We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay -- a true delight!”
Review of Still Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Still Bay Resort
Ranked #13 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Marlton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay -- a true delight!”
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I can't say enough good things about Still Bay. My parents, brother, and I had a wonderful 3-night stay there in late August. To re-iterate many of the positives mentioned in prior reviews:

-- the breakfasts were absolutely outstanding; delicious, fresh, abundant, and in a truly charming setting. What a terrific way to start the day.

-- the rooms were spotless.

-- the property is immaculate, abounding in flowers, and, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful lawns on the lake.

-- the owners were terrific hosts, always ready with spot-on restaurant recommendations, mailing letters, giving directions, etc., and generally setting a relaxing, pleasant atmosphere.

A few additional notes:

-- the bathrooms are small, but I think that you probably have to go up in price to a considerable degree to have it any differently in most other Lake George properties

-- any reasonable person would absolutely consider the rooms to have a view of the lake (OK, at a slight angle, but let's be serious -- the view is terrific)

-- we went for breakfast early (around 8:15 am), took our time, and ate our fill. During this time, they were constantly replenishing the pancakes, pastries, etc. I can't confirm if this continues right up until the end of breakfast, but at least while we were there it was always a truly beautiful selection.

We would definitely recommend Still Bay -- especially for families that favor a peaceful environment with a beautiful (average sized) beach for swimming, a tremendous lawn (for lounging or playing frisbee or tossing a football), wonderful breakfasts, and pleasant and helpful hosts. Now, if they only put up a few hammocks on the lawn, it would be perfect!

  • Liked — Wonderful setting, right on the lake
  • Disliked — Party noise coming from another property on two evenings
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB_SouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I can't believe the rave reviews on this place. Just shows you how horrible the other places are on Lake George.

Rooms are very clean and had new appliances, but these are motel rooms with no view of the lake. Hideous green, pleather chair in our room. Rooms very small and very dark. Cheap, plastic chairs out front.

Grounds are very nice and well kept but beach is tiny. There is space to keep a boat. Breakfast very good. Rent a house instead.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spoonyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Lahaina, Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We spent our 12th wedding anniversary in the Lake George area. We were a bit 'anxious' staying in a motel but we were agreeably surprised.

On a scale of 1 to 5:

Location: 5

Check in: 4. We were given the directions to the room without a showing of room, but we understand this is not a hotel.

Cleanliness: 5. Just that makes it a recommendation. We put a huge premium on cleanliness. New rugs, new shower curtains, spotless bathroom (needs shampoo maybe), crispy white sheets -- we looked for the occasional dust and couldn't find it, clean windows and streakless mirrors, clean fridge, cups wrapped in plastic, tv, AC, comfortable bed, cushy pillows, closet for luggage, commode, leather chair, nice lighting, nice white ceilings (no stains). Yes, we're picky and we couldn't find anything wrong here!

Breakfast: Just okay. We depart a bit from most reviews here. Maybe were we expecting too much? There's a lot of food but it is mainly variation of pastries with lots of cream or too-colorful toppings. The warm food was omelet out of the box or frozen link sausages. Yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit salad would be a plus, as well as some (homemade) pies/'stuff'.

Staff: efficient nice summer Eastern European students.

Owners: very nice and warm gentleman. Very reserved wife; few words would help make guests not feel like they're in the way -- everyone around ended up kind of whispering.

Dinner recommendations: 5. We went to the Sagamore for a special dinner, and also to 'that restaurant on the lake'.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the breakfast...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcLauniopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta ME
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

A group of us stayed at the Still Bay Resort for three days during Americade week in Lake George. There were 4 of us in two rooms. This is an older facility but it has been very well kept up. The rooms were spotless, the bath small but also spotless. The grounds were well landscaped and the rhododendrons were in bloom which made it very nice. The breakfast was extensive with pastries of all kinds, bagels, eggs, sausage, coffee, tea ,milk juice and several varieties of cereal. The owners were extremely accommodating and pleasant.

The site is down a steep hill since it is on the lake and the highway is up on the hillside (flatlanders beware) Once at the resort it is very peaceful and a nice respite from the hectic motorcycle events. It was too early in the year for swimming but they have a nice beach with chairs for relaxing and also have picnic tables and grills which some of the folks used for cookouts. All in all a great place for a vacation.

  • Liked — The service and the breakfast
  • Disliked — no cell service from my provider, tracfone, but us cellular was OK
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankee_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

The breakfast was truly superb. In a charming room with a view, huge variety, excellent quality. And it's true, the owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. But we still think the room was overpriced (more than $200 a night), considering the peeling wallpaper and mildew in the tiny bathroom. With end-of-season vacancy signs everywhere, and in fact, most rooms empty at the Still Bay, it seems foolhardy to charge so much. We would not stay again at those prices.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler5307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Still Bay Resort was a perfect place to stay on Lake George. The spot on the lake is breath-taking. The owners are so nice and they take great pride in their beautiful place. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is included and it was great. I highly recommend this to anyone, we have 2 children ages 10 and 12 and they had a ball.

  • Liked — The magnificent view of the lake
  • Disliked — Bathrooms are tiny but clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, NY
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

It's listed as a B&B but could also be listed in the hotel category since most rooms are of the motel variety in a separate building. Still Bay is located perfectly, well off Rt. 9N. No road noise, in fact llittle or no noise from our neighboring vacationers. We had wonderful weather from July 30 thru Aug 2 and enjoyed the excellent complimentary breakfast on the outdoor terrace of the main house. We stayed in what were essentially motel units closer to the lake, with digital controlled A/C window units keeping us plenty cool in the 90 degree weather. Rooms are large, old fashioned and very clean. Good cable TV with Mets and Yankee channels. Beds are a little firm for our taste but what are you gonna do. Bathrooms very small but updated and very clean.

Our friends brought their new 21 ft boat and docked at Silent Bay's complimentary docks. You have to launch at a nearby marina ($30). A 21 footer is the max size Silent Bay can handle. Great beach, beach chairs, lawns, lots of outdoor grills. Owners were pleasant and accommodating.

Don't miss the included breakfast, lots of fresh baked goods, pancakes or eggs or french toast and sausage featured the days we were there. Real good coffee, so-so OJ, good fresh fruits, and real local Maple Syrup!!!!

It's a kid friendly place but we old fogies weren't disturbed at all. Families with kids get dibbs on the downstairs motel rooms, a wise move.

And don't forget the 32 Mile Smile, Lake George itself. Magnificent. Of course it's August and we went to improve the breed at Saratoga about 30 miles away. Another experience not to be missed. it's like no other track. Even if you don't bet the ponies it's something you should experience. And don't miss downtown Saratoga and the springs. Plenty to do and see. You also have to visit The Sagamore hotel in nearby Bolton Landing. The grand old dame has been kept up to date.

See the Silent Bay website, it accurately depicts the property.

  • Liked — Location, location, etc.
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Riobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Property: Still Bay Resort
Address: 3458 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6623
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Still Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Still Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing