We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We visit Lake George every Summer, usually the first week of August, during the Saratoga Racing Season. This resort is very clean, and the grounds are beautiful. The pool area is very large, and overlooks beautiful Lake George. A lake view room in the main hotel offers on of the most spectacular views you will find. The White Lion Restaurant offers a nice breakfast, and there are endless dinner possibilities on Canada Street, and throughout the area. Lake George is 1/2 hour north of Saratoga, and the area offers numerous family oriented activities. If you are thinking about a Lake George vacation, this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms in the main building are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John11985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear John11985,

Thank you for making these comments about our hotel and the Lake George region..We are truly blessed to have such a natural, beautiful area.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope you will come see us again.. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    285
    155
    90
    105
See reviews for
360
336
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our room was located on the 5th floor - Grand Lake Fireplace King. I just booked last week by calling the hotel directly and got a very fare rate. The room was impeccably CLEAN (which is the most important thing to me), spacious and very comfortable. When we arrived we ran into our room hostess in the hallway who showed us how to use the room key and was an absolute doll (Thank you again,Lillie). Had a nice dining/work table that seats 6 although this was a couple's getaway for us so it wasn't necessary but nice to have anyway. The view was gorgeous both in the daytime and at night. We will definitely stay again. Every empolyee we came in contact with was warm, helpful and actually acted like they were happy to be working there on a holiday! I have and will again recommend this hotel. We only live an hour away and will make this our go-to hotel in Lake George from now on.

Room Tip: Call for your reservation and tell them what you are looking for. I spoke with Carman and she reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, Guest Relations Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear KM,

Thank you for those kind words. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Me and my husband took my parents for their anniversary to this hotel and got them the jacuzzi room with the view of the lake. It was beautiful. The room was great. The lobby fancy, the breakfast area was descent nice and clean. We had great staff service. We loved it and we will be staying here for the winter carnival in 2012.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelmendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Gabyelmendorf,

Thank you for this favorable review. It is greatly appreciated by our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you in February for the Winter Carnival. If we can be of assistance don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Our room was located in the tower and had a lovely view of the lake. The king suite was clean and well appointed. All the furniture, carpeting, and paint were in excellent condition. Bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows were provided. Linens and towels were in excellent condition and quality bath products were provided. The restaurant served a tasty breakfast and the staff there was very courteous and attentive. The hotel has a large patio/porch area with several large comfortable chairs for relaxing while enjoying a view of the lake, this was my favorite area by far. It is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants as well as the lake. Overall the property is nice and well maintained. I would definately stay here the next time we visit Lake George.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Canceled confirmed reservation 5 days before our scheduled arrival. Made reservation months before and very casually call to tell us they are closing for the season and our reservation had to be canceled.

Room Tip: go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Barry P,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. .

We are truly sorry that our decision to close the Fort William Henry Hotel affected your travels. We sometimes find it necessary to close our hotel when renovations will impact our guests’ comfort. Although infrequent, this is usually not a problem as we own a few hotels in the Lake George region and can easily relocate our guest to similar accommodations.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and thank you for this useful feedback! We hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the Lake George area. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

There are three distant areas of the hotel, a modern tower, a newer wing, and an older wing with a 50's style motor lodge style of room; I stayed in the 50's side of the complex. The room had 2 twin beds, and a smaller bath room. The beds seemed to have new mattresses because they were not bucketed and were comfy. Choices of pillows, soft and firm were provided on each of the beds. My wife said that the sheets and towels were clean, no hair. She has a thing for hair on her towels or sheets. Bath had a choice of shampoos and conditioners along with a hair dryer. The room had modern room treatments with fresh carpeting and paint. But the AC unit was not easy to adjust the temperature, no odors or smoke smells were noticed. The room however had a serious lack of plugs for all the electronics that we now travel with. The WiFi was easy to get on and stable, but unsecured. We had to call the desk to get instructions as to how to get on the WiFi as there were no directions in the hotel directory. The room we had was one that had the pass door to the other room that could be opened if the two rooms wanted to visit. We could easily hear the couple next door and at night the light from the room next door came into our room from the gaps around and under it. We had Breakfast in one of the three restaurants at the hotel; it was good, fresh and hot. I had a breakfast sandwich, it was like the Mac’s egg mcmuffin, it came with two oversized muffins, egg, cheese and two sausage patties, home fries, really good. Lots of staff buzzing around, some were cleaning the parking lot, stopping to ask if they could do anything for us. We had an antique car event and they allowed us to use the covered front entrance to do our car judging as it was pouring out, very nice of them as I am sure it was an inconvenience to their other guests as they were checking in. Thanks FWH, I was one of the underside judges and I appreciated not getting soaked. Great location in town with large parking lots and three onsite restaurants. Our club had our closing banquet in the Hotels steak house located on the property, the buffet was good and the uniformed staff was all over, assisting us, bussing trays, replacing items in the hot trays. All the staff I encountered were very neat, clean, and truly wanted to serve us in whatever way they could, it made you feel as if you were very important to them and that you were staying at a very high class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing or in the more expensive tower. Watch out for online booking, call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmax1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear RedMax1982 ,

Thank you for those incredible kind and honest comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We recently booked a stay on line with this hotel. We booked a king lake view with fireplace suite at $241 per night plus tax, etc. Upon arrival we were given a smaller room, no view and no fireplace. We brought this matter to the attention of the front desk, showing our confirmation print out. We were told that only one other room was available on the first floor. The view of the lake was blocked by shrubs and the fireplace did not work. We felt ripped off, but stayed after traveling all day.. To add insult to injury, after driving all day, staff was vacuming the hallway at 9:30 p.m. that night. There was no effort to resolve our concerns. At least there should have been a reduction in price for not delivering the room that was booked and an apology. None was recieved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Allen D,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.

We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The front desk is trained to take every step possible to make your Fort William Henry experience a positive, remember able one. It sounds like we fell short. Please call me at your earliest convenience for compensation.
We are proud of our housekeeping department. They are well trained and well managed. Our policy on vacuuming is as follows: Do not vacuum after 9pm in guest room areas, only vacuum in public areas that do not affect a guest’s stay. I have passed your concerns onto their management for review and for comment.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 88 in Lake George
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 48 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1604
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing