We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Still Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Still Bay Resort
Ranked #15 of 26 Lake George B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We fell upon Still Bay when let down by another resort. Yes the rooms are dated but sparkling clean and cosy. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful too. The breakfast is a added bonus making the over all package very reasonable for a quiet spot directly on the lake. Free ice s available together with a decent sized fridge in the room. Small BBQ's next to picnick benches give you options for eating in. Watching the sun go down on the private beach or from the boat house is priceless. Wifi is annoyingly patchy as you rely on neighbouring networks and unlike many resorts there are no boats or canoes available for use.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Auntytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Hosts Eileen, Bob and Ron really make you feel at home. Nice sandy beach, nice peaceful and quiet escape from the everyday with a super breakfast. Great advice about the overall area and if you can rent Unit One, its the best!!!! Can't wait to get back again! We have spent a couple visits here each year for the past six or more years. My wife has been addicted to the Lake since she was a little child.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great for two, and the Cottage is super when we travel with our daughter and her friend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiat_Terence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Love staying at Still Bay Resort, we return every year with our parents and brother and his family. The breakfast is great with lots of delicious homemade items, it is so nice to start your day eating outside with a wonderful view of the lake. The grounds are lovely and well kept, the kids look forward to hanging out at the lake, using the paddle boats and fishing off the dock. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Still Bay Resort is a great place to stay. Private beach, beautiful grounds, kids have a great time. Breakfast includes homemade breads and muffins, eggs, pancakes, bagels, etc. The rooms are nice, the people are courteous and friendly. I have been going with my family and in-laws every summer for the past 5 years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I gave Still Bay a rave review several years ago and everything I said is still true. We go back every year with the kids and grand kids for a week. Breakfast is fabulous, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are "homey" not the modern day sheet rock and glitz.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Lake George is a spectacular, 32 mile long lake surrounded by mountains (Thomas Jefferson raved about its beauty.) Unfortunately, it is also surrounded by some of the cheesiest, low-class motels and cottages that you could imagine.

Most of these "resorts," were built during the Eisenhowower administration and apparently haven't changed their sheets or towels since. Cobwebs, worn out mattresses and peeling paint are the norm. The Still Bay is one of the nicer places to stay, but that isn't saying much. The rooms are very clean, but are very cramped, dark motel rooms with no view of the lake. The grounds are nice and well-kept, but the beach is puny and most of it is taken up by a large dock.

If you are going to stay in Lake George, I would highly recommend that you rent a house instead, or stay at the Sagamore, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnmack63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

It's a small piece of heaven at this resort.Naturally beautiful an the owners are so special. We enjoy the beauty of the Adirondack setting on the lovely grounds with the boat house and lake view. Every year we visit Still Bay it is still amazing how many special memories we take home of nature's beauty and the wonderful times we have with family and the owners of the resort who we consider just as special though the years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake George
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.0 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#11 of 88 in Lake George
162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympian Village Resort
Olympian Village Resort
#6 of 9 in Diamond Point
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Property: Still Bay Resort
Address: 3458 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6623
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Still Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Still Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing