We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good beach, better breakfast - will definitely return”
Review of Still Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Still Bay Resort
Ranked #16 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family just got back from vacation at Still Bay and we were very happy to have stayed there. It was exactly what we thought when we booked it: quiet location outside the busy village of Lake George, a private beach for the kiddos to play on, free breakfast, and reasonable rates. Most of the guests we spoke to said they'd been coming back for many years and we can see why.

Pros:
The beach. It was a 20 second walk from the rooms. There were other guests but it was so big we almost always felt like we were the only ones on it. My kids--3 and 6--loved swimming and going on the paddleboats. Having the private beach so close and open allowed us to do other things (horseback riding, shopping, Magic Forest, etc.) during the day and still be able to get plenty of swimming/beach time in mornings or early evenings or whenever in between.

The breakfast. Exactly as described. Lots to eat for the kiddos and adults and things were replenished throughout the serving time. Muffins, donuts, bagels, scones, coffeecakes, sausage, hot pancakes or french toast.

The location. Just minutes by car to the village of Lake George but quieter and without the traffic hassles of being right in Lake George.

Not so Pros:
The rooms. It is an old Lake George resort and the rooms reflect that. The grounds of the place are well kept up but, yes, the room and furnishings were all best described as 70's. The TV was tiny. The bathroom was tiny. Was nice to have the girls each have a twin bed in a separate room though.

The neighbors. Still Bay itself was a good quiet place to read a book at night--which is all I wanted once the girls were in bed. Unfortunately, one of the neighboring resorts (Depe Dene) had "family party" nights with a DJ and blaring sound system Mon, Wed & Fri nights until 9:30. Not Still Bay's fault, but just know it going in.

All in all, it was a great place for the money and we'll likely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVTers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Noisy, noisy, noisy. The rooms are small and smell musty. Lots of wood panelling and bathroom is tiny, tiny, tiny. The breakfast is fine the first time, but it's the same old stuff each day. Quite boring. The place next door offers row boats and covered paddle boats, canoes and much more, but Still Bay has nothing to offer other than 2 very old paddle boats that leak. Would not come back when there are so many other places offfering so much more. Very disappointed. My adivice is to look before you leap.

Room Tip: go somewhere else, or if you don't mind the noise, get room #1, which I am sure is booked out by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We fell upon Still Bay when let down by another resort. Yes the rooms are dated but sparkling clean and cosy. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful too. The breakfast is a added bonus making the over all package very reasonable for a quiet spot directly on the lake. Free ice s available together with a decent sized fridge in the room. Small BBQ's next to picnick benches give you options for eating in. Watching the sun go down on the private beach or from the boat house is priceless. Wifi is annoyingly patchy as you rely on neighbouring networks and unlike many resorts there are no boats or canoes available for use.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Auntytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hosts Eileen, Bob and Ron really make you feel at home. Nice sandy beach, nice peaceful and quiet escape from the everyday with a super breakfast. Great advice about the overall area and if you can rent Unit One, its the best!!!! Can't wait to get back again! We have spent a couple visits here each year for the past six or more years. My wife has been addicted to the Lake since she was a little child.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for two, and the Cottage is super when we travel with our daughter and her friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiat_Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Love staying at Still Bay Resort, we return every year with our parents and brother and his family. The breakfast is great with lots of delicious homemade items, it is so nice to start your day eating outside with a wonderful view of the lake. The grounds are lovely and well kept, the kids look forward to hanging out at the lake, using the paddle boats and fishing off the dock. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Still Bay Resort is a great place to stay. Private beach, beautiful grounds, kids have a great time. Breakfast includes homemade breads and muffins, eggs, pancakes, bagels, etc. The rooms are nice, the people are courteous and friendly. I have been going with my family and in-laws every summer for the past 5 years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I gave Still Bay a rave review several years ago and everything I said is still true. We go back every year with the kids and grand kids for a week. Breakfast is fabulous, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are "homey" not the modern day sheet rock and glitz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#11 of 89 in Lake George
190 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn at Erlowest
The Inn at Erlowest
#1 of 25 in Lake George
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Address: 3458 Lake Shore Drive, Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845-6623
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range: $131 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Still Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Still Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing