel but not stay in those older rooms. For the quality of the room, we feel it was somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Standard west are quite dated and need renovations. I would avoid these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ottawan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Ottowan2009 ,
Thank you for your honesty. Your comments are very important to other travelers.

We heard the TripAdvisor comments loud and clear this year. We have now started a complete renovation of our standard section. This includes new furniture and upscale lighting package, as well as mirrors, artwork, etc. This project should be done in mid November.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a chance to attend a baby shower and stayed at this AAA Hotel. The Fort William Henry in Lake George N.Y.. The room was breathtaking overlooking the lake. At night, after visiting the town on Canada Street, my husband, daughter and granddaughter went back to the hotel and we sat on the veranda and conversed with some of the guests and friends.
A nice time had by all of us

Room Tip: Try to secure a room in the main Hotel that faces the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Anne B,

Thank you for the kind words.

Also, thank you for allowing us to be part of such a beautiful occasion. There is something special about having a baby that brings families together.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,

Sam Luciano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $86 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing