We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here if security is a concern.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lake George Inn
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here if security is a concern.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a nice room and the price was right for a spur of the moment getaway. There's also a nice swimming pool. However, the doors going into the rooms are very much like those you find on Port-A-Potties -- When you go into the room and turn the deadbolt it says "Occupied" on the outside. When you leave the room and close the door behind you it announces the room is "Vacant". I found this to be a serious security issue because this announces to the public-at-large whether or not someone is in the room (and, if you're in the room and just close the door but don't throw the deadbolt it still says "Vacant" on the outside) and is very inviting to criminals who want to steal from hotel/motel rooms. I brought this issue to the attention of the management and they brushed it off saying "We've never had a problem yet." I asked what happens if someone tries to break in and they said "you need the key". However, if someone sees the room is Vacant they don't need the key because each room has 2 doors...the other is a sliding glass door that can easily be forced open or broken. When my wife and I left the room one morning we decided we didn't want housekeeping to come in so I put out the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the handle. Housekeeping saw the "VACANT" sign and disregarded the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign and entered our room regardless. We found the Do Not Disturb sign hanging on the doorknob inside our room upon our return. Also, to anyone who might be afraid of dogs....the owners let their large bulldog roam the lobby off a leash. There's a sign as you go in saying "Don't bring pets into the office"....I suspect so that theirs won't entangle with yours. While this was otherwise a nice place to stay, and I would have rated this higher otherwise, I like to feel that I'm staying somewhere safe while on vacation.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGeorgeInn, Owner at The Lake George Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
First off, all of our rooms have solid metal doors with locking handles and deadbolts on the inside for added security. Only 6 rooms out of our 32 have sliding glass doors on the opposite wall and all of them have a locking mechanism. Those rooms are our most popular rooms on the property. When you leave the room for the day the door locks automatically like most motel rooms. We have a relatively small motel and as the owner and manager of the property I am on the premises pretty much 24/7 and constantly monitor the area. Our maids do not go in the rooms if you keep the "do not disturb" sign on the door. As for our dog, it is a Boxer not a Bulldog and is extremely friendly with all guests and have families that take pictures with her on a daily basis. If someone is scared of dogs we keep her behind the desk while they register. My wife and I have owned the property for three years now and have never had a complaint about security and safety on our property. If someone does have a legitimate concern about security we always take it seriously and will do whatever we can to accomodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    15
    3
    11
See reviews for
33
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We recently stayed in a standard room over the 4th of July weekend and had a great time. The motel was exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly and welcoming. We definitely would reccomend this motel to anyone looking for a clean comfortable motel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneygumble2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

This hotel was clean and the price was very good. The only questionable thing was that even after confirming my reservation with them over the phone, when we got there they said their records said it had been cancelled. Lukily our room was still available, and they were nice about it. It's in a good location; you can walk to a small beach and to Lake George Village. We stayed in the two bedroom suite with the kitchen. There was plenty of space and the kitchen was very convenient and fully furnished to cook all of our meals. It doesn't offer kayaks, canoes or rowboats like most other Lake George motels so bring your own or find somewhere to rent them.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Beds weren't very comfortable
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katyf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Balmoral. The owners were onsite a great deal and were really pleasant. The motel was accommodating of my friend's dog and the housekeeping was efficient and well done. We had one small issue with people in a room above us and the owner dealt with it. We would absolutely stay there again and in fact, we intend to.

  • Liked — That they are dog friendly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avalonlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We went to the Balmoral on the recommondation of friends.We were not disappointed.Right from the start when we called to make our reservation the person was very accomendating.We had never been in lake George before.We found that when we arrived the location was perfect.We were able to walk around easily and the motel was very clean. The room we had was SPACIOUS and EXTREMELYcomfotable. My husband said the bed was so comfortable (that was a plus) and the chamber maid was more than helpful that we will be returning. The pool area was relaxing .and well maintained.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank wantagh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

We decided to travel to upstate NY for a vacation, and we are so happy we picked the Balmoral -Lake George Inn to stay we have 2 small children and are accomidations were great for the whole family! We stayed in a very spacious Suite, it was beautiful and clean and the staff was wonderful to us throughout our entire stay.
The location was great too, we walked to the village center and all the attraction. When we weren't enjoying the pool we walked over to the beach to play in the sand. We are planning to go back to the area in the near future and we will be staying at the Balmoral again.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank bbval710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We checked into the hotel and was greeted by someone on their first day. Well 2 hours later the room lost power. We had no power and the new girl did not know what to do! She kept asking what do you want me to do. Needless to say we had two small children who were hungry and we could not get the issue resolved. After two more hours we finally got in touch with the owner. It was late and our kids were hungry. The owner was very nasty and said he would check it out the next day. We decided to leave and asked for a refund. . He refused to give us back the money. We had a fight over the phone with him. He wouldn't even come to the hotel to fix the problem. The ownership refused to credit us even though we did not stay! I would never stay her or recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sobono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#53 of 89 in Lake George
271 reviews
4.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#70 of 89 in Lake George
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#22 of 89 in Lake George
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#12 of 89 in Lake George
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#31 of 89 in Lake George
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#42 of 89 in Lake George
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake George Inn

Property: The Lake George Inn
Address: 444 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1023
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lake George Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Lake George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Lake George
Balmoral Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing