We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western of Lake George
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Over the years, we often stopped by Lake George for lunch on our way to destinations such as Virginia Beach and Wildwood.

This year, we decided to take in a full week of Lake George’s many activities. We settled on the Best Western of Lake George for a six day stay.

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel. We found the place to be clean, our standard room felt spacious due to its high ceiling, and the hotel staff was terrific (example, great restaurant recommendations by the front desk staff).

The outdoor pool was a hoot as was the smaller indoor pool. The location made it easy to get to the main strip of Lake George for restaurant dining as well as all the many wonderful activities that Lake George has to offer. The Great Escape amusement park is close by as are many horse back riding stables and the public beach, to name just a few. Six days was not enough to enjoy what Lake George has to offer.

Other reviewers have mentioned the small breakfast area which can get rather crowded. Agreed, a larger room would be an improvement but this was not really a major inconvenience for us, it was manageable...

Overall, we were pleased with the Best Western of Lake George.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 627 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

I had to book the BW as a last choice, as there were no rooms available at last minute. We arrived after 10PM and was told that I could get a key even though their computer was down. I had prepaid on the internet and that comment scared me. As I had been driving all day, just wanted a bed to sleep in. The room was over 80 degrees and the A/C did not work at all. The screen in the window was broken, or else would have tried to leeave window open. There was no fridge in room as stated on the website and the outlet did not work at the sink for a hairdryer. Breakfast was good, but not enough space, so you had to take your food out to parking lot. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ereap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Best Western of Lake George while on a driving trip through New York. We couldn't afford the places on the lake during summer's high season, so settled for the Best Western nearby. It was July 4th weekend so things were crazy, and the hotel was full of noisy teenagers and kids who ran through the halls and played loud music next door. We had to ask the management to speak to them about quieting down. I have to say that the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The lobby is small with basic decor...nothing fancy here. The outside of the building is shabby in places and around the back where we entered they had an old mattress sitting against the building and you could see into a work room. Our room had attractive decor and looked clean, but we noticed right away a strong disinfectant smell. We asked to be moved to another room but none were available so we lived with the odor. There was a large flat screen tv in the room, fridge, safe, and free wi fi. We discovered that the wall plug by the sink didn't work so I couldn't use the hairdryer. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a toilet and shower, and the sink was in the bedroom with almost no counter space to set anything. Although the hotel sits right next to a major road into town, we had a room in the back so we didn't hear road noise. There were indoor and outdoor pools.
The breakfast room was a problem. It was far too small to handle a full hotel so each morning the room was literally packed with lines of people trying to fix waffles, etc., and folks had to either stand or go outside to eat. It was a pretty skimpy continental breakfast but we were able to grab a little food and went outside each morning. There were a few chairs sitting outside the lobby door.
If in this area again, especially on a holiday, I would definitely pay the difference and stay somewhere nicer and better equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The property is easy to find. It is immediately off Exit 21 from I-87. Situated nicely very close to the village of Lake George and about 10 miles from Glens Falls. Property was very clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable, but not overly spacious. The make-your-own waffles are a nice touch at the complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackstone_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The hotel was the best. The staff was wonderful.. They were helpful and very friendly. I would stay here again. I traveled with family that they were staying at a campsite, and I stayed here. I also loved the fact that it is a sister hotel of the Fort William Henry. I could park there for free to go into the village and use the fitness center. The breakfast was great to. In some hotles you only get a cup of coffee and a roll. Here you get a nice hot breakfast of waffles included in you room fee. Can't wait till next year to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchess080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

This autumn we finally had the time to go to New England for a leaf-peeping tour but didn't have reservations anywhere, intentionally. We've been burned in the past by making a reservation and, upon arrival, finding that the motel is sub-standard. Our destination was NOT Lake George, but the Green Mountains of Vermont. Having arrived during prime foliage season, we found that there was literally "no room at the inn" in Vermont. Any of them.
So we crossed back over into NY and found the Best Western of Lake George. The town appears to be a tourist trap with the motels all charging way more than their quality would suggest. Located outside of town, the Best Western of Lake George meets or exceeds the traditional quality of Best Western and is easily one of the best we've ever stayed in. As a retired military NCO, I often have trouble with being granted a military discount at some motels, but not with Best Western.
Sam Luciano and his staff ensured that our stay was a great one. I only wish that I had extended it for another couple of nights, because the following night it was completely booked up. :o(
The free included breakfast was hands down the best ever, with all sorts of pastries, waffles that you make fresh yourself and all the pure maple syrup you want. The coffee service was also excellent.
Before I forget, this property does not exist to get rich or take advantage of the woeful traveler and it shows in their rates, which are way below the others in the Lake George area (at least when we were there in early October 2009.
I would recommend this place to anyone who travels to the New England area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simcamaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is a fairly standard Best Western. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful. The breakfast room was ok with the standard boxed cereals and toasters and with waffle irons and maple syrup which we have never found before. It is a bit out of town but you can park free and use the facilities at the big hotel near all the tourist sites.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#22 of 89 in Lake George
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western of Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western of Lake George

Address: 2452 State Route 9n, Lake George, NY 12845-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
Price Range: $77 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western of Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western of Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Best Western Lake George
Lake George Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing