We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very accomodating to weary travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake George Inn
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Palenville, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very accomodating to weary travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2005

we have stayed here 3 times because they went out of their way to accomodate us the first time we stayed there.

Helpful?
6 Thank lthpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
30
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2004

We stayed at the Balmoral during the summer season and everything was great. They are located right in the village steps from Lake George and walkable to anything in the village. The owners were very accomendating to our needs during our stay and the kids loved the heated pool. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2004

I booked this place because we were going to be traveling with our dog, but in the end we didn't and i was unable to book anything else.

when we arrived at around 10 p.m. -- after 11 hours on the road -- the air conditioning in our room was broken and bugs were on the bedspread, so they moved us into an apartment. we had to move out again the next morning.

the place is run down, the carpet on the walkways outside the unit doors is nasty -- moldy, stinky and filthy. when we were checking out i was looking under the beds for lost stuff and saw a debris field of previous tenants' food. yuchh.

it was at the intersection of two major roads and the noise level was horrible if you wanted to sit outside and relax.

i would never, ever stay there again unless I absolutely had to because of the dog. the balmoral hotel is a rathole desperately in need of a makeover from the Fab Five.

Helpful?
3 Thank magster518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2004

My husband and two small children stayed at The Balmoral Motel About 3 years ago. We are planning a trip to Lake Geoge again,and remembered the Motel it was of average quality, good price , and in a wonderful location. Although the rooms smelled a bit of stale smoke, We enjoyed our stay and plan to use this motel again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2004

Stayed last year and found new owners have taken over. The motel is in great shape with remodels abound. We enjoyed our stay with courteous and attentive staff, the pool is awesome and location is accesible to all points of Lake George.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2004

Since the new owners took over the hotel it has been a great place to stay for vacation or weekend getaway. The rooms are fresh and clean and
the owners are very friendly. They even have rooms reserved for families who like to travel with their pets. Ver accomodating to our every need and even printed off a map when we needed directions to Fort Ticonderoga. Now that is service!

A great room for a great price. Everything is so close. We even watched fireworks from the balcony off our room!

Kudos to the new owners!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2004

Had a great vacation in Lake George, and the Balmoral Motel couldn't have been better. A very hot weekend, but the airconditioning worked, rooms were kept clean, and the pool was clean! Great location, just at the edge of downtown, an easy walk to everything and minimal party noise at night. Look forward to next year, see you then.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#45 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
1.4 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#21 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#32 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#30 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage of Lake George Motel
Heritage of Lake George Motel
#7 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake George Inn

Property: The Lake George Inn
Address: 444 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1023
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lake George Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lake George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Lake George
Balmoral Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing