We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Generic Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lake George Inn
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
ct
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic Generic Accomodation”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very affordable (off-season) but you get what you pay for here. Bathroom was clean, toiletries were cheap. Mattresses were recent, but firmer than preferred, pillows no support and too soft. Dorm fridge in room, but no screen for sliding door. Because of room location (L side near RT9N) you could hear traffic drone, luckily off season and less traffic after 11pm. Alarm clock in room, but no clock/radio. AC fan was too loud, so forget about white noise cures. Housekeeping staff was very polite and courteous, office staff, less so. Plusses? Great fireworks view and close to Lake George Village. Left a day early, office clerk didn't even notice nor ask why the reason for early departure. By this point, I was just happy to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekndflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
31
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at The Lake George Inn for two nights and found it extremely clean and comfortable. The rooms are small, but we weren't in them but to sleep. The bathroom is modern and was hospital clean. The staff left us cute little folded towels and washcloths with soap and shampoo nestled in them. Chairs and a small table are provided for each room if you like to sit outside or if you smoke. No smoking in the rooms. I would go back there again because it is right near everything and reasonably priced. The morning coffee was free and delicious, but the owner must not be a morning person because he only grunted at me when I said "Good Morning!" I would suggest making a reservation because it was full when we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family of four stayed in the 1 bedroom efficiency which made for a very roomy experience that we enjoyed and at a good price. With a couple, a teenage son, and a young daughter, the arms and leg room is appreciated. It appears to be two single rooms combined & with just one entrance. It has two bathrooms which were very appreciated. And there were two TVs. The place is old, as many places in Lake George are, but clean. The heated pool is very nice. The village is in walking distance, and we were able to walk from the Inn to the dinner cruise, at the oppostie end of the town proper, in about 20 minutes. Owners and their dog very friendly. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: My review is based on the 1 bedroom efficiency only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First the good! The location is great, right at the beginning of the village. The price is pretty good for the location. We did not use the pool but it looked nice and also appeared clean. The room was clean, beds comfy! Owner helpful and friendly. Pet friendly (for a fee). Check-in was a breeze. Walking distance to a small, nice beach.
Unfortunately, there were a few things we did not like. Pet friendly but the entire property is paved/tar (parking lot) with busy roads in the front and back of motel, you need to hike a bit for potty breaks! If you stay on the 1st floor you hear every step that is taken above you! Free coffee in the morning but the office does not open until 8:00 am, I am awake and ready for coffee long before that! Our room did not have a small table and chairs as shown on-line, we had a desk with 1 chair so take-out for meals would have been awkward.
Would we go back? Probably yes, but not with the dog and I would request 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a nice surprise! We stayed for just one night, but found this to be a pleasant stay from arrival to departure. Friendly and helpful staff/owners. The room was clean and nicely done. Great to be within walking distance of Lake George Village. This will be my new place to stay in Lake George. This establishment is pet friendly, which is a plus for those of us who travel with our pets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reppoc0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed. What a dump. First night bed sheets were pulled over bed. No new soap, shampoo, cups or towels were left. We had to ask the front desk for them. A room meant for four people had one chair and again had to ask for another one. We stayed 3 nights and every day nothing new was left. Are we all suppose to use one little bar of soap? It was very noisy. Could hear everything above and beside us. If I had known on the weekendthe price went up $25, I would of never stayed here. I will never stay in this dump again.

Room Tip: Try to get top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGeorgeInn, Owner at The Lake George Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
To start off, there is only one chair and a desk in most rooms at our hotel. There are also 2 chairs and a small table outside each door. I was happy to give her a 4th chair as I do have a few extra for guests when they request it. This guest was on the first level and there are rooms above. When I travel I understand that there might be some noise above and beside my room because it is a hotel. As the owner I live on the property and if there are any issues with noise I respond 24/7 and take care of any problems that might arise. Not once did this guest mention the noise while she was on the property, if she did I would have been happy to talk to the room that was disturbing her. As for the soaps and towels. Each morning our maids will do rooms as stayovers. If the customer has a "do not disturb" on their door or if they are in the room they will not go in. Both mornings when my staff were going in to clean the rooms this one room had "Do not disturb" on their door and the girls skipped their room. When the guest came in the office for towels and soaps she was upset that her room wasn't made up and I told her that if they are in the room or if they have the "do not disturb" sign on they wont get service. My staff keep a record of what rooms got service, which ones did not want service and rooms they couldn't get into because guests were in the rooms. Both mornings on my staff's list were a "do not disturb." This guest booked online and knew the price was different for the weekend, the rates are not hidden and she was aware of the total cost of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I'm not sure why I've never written a review, but our family has been staying with Dan and Diane for years. We typically stay for 8 to 10 nights throughout the season and have never been dissatisfied. The rooms are always clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms fit a family budget nicely - we often travel with our 4 teens. I find the most important reason to stay here though is that the owners live on site and the Inn is a home that they share with all of their guests. In previous years we have stayed at several other motels on the strip and The Lake George Inn surpasses them all. If you've never stayed here before - try it. You will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Gougers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#49 of 88 in Lake George
267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#22 of 88 in Lake George
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#10 of 88 in Lake George
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#34 of 88 in Lake George
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#31 of 88 in Lake George
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake George Inn

Property: The Lake George Inn
Address: 444 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1023
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lake George Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Lake George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Lake George
Balmoral Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing